Ausbloodystralia

My mother has never drank or smoked yet she took the most invasive form of breast cancer,no-one in the family had it before.

She beat it thanks till chemo/radio treatment,luck played a part,bad luck getting it,good luck beating it.

had the exact same situation here too.

Mind me asking how early they caught it lads?

it was early enough in my mothers case. they were confident enough from the start that it would go ok. still no guarantees or anything with that though. 6 years or so now since being diagnosed and all going well since.

6 weeks after she went till the GP,surgery,chemo and Tomixifen for the rest of her days.

Been clear for 5 yrs now.

There are a many multitude of reasons why people develop cancer. Smoking, drinking, diet, stress, genetics, exposure to sun, exposure to certain carcenogenic elements, profession etc. I believe there’s definitely a reason why it forms but like in the case of Pikemans father you can be very unlucky with the location and aggressiveness of the form.

Mrs. Fran’s mother was diagnosed in March of this year and had passed away within three months. She was the epitome of everything one should be to avoid such a situation but I find it hard to believe that there isn’t a logical reason to why it formed. Her bad luck was that the cancer was so widespread and aggressive that there was really nothing that could have been done for her.

Very sorry to hear that Fran.

Cheers Fitzy. It was and is a difficult time but I can’t even being to imagine what it’s like for her or others to lose someone like that.

As she says herself, cancer sucks

fuckin hell thats horrible- must have been a horrible time for you all

my wifes dad was diagnosed last friday- cancer of the liver-they say 18 months-hence my trip back to oz

It’s a crazy time alright. It wasn’t so bad for me because I could switch off and put it out of my head but with a child or spouse I know it is something that they are constantly thinking about. Hope he can get more than 18 months out of it and have a good quality of life for that period.

Sorry to read those stories where some of you have been personally affected chaps. Your wedding day must have been bitter sweet for your missus then Fran with her mam having passed away so suddenly & recently.

Indeed it was, Bandage. 2011 has been a bit of a rollercoaster.

Wow, sorry to hear that Fran and TASE. My sister was diagnosed with breast cancer in march as well. Early enough that she’s managed to beat it now but I often wonder if its ever truly beaten and when it could come back. Amazing how your perspective on life changes after seeing what it does to someone.

Fortunately I haven’t seen any cancer affecting my family, but my mother passed away a few years ago after a long battle with dementia. She actually died just before my brother was due to be married, he had to postpone the wedding.

TASE, sorry for your trouble also, we look forward to your arrival in Australia.

CM explains a few reasons why below GMan. Ye are all taking an utterly ridiculous view of this. It sounds like the Catholic Church talking actually.

Its really sad when someone gets cancer, and when healthy people get it its harder to explain, but there is always a reason for it. Jim Stynes may have had stresses on himself he was not able to take. Running the Football club, looking after the family, running his charities etc. It may have been too much. He is clearly a very caring person, maybe he cared too much and took on others worries. This can all cause stress, and leads to different types of Cancers.

Cancer may manifest itself because a mother worries about her kids even when they are grown up. Many people are very very adept at hiding stresses. Frankly i find it mental that people think it randomly happens to people. It doesn’t.

Best of luck to her and your family Mac

Sorry to hear that TASE. My uncle was ravaged by the same cancer.

That’s extremely tough Fitzy and postponing the wedding was something we had to think about but it gave her and the family something else to focus on.

I’d imagine Dementia is an very difficult illness to accept and deal with.

But loads of factors that are related to luck play a part - such as how early it gets detected. That can be down to who was examining, whether it was caught as part of something else etc but that’s obviously a huge factor in survival chances and is often purely luck related.

Sorry to hear the news about the wife’s dad TASE. And you too Fran obviously - some year for your wife. My dad passed away within a month or so of my wedding. Tough time but was great having the get together beforehand. Be much tougher the other way around.