Athletics Thread

You forgot to change people there

You’re correct about over bearing parents… Saw a few cases where kids were pushed into courses they didn’t want to do and kids were on the verge of a mental breakdown… One kid in particular whose parents were teachers demanded that he be a teacher and the kid was almost suicidal from the pressure of it but they wouldn’t listen.

1.So you can form opinions on medical conditions you have no qualifications to diagnose based on working with kids but I can’t? OK. That seems entirely logical.

1. You are now talking about their economic background??? Your question was whether we got informed of every condition or disorder and I said no, obviously. It would be disgraceful if a school told any fella who walked in the door about stuff like that unless they needed to know.

Ya, saw the same mulitple times. Accountant father bullied a lad who wanted to be a Sports Scientist into it. I stead of becoming himself he is now becoming his father, an asshole.

I am not sayingvthat describes autism in any fucking way before the gobshites here start. Its just a reflection on shit parenting. Sometimes this crosses over into subjects like dyspraxia. Often tge oarents feel its about them. Thats a major issue.

Having kids round these ages myself, this is a problem I see each year round now as the cao is coming near. I would like to see the dropout rates for medicine and teaching courses. My experience is parents (usually mothers) deciding what Johnny or mary should do based on what they want to be able to tell other people. The biggest cod of all is these parents taking the kids to “specialist guidance counsellors” during 6th year and paying a few hundred euro for some tests and observations to help back up what they have chosen.

Sometimes the parent are right guys.

I was saying how can you say that my feeling that diagnosis works someway along economic lines without knowing how many kids exactly and their background.

And i’m not sure dyspraxia is medical and its kinda a funny diagnosis because often its a joint effort with reports from teachers, parents, physios etc.
I am qualified to physically assess kids for movement. The fact that OT’s etc go to ohysuos is just a case of thats what they always did. Modern strength coaches are better placed though.

This thread has gone way off topic, Elaine Thompson is 1/7 for the womens 100M final this evening.Id say she would tear the lad off you!

Heading to this tonight and again Tuesday evening. Get to see plenty of finals too which is great. I heard they are thinking of moving the 100m medal ceremony tonight to avoid Gatlin getting booed.

So you think me doing my job is wrong giving an educated and informed opinion on movement and motor skills, but you think a parent bullying a kid into doing what they want them to do is right?

How does a school deal with the kids who bully him? Obviously huge amount of ignorance on their part too

This is true also, bro… There’s a fine line between guidance and pressure, not every parent sees that but plenty do also.

Nope.

A lot of what @caoimhaoin is saying here makes sense. There is no real accepted definition of whaf dispraxia is. It is a catch all phrase.

As I understand it it is a developmental condition so building strength etc has to help.

My younger lad was diagnosed with poor fine motor skills. Does not affect his PlayStation playing but it does affect his handwriting. Some of that is laziness and him not being interested in handwriting.

These things are all on a scale and the phrase is a catch all one.

The guidance goes to help steer them away from what would not be good for them but the kid has to make, and be responsible for, the positive choice.

Dont waste your points!!! :persevere:

I would not say that he was being bullied, more lads being lads and knowing how to push his buttons. The lad in question is 6 foot plus and strong as an ox. Lads would know from experience not to mess with him directly.

And if it turns out to be the wrong choice it ain’t the end of the world, they will find another path to do what they want to do

Thats what you are saying. Its in black and white

I know that one alright!!!

I hold the view that an honours degree in a course that meets the kids interests and abilities in far more valuable than leaving cert points.

(Mind you my eldest made an arse of one exam and got his preferred course on the cut-off point so I could be wrong)