Cherry picked? They’re two of the top players of their generation and they both only played in fits and starts until they were 27. Waxing lyrical about bubbles, he is not in the same class. A lovely striker of a ball but how many seasons was he a top class forward for. I know I’m the bigger eejit to be engaging with you but you really are talking through your hole and there no consistency to any of your lines of reasoning.
Correct
Aidan O’Connor had a pain in his arm from that stuff for UL Freshers ffs
It’s a pity about Rodgers, he was flying earlier in the year.
Any sign of tickets going to resurface? Wouldn’t want to deprive genuine Clare or Limerick supporters but the atmosphere would be worth the trip. Not having to listen to the clowns on commentary is always a plus even in a loud pub.
Tickets are really scarce, they pop up but are usually taken within minutes.
His close in control is phenomenal, I’ve never seen anyone as good as him with a ball on the hurley considering he won’t run away from a back and usually they are stabbing away at him
I think he’s very over rated and one sided, an ‘elite’ forward playing midfield for KK picking up loose ball and swivelling onto his left hand
Both of them have different colour helmets
Ya he’s good enough to make an impact for sure
He has an eye for goal, very direct, can be rare enough to find someone with that knack.
I really like Meehan too. Just needs to be as direct as possible.
Jesus ye really cant grasp the point at all.
Aaron Gillane is a fine hurler. Cian Lynch, Sean Finn etc all fine hurlers. But they are 26 years of age now. From their age group upwards, you have top players all the way. They are not the issue.
Its underneath them where the problems lie. I’d draw a line after the Class of 1997 - The Coleman, Kingston, Fitzgibbon, Peter Casey ‘year’. The class of 1997 were the last group to play a proper under 21 championship but maybe more importantly they were allowed play ‘adult’ club as under 17’s.
From 24 downwards, there is a huge fall off. Jake Morris was nominated for YHOTY twice without starting a game for Tipp, essentially because there was nobody else. It was the same last year when two Cork lads were chosen for maybe starting one game all year each. There was no one else.
@Aristotle is referring to UL players in this years Freshers as being an outstanding class but what does it say nationally when one team wins all their games by 20 points? Some of those UL lads didnt look anything special in the recent Under 20 Championship. I thought the final of that competition was really poor.
UL won a Fitzgibbon this year with a team of nobodies in terms of Senior Inter County hurling. And its supposed to be a game for ‘students’.
Hurling is ok for now because the 25-33 year olds are all top players but there is a day of reckoning coming in the near future and nobody seems to see it.
Ye dont seem to be able to grasp the point at all so i will leave it at that let ye discuss yer formations and tactics for Sunday.
Lads seem to think you’re taking a dig at Limerick when it’s the groups coming up after that 94’-96’ age category where the issues arise. Your concern is more so about the lack of players coming through under the age of 24 which doesn’t really apply to Limerick since their team are virtually all older than that.
As an aside Kyle Hayes would be 98’ wouldn’t he?
I’d say once English figures out his game, he will be a top forward. Possibly trying to do too much at the minute.
I don’t think he’s having digs at Limerick at all, I think he’s just talking absolute shit. He constantly moves the goalposts on this point too, referring to anecdotal evidence rather than any sort of facts.
I don’t think there’s any doubt that it takes slightly longer to break into intercounty setups these days, due to the S&C gap. But that doesn’t mean the players are less talented. It’s also a reflection of where various counties are at senior setup-wise: very hard to break into the current Limerick starting team, Cork have been integrating players over the past couple of years, others have had managers with perhaps a reluctance to try youth in the shortened Covid Championships.
At least 3 of the top 10 or so hurlers in the country are born between 1998-2000. The star forward of probably 3 of the Leinster counties is born after that date.
Some awful awful shite posted here.
Who are these three hurlers 24 or under in the Top 10? I’d love to hear this now.
Rory O’ Connor would be one I’d reckon. He’s 98’ like Kyle Hayes I think. Dónal Burke probably Dublins standout forward another from that age group. I was going to say that Callum Lyons from Waterford is a great bit of stuff but turns out he’s 97’ so a bit older than I realised. Cody and Mullen from Kilkenny decent too.
Kyle, ROC & Cody.