Boxing Thread

Boxing hasn’t been interesting in 10/15 years. Most fights are terrible to watch.

Disappointing alright. Mayweather just too quick on his feet for anyone really but especially for a slack looking Pacqiao.
Who out there could catch him or pin him down?

Was that the death of boxing last night??

Disappointing for a finish. Pac clearly won three rounds and showed them at he could overwhelm and hurt Mayweather, but couldn’t sustain it. Mayweather is an incredible talent but he waited long enough to take this fight. The size advantage was also massive, mayweather’ reach advantage was huge to overcome given his style. Pac camp said he was carrying a right shoulder injury. Vegas gaming commission wouldn’t give permission for an injection before the fight.

Khan next for mayweather. No hope he’d fight Golovkin IMO. Still has yet to fight anyone who can truly threaten him at their peak in my view, but fuck he is good.

People have been making excuses and mitigating factors from Mayweather’s greatness for years now. Who did he duck through his career? Margarito? Williams? He’s 48-0 now, he’s won world titles at five different weight divisions and he’s done it without really breaking sweat in his career.

I enjoy watching him, he’s a pure boxer and a genius at work. His footwork is absolutely phenomenal, pretty much every fight he has had we have heard about how this boxer is going to cause him problems and how they can beat him but they can rarely if ever impose their natural style on him. He is too good. It’s difficult to compare boxers over different eras but Mayweather’s legacy will now be unrivalled, an unblemished record over fight different weight levels, world champion in all five and beating the best of all those weight divisions.

All this nonsense about how if a fighter fought this way or if they fought that way they could have beaten him is exactly that - nonsense. Part of the reason Mayweather is out on his own by a country mile over the past 20 years is that he is intelligent and crafty enough to turn the fight his way and make adjustments. How many times has he started fights out slowly only to turn it into a landslide points victory once he has sussed his opponents and made slight adjustments? He doesn’t need advice from his corner, he sees it all himself and that’s just one part of his greatness.

All I have to say about Mayweather is that it’s been an absolute pleasure to watch him over the years, I feel blessed to have been around in the same era as him.

[QUOTE=“massey ferguson, post: 1133050, member: 189”]Jaysus if only you called Freddie last week and gave him your grand masterplan pacquaio could have won easily,dam :frowning:
Is there any chance this cunt will fight someone who has an advantage on him rather than him beating up smaller lads all the time[/QUOTE]

What utter tosh? Don’t let the facts get in the way of your agenda anyway. Mayweather started out as a featherweight and is 5ft8 and has gone all the way up to super welter in his career. He has fought bigger guys in his career and hasn’t had a problem with them. Just give the guy the credit his boxing skills deserve.

Mosley was bigger.
Cotto was bigger.
De La Hoya was bigger.
Alvarez was bigger.
Ortiz was bigger.

He beat them all.

Some wave of negativity this morning alright.

But no, nothing can kill boxing. Last night was just a missed opportunity to grow the fanbase. The floating audience will go away and the core audience will keep watching. There was always a decent chance the fight would turn out as it did. The better things went for Floyd the more boring it would be.

Mayweather now says there will be a rematch with Pacquiao next year.

Mayweather is the best boxer of his generation but refuses to fight anyone that will truly threaten him. He has a great record but it will never make him an all time great. Marciano has a better record, and he doesn’t even enter the conversation as the greatest all time heavyweight. Similarly, Mayweather doesn’t even enter the conversation for greatest of all time.

Utter tosh? Who did he refuse to fight that would truly threaten him? It’s prize fighting, it’s risk v reward. Mayweather has cleaned out weight divisions, he has now fought anyone who is worth fighting. There is nobody up to 147 who threatens him.

what an utterly pointless post

It’s easy to say that but Maidana gave him his toughest fight since Castillo and who would have seen that coming.

Still waiting for you to tell us the fighters he has ducked who truly threaten him? Maybe he should move up to heavyweight and fight one of the Klitschkos?

Clown.

Watched Lomachenko’s fight again tonight. He looked sensational. Really hope they can make the Walters fight happpen. About as good a match as can be made right now.

@glasagusban

Don’t hide behind your dumb ratings. Tell us of these fighters he refused to fight because he felt threatened by him?

[QUOTE=“Nembo Kid, post: 1134579, member: 2514”]@glasagusban

Don’t hide behind your dumb ratings. Tell us of these fighters he refused to fight because he felt threatened by him?[/QUOTE]
You’re dumb and not really worth debating with. This discussion has been well thrashed out many times before. That’s three responses to one post. Stop following me now.

[QUOTE=“Nembo Kid, post: 1134579, member: 2514”]@glasagusban

Don’t hide behind your dumb ratings. Tell us of these fighters he refused to fight because he felt threatened by him?[/QUOTE]

You’re wasting your breath pal; being a Mayweather fan is very much akin to voting No in the upcoming referendum. You’ll be ostracised on social media, told that your stance is morally wrong and allthewhile, the opposition will invent some baloney argument to champion their cause.

You don’t know any, do you?

You actually don’t seem to have the slightest notion about boxing so it doesn’t surprise me. Everyone has been saying for years that Mayweather was ducking people. They said he was ducking Pacquiao, Mosley, Cotto etc and he fought them all. If they are really worth fighting, he’ll fight them. Remember the big clamour at the time for him about him ducking chumps like Kermit Cintron?? Probably fucking clowns like you, if you were even feigning an interest in boxing at the time.

Your posts about how Mayweather will never come into the reckoning for the greatest boxer ever is absurd, of course he will. He is unquestionably the best since Sugar Ray Leonard, he has cleaned out five different weight divisions, done it undefeated and has never even been put down in his career (officialy) or had any serious questions asked. You can question the fighters he has faced in his era all you want but there has never been as dominant a mult-weight division world champion as Mayweather and his legacy as one of the best ever is assured.

You’re embarrassing yourself with ignorance here.

[QUOTE=“Nembo Kid, post: 1134597, member: 2514”]You don’t know any, do you?

You actually don’t seem to have the slightest notion about boxing so it doesn’t surprise me. Everyone has been saying for years that Mayweather was ducking people. They said he was ducking Pacquiao, Mosley, Cotto etc and he fought them all. If they are really worth fighting, he’ll fight them. Remember the big clamour at the time for him about him ducking chumps like Kermit Cintron?? Probably fucking clowns like you, if you were even feigning an interest in boxing at the time.

Your posts about how Mayweather will never come into the reckoning for the greatest boxer ever is absurd, of course he will. He is unquestionably the best since Sugar Ray Leonard, he has cleaned out five different weight divisions, done it undefeated and has never even been put down in his career (officialy) or had any serious questions asked. You can question the fighters he has faced in his era all you want but there has never been as dominant a mult-weight division world champion as Mayweather and his legacy as one of the best ever is assured.

You’re embarrassing yourself with ignorance here.[/QUOTE]
Marciano has a better record. The record itself counts for nothing. Mayweather will never be viewed as the equal of Robinson, Leonard, Ali, except by sycophants like you. Jones is the best since leonard.

Mayweather will come up in any discussion for the greatest boxer of all time. He’ll come up in it now and he’ll come up in it in the future. The dominance he has had in boxing is unprecedented, five different weight divisions - he has cleaned them out, he has won them all, absolutely coasting the vast majority of his fights and never even been put down in his career. He has defeated hall of fame fighters over a host of weight divisions. We get it that you don’t like him, but don’t be getting affronted at being called out on the nonsense you’re spouting with respect to his legacy. Nobody has dominated an era of boxing like Mayweather has and for that reason alone he will be up there. It’s not as if his era has been filled with chumps either - the likes of Mosley, De La Hoya, Pacquiao, Marquez were all fantastic boxers.