Ausbloodystralia

Not sure if you intended that to be funny or not but it made me laugh.

How will yee manage Christmas with the nipper Thraw out of interest (if you don’t mind me asking)

Perth till end of football/afl season next year anyway, getting involved with 2 teams so i’ve made that commitment. Will probably try Melbourne and then hit Canada. Canada is not as easy work wise, so i want to have plenty dough and a job set up. Will also be applying away to places in USA intermittently, would love another couple of years there and in the sports industry this time.

There uis a demand for anything, do you have a degree? They can’t fill jobs period. There is a massive generation of retiree’s coming on stream now. Teaching is going to get hit badly by all accounts. They hinder themselves with their teaching qualifications lark though, they make it hard for Irish/English, although that may change.

Thats kinda back to my point about being a long way away. Not quite the same as a father/son relationship, but you do lose contact with some friends and life drives on regardless. Some of my friends are having kids now and i don’t like missing that.

But at the same time your old fella probably thought he was doing the right thing. I’m doing whats right for me right now, but i’ll definitely be back living in Ireland, probably within 4-5 years i’d say.

my old fella had no choice. He was a tradesman with no job, young family with mortgage and bills to pay.

How do you mean? Arrangements wise? Handily enough, the big day for the Poles is Christmas Eve so I’ll be in the house for the festivities there, hopefully sneaking up to Paddy Blues for a few pints with my cousins and then a taxi back to my oul pair’s house for our own Christmas. Herself’s mother is coming over for the first time so I’m fully expecting a right clip on the ear off her.
Will you be around Gorey yourself, Mac? Was it Tinnion who scored the Pole from Katie Daly’s? Tinnion maybe you can answer that? I had a PM from someone but it’s gone after the upgrade a few months ago. I see her all the time now, she has a daughter. Small oul world.

I’m really looking forward to Christmas when all these cunts that are ‘living the dream’ arrive home and tell us how great ‘OZ’ is and how much better than Ireland it is… Do me a favour and fuck off back to the land of convicts and never darken our door again if it’s that great.

I don’t like cunts like that RTT, Australia might be a nice place to live and work, but the Guinness is shit.

TBH Fitzy you don’t come across like one of them lads .I have no problem with things going well for fellas over there , but FFS coming home for visits slagging off our own country is ridiculous behaviour and stinks of being desperate for attention.

I know exactly what you mean, I’ve seen it many times, lads coming home from wherever, living it large, dropping money behind the bar, life and soul of the party, everyone delighted the prodigal son has returned “Ah, he was always a hard worker that one” the mammy would say. But in reality, he’s a hod carrier on a site in Hackney / Perth / Boston wherever. Its just thats where the work is. The brother everyone is disappointed in is left at home to pick up the pieces when he’s gone.

The worst of all though is the cunt who has actually made it big who comes home and won’t talk to anyone lest he catch some form of Irish rural sensibility. Far too sophisitcated for his own good, he see’s the first visit home in 8 years as some badly made Ken Loach film in his head.

Personally, I just like going home and listening to people. HWH Bunclody won the Wexford Intermediate Hurling championship when I was home last. That was the best night I’ve had in years.

Your parents living in Gorey too? Ah that all fits together so. I just assumed everything was in Limerick and it was some random night out in Gorey that got you into fatherhood. I’ll be knocking around Gorey alright but probably only for a few hours on Stephens Night and then with Mrs Macs family on New Years. Not sure if it was Tinnion or not. Haven’t been in Katie Dalys / The Bank / Pooles since it was Pooles. Would rarely move beyond Blues, Nell Sweeneys or McGoverns if out in Gorey these days.

Does it annoy you to miss the christenings?

you must have a shitty life

Not at all TASE, I have a great life, thanks for your concern. Regards to the family.

I find the lads over here worse to listen to than any fell ai ever met “coming home” talking shite. They are painful here, all they talk about is money and work, boring cunts, and some of them only about 22-23 as well.

Tara Hill, Mac. I went out to Paddy Blues on Stephens’ night 2010 and that’s how I’ve ended up a father. It’s funny how it works out but I honestly would not change it if I could. The old man is from Limerick and that’s where the majority of my relations are from. Tis handy enough having a Limerick/Dublin/Wexford passport all the same.
I’ll happily stand you a half pint of shandy if you can make it to Blues on Xmas eve, Macintosh.

Heard a radio programme a few weeks back with a couple of WA politicians on. They were talking about there being a bit of an independence movement in WA. The argument being that Perth is closer to their Asian business partners than to Canberra and Sydney. Plus the fact that they are subsidising the rest of the country.

Yea met a 24 year old home there last week , who went to painful lengths to explain he was only home until Janurary and doing his best to get back out there. He was obsessed with money even talking about goin to the mines to make cash, I tried explaining to him that you would want to be in the right frame of mind to go to the mines but all he had was dollar signs in his eyes. Some people are so short sighted.

It’s their Celtic Tiger Rint.

Thraw, a most noble offer which I’ll most likely have to decline unfortunately but leave it with me. Tara Hill is a very nice spot. Don’t suppose they’ve land going cheap?!

You’d have to talk to the farmer. He’s after letting out the field next to us for the planting of a few hundred Christmas trees. He’s got plenty of land though, all the way from our gaff down to the sea.

The country though sustained them for many years, I think WA are forgetting that.