Terrible to hear that lads.
Hope 2012 goes better for all.
Terrible to hear that lads.
Hope 2012 goes better for all.
My argument is more about it being luck that created it at all in the first place. Some people seem to think its like a higher being just strikes it down on whoever. Its simply not the case.
Its pretty clear here we’re not all very well educated in the subject and how different things cause it and how monitoring yourself is so important in such a fast paced life. The obvious example is men regularly checking their balls for testicular lumps and similar with women. There are a couple of cancers that are almost impossible to detect, so i accept there may be an element of luck in catching them. But they still develop for a reason.
I believe we still find it hard to talk about cancer in general. The worst phrase ever given was the “Big C”. It makes people avoid the subject. We are not half as educated as we should be, and i include myself wholly in that.
Bullshit Kev. I’m nearly 100% certain that women don’t have balls.
Maybe the women in Kevs life do.
Are there many reported cases of cancer of the forehead?
I obviously did some deleteing there unawares.
Breast Cancer obviously for the ladies.
Think this is too emotional an issue for alot of people, and sometimes people, including the patient, want to put it down to luck. And if that helps them feel better then thats actually a good thing anyway.
Great that Dr Kev is here to educate the forum
Terrible disease and has affected every family in some form or other over the years. My Mrs is an oncology nurse so is dealing with it every day, the positive news is that Cancer is now far from the sentence that it was in the past. Most types are treatable if caught in time
A good friend of mine spent the first two years his married life caring for his wife who had been diagnosed with Leukemia, when we heard we thought he would collapse but something like this brings out the best in people. He was unbelievable. Kept his job going and his personal work life. She is 5 years clear now and they have 2 kids, would have been unheard of a decade ago. My mother gave up her job to care for my Uncle when he was diagnosed and resisted all encouragement to put him in hospice care when things got tough, my wife was adamant that if my mother could cope he was better off at home for his quality of life and for our families too. When he died it was much easier to take knowing we had contributed so much ourselves. My mother in particular got great peace from it and the fact that he had died at home.
I have so much respect for people who Put their lives on hold to care for someone else, certainly see my mother in a whole other light since then. TASE, pack the bags an go mate, there is no unringing this bell if ye don’t make the right decision now.
Sorry to hear those stories, especially Frans, (was at a wedding recently where that was also the case, dont worry, almost sure it wasn’t yours), and its a real tough one for the family. For what its worth I think you were right to go through with it, life goes on, those that are living do their best to survive and it was good to give everyone a new focus while of course not forgetting the recent past.
Fitzy, I honestly believe dementia would be the worst way to go. I realise there are other shock deaths and ends to lives, but for everyone concerned, those caring for and being cared by, I dont believe there could be a more difficult last few weeks, months or years of a persons life. Sorry to hear that.
Kev, with all due respect, you are talking some shit on this thread. There are millions of cases of cancer that are not attributal to environmental or genetic factors. The truth is nobody knows why certain people contract certain cancers. That doesn’t mean it’s a higher being but you can rest assured that some kid who gets leukemia at age 5 isn’t suffering from stress. There obviously is a biological cause but the chances of those biological circumstances affecting you comes down to luck.
Anyway that all sounds a bit pedantic but your tone is way off here. You’re not an authority on the subject so you might be better off not explaining it to the rest of us.
Kev, I get on grand with you on most things, but to be honest, I’m taking a lot of offence on what you are saying here, and trying to say my post sounds like the talkings of the catholic church is horseshit, and telling me I’m taking an utterly ridiculous view of it.
The only point I was making was that not each case is the same, and there can be some element of ‘luck’ fortune or whatever you want to call it involved in the form of it, the type of it, the agressiveness of it, the diagnosis of it etc. And then you even go on to say that you accept there can be some luck in catching it?
Fran that’s a tough one lad, it’ll take Mrs Fran a while no doubt but all the best to ye. You too TASE.
Kev, Rocko has summed up prettty much what I think there. There is obviously some bit of luck involved in most circumstances I believe anyway.
My oul lad died of cancer, both my grandfathers too when they were young.
I could be fooked so … or I could be lucky
Sorry for your woe lads, luckily cancer hasn’t touched anyone close to me and hopefully that will remain true. I would tend to agree that luck plays a certain part in the timing of the diagnosis and how severe the form is. Hope those of you who have loved ones currently blighted by this see them through to a full recovery.
No luck involved in going for regular check ups mate. There are tests now you can get done if your family has history to see if you are more prone to it , is there not?
Mate, we all have an opinion, just because i have one does not mean i think i’m an authority. I just completely disagree with alot of whats being said about it. They wouldn’t be curing cancers at such a rate if there wasn’t a reason for the cancer. You can’t cure bad luck.
A young person who contracts such a disease has a weaker body, immune system and protective cells than another kid. That is the fact of it, an extremely sad fact. But its just the way it is.
Why are you taking offence? Its a discussion you don’t agree with me on? Fair enough, but grow up for fuck sake.
The type, agressiveness are all going to be down to some biological reasons, scientific fact. The diagnosis is down to the person themselves and their doctor. That means human error or passiveness comes into play.
I realise you went through it with close family members. But this does not make your opinion on it anymore right/wrong than anyone else’s on the science behind it. The emotional impact is a different story, but thats not what is being discussed here. And what i’m reading here from educated intelligent people surprises me.
You have just contradicted yourself here. Its sad that you have lost people in this way, and who knows what you can prevent yourself. But you can certainly reduce the chances. I have a biologically poor history behind me on one side and a very strong on the other, i’ll do my best to keep an eye out for any signs. But i’m not going to curse being the blood relative of people who died of cancer and putting my birth down to bad luck should i pick anything up.
As CM has alluded to, the world we live in now is challenging us environmentally and biologically beyond our comprehension with quite a number of years.
I’m only going to adress the bit you say to me.
I take offence because you say I ‘sound like the catholic church’ and that I am ‘taking an utterly ridiculous view on it’.
I’m going on what a doctor and other experts told my mother. Are they wrong? Why do you think you are more right than they are? I think I’d prefer to take the word of experienced professionals than someone spoofing on an internet forum.
Its not about disagreeing with you, thats basic. Its about you trying to sound like an authority and telling others how they should be reacting. I know where you are coming from, but you are going about it like an arsehole.
theres bits you said in the rest of that post that I wouldnt agree with, but I’m not bothered going into it with you. Its Firday evening and I have better things to be worrying about.
Nothing worse than being away when something like that happens.
The way i’m going about it? I was stating what i’ve been told by doctors, Cancer Research Doctors. I wouldn’t argue the point so strongly if i wasn’t. 10 points to the first wanker into the people kev knows thread.
It sounds to me that you actually agree with alot of what i’m saying, but felt i was being insensitive and attacked back once you got some support from Rocko. I do believe the way people were told about cancer by Irish doctors was wrong for years, and was very similar carry on to the hush hush approach based on religion and not science. I believe people have died because of this. They have shown plenty incompetence as well over the years. The approach however even from a good doctor may be as much psychological as anything, that i understand.
I’d echo these sentiments to the lads Mac…It’s a bugger of disease in fairness.
Same situation in my family and thankfully she has made a full recovery and is back full time working.
My siblings and I were never really fully informed by our mother though so only found out at a later stage of treatment. I had mixed feelings about that.
Kev, you can argue the point, but you dont have to do it like you’re some sort of superior knowledge of it and making out like others who dont think ike that are dumb cunts.
I dont agree with a lot of what you are saying. I acknowldege what you are saying and can see that viewpoint. chocolate mice has put across his points on the same thinking and I can see what he is saying. Obviously there has to be some sort of scientific/biological reason for cance, but the point is that in an awful lot of cases, they still dont know what causes it, or why one person gets it over another. 2 people can live their lives the exact same, and one person can get it, and the other might not. Yeah it could be donw to genetics, or some sort of case, but the point is they still cant pinpoint that now, and thats where I feel that it can just be considered bad luck that one person gets it over another.
Your point that they can cure cancer because they know that reason and that they dont cure bad luck is ridiculous too by the way. Its not that they know the reason that they can cure it, its because they know the cancer.
And I dont need rocko or anyone else ot back me up. I was already engaging with you before Rocko said anything. like I said, you can have your viewpoint, but others mightnt agree. it doesnt mean you have to be completley right and make out like I’m a thick cunt for thinking luck can be considered in cases.