Boxing Thread

Oh dear, McBride got well beaten by a journeyman who only stood in at the last minute :lol:

Delighted never liked the fucker especially when I heard him talking shite about all the Grannies in Clones lighting candles for him in the build up to the Tyson fight, nearly as bad as that auld twee pigs in the parlour shite

I see Jean Pascal is 12/5 to beat Chad Dawson with Paddy, what do you make of his chances Massey. I think it’s great value myself
and will more than likely have a piece of it, seems overpriced to me.
Juan Diaz is 9/4 against Marquez, their first fight was amazing. Has Diaz gone back as a fighter sice that loss? I see he lost to Mallignagi
who I do not rate at all myself, was sure he’d have taken him(despite the new weight) regardless.

the only way pascal will beat dawson is by ko and i doubt that,diaz is gone well down the last year or so he was stopped by marquez in the fight of the year and i thought mallignagi beat him both times so yeah id say hes gone back a lot but hell be lookin for revenge against marquez but marquez will eat him up if he just comes out swinging but if he stands back hell be outboxed so i think hes fucked either way,an early ko is the only way i see diaz winning and thats unlikely

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vv9BtW8tqVQ

Mexico’s Juan Manuel Marquez claimed a unanimous points victory over American Juan Diaz in Las Vegas to retain his WBO lightweight title.

There was no repeat of the fireworks which saw Diaz knocked out in the ninth when the two met in February 2009 in a bout named fight of the year, but Marquez just had enough quality to hold off Diaz.

The last time these two met, Diaz was well on top in the early stages, but this time it was far more even.

Diaz appeared to be conserving energy, wary of a repeat of the knockout he suffered last year, but that also made him less effective and allowed Marquez to dictate for large periods.

Authority
Marquez stamped his authority on the fight in the fourth round as Diaz struggled to find an answer to his power.

A big combination in round six had Diaz rattled and the Texan appeared to be doing little more than hanging in there.

He came storming back in the last three rounds against his older opponent, but to no avail on the scorecards.

“The first one was difficult, it was a war for both,” Marquez told Sky Sports. "This was more technical but I managed to come out on top.

“He’s a great fighter. He knows some technique. But tonight the technique was in our favour.”

Trilogy
Marquez has been linked with a fight against Amir Khan, who watched on from ringside, but the Mexican instead targeted a third fight with Manny Pacquiao. The Mexican drew with the Filipino in 2004 and suffered a narrow defeat four years later.

“The trilogy with Pacquiao is what I want,” said Marquez, 51-5-1, (37 KOs). “Everybody wants to see it. It’s good for all fight fans, for the Mexicans, the Filipinos. Everyone wants to see it. That’s the most important fight for me now.”

I see Andy Lee had a solid knockout win during the week, big 12 months ahead for him…Looks as though a fight with Paul Williams is being mooted

Middleweight Andy Lee (22-1, 16kos) knocked out James Cook (11-4-1, 8kos) in the fifth round of their fight at the Buffalo Run Casino in Miami, Oklahoma on Friday night.

The 26-year-old Irishman had a comfortable evening against his completely outclassed opponent.

It was Lee’s bodywork that did the damage and a hard left hook to the body in the fifth round brought a premature end to proceedings.

Lee was the non-televised undercard of ESPN2’s Friday night Fights series, but the network did show brief highlights of the bout during the broadcast.

Lee is set to join trainer/manager Steward and Wladimir Klitschko at the heavyweight champion’s training camp in Austria, though there is an outside chance he will remain stateside if a possible fight in Chicago goes ahead.

theres some talk of him fightin sturm in germany but well see

Makes no odds, both would beat him with a bit to spare i would say

sturm would be the easier fight but the yanks havent a clue who he is,williams is good but hes beatable aswell as lee would be naturally bigger and stronger but it time to start fighting some decent fighters

I see Daniel Jacobs got his ass handed to him by Pirog at the weekend…Pirog looked a tough hoor and it was a sweet knock out

Does anyone know if Willie Bang Bang Casey won last night against the Greaseball he was fighting

He won on points Puke. Won every round

Bang Bang

FFS

FFS.

Ah FFS Puke cop the fuck on.

The Puke outed as a sub editor for the Limerick Independent!

http://www.limerickindependent.com/sport/sport/ten-out-of-ten-for-willie-�bangbang�-casey,-after-points-victory/

looks like it gonna be margarito in november for pacquiao My link

The heavyweight veteran Evander Holyfield has challenged the WBA champion, David Haye, to give him a title shot and finally earn himself a big pay-day.

Despite turning 48 next month, Holyfield remains on the fringes of the heavyweight title picture. In 2008, he was unfortunate to lose a decision to the then WBA champion, Nikolai Valuev, whom Haye subsequently beat last year.

Holyfield defeated his fellow veteran Frans Botha in April to pick up the meaningless WBF belt and is next out against Sherman Williams in November. But he believes he can win a portion of the world heavyweight title for the fifth time and has targeted either Haye or one of the Klitschko brothers, with Vitali the WBC champion and Wladimir the IBF/WBO holder.

Holyfield said: "I’m looking at both the Klitschko brothers and David Haye. I want to fight the people with the titles. I’m fighting this Williams guy because I need to stay active.

"I just can’t wait to get to the guys with these three belts. The only thing that attracts them is that if they want a big payday, they have got to fight somebody that the people know.

“I’m still the most popular heavyweight that is fighting. It’s obvious that if they felt I was an easy fight, they would go ahead and fight me. But they realise they don’t want to get duked by the old man. But if they want to make money, I’m the guy they need to fight.”

Holyfield added: “My people have talked with the older Klitschko brother [Vitali] and his manager but right now everybody’s busy with fights. I’ve been doing this a long time, 38 years. I’m good at what I do.”

As for his motivation, Holyfield – who dreams of breaking George Foreman’s record as the oldest world heavyweight champion – insists there remains plenty of incentive.

"With anything in life you lose something but you gain something. The most important thing is that you gain more than you lose.

"As for hunger, I don’t do it for the reason I did it when I was a kid. I grew up poor and they told me I wasn’t going to be anything, which was the fire in my belly because every time I fought somebody it was to prove them wrong.

"Now I don’t have that, after everything I’ve accomplished. People say ‘you’re too old’. But what’s the point of living if you can’t set goals? It’s not how you start, it’s how you end.

"That goal I’ve set, I’ve got to keep pushing for it until I get it and hopefully before I hit 50 I’ll do that. I fought George Foreman when I was 29 and he was 42. He said :‘I’m not too old to have a dream.’ Everybody laughed at him and when we fought, I did win the fight but he kind of won the people.

“After, he became the heavyweight champion of the world because he beat the guy who beat me [Michael Moorer]. He knocked him out!”

Foreman was 45 when he beat Moorer and two months shy of 49 when he lost his heavyweight belt.

Cracking atmosphere at this Ricky Burns fight - all the rebel songs getting a good airing from the diaspora. Early knock down hasn’t helped the lad though!

Looks like a belter this one.

Yeah Burns has responded very well to the early knockdown but Martinez is still terribly dangerous.

Been with this since Round 3 and Burns looks like he has the beating of him. Bell saved Martinez there.