County Limerick finally being dragged out of the Dark ages by Imagine broadband. Going from 3mb to 60mb with wimax in two weeks.
What’s the story with these boys,I see their signs all over the place
59 quid a month for up to 70mb. They won’t connect you if you can’t get at least 30mb. Well worth it considering Eir can give me 1mb and paying 40 for 6mb wireless while actually getting 3mb. Sky boxes will be fucked out as soon as it goes in.
You’ll have Paddy Cosgrove looking to rent the slatted sheds off you next year at this rate
I’d clip the cunt for free too.
No point in bringing this I suppose…
On what Mike?
Amiko dream box
Just to clarify.
Your opening a SKY HD channel from a satellite dish with an Amiko Dreambox?
I don’t think BT or Eir are sky. Plus the free to air ishow only BBC,I TV and C4
@iron_mike. Is what you have a box that connects to the satellite dish and then connects to the broadband so that you can input codes to decrypt encrypted channel? If it is, does it work well? How long have you had it and have you had any issues with the updates?
Yes that’s exactly it Fagan. It works very well. I have had it since last Easter. I have had very little issue with it. Yes you do get the odd glitch every now and again but nothing serious.
Will you pm me where you got it?
Yep later on tonight. I will dig out the info when I get home. Am off today so having a quiet pint at the moment
Jaysus you have the life of Reilly
Not really. In my job, it’s night on impossible to take more then 2 days in a row off. Otherwise sales can go through the floor. I have 10 full days to take (not including Christmas ) before year end. I’ve been picking them off a day here and there since October
Changed over this evening from older UPC offering to the Virgin replacement which has nominal 240mb download. Getting a consistent 77mb download so far. Upload still at 13mb.
50e per month including home phone with landline calls (for grandparents) and 16 analog tv channels (incl ATR) on the line feeding two tvs.
Lads the parents are onto me to sort out their mobile/home broadband and home phone. They signed themselves up to eir which gives them unlimited calls on the home phone, unlimited broadband but are being charge through the roof for the two mobiles as they’ve only a 100 minutes free on each. Which is the best offer around? Thanks.
Try a sim only plan from Vodafone. I get unlimited calls @ texts and 2 gig yokes and 50 mins international calls per month for €25 euros. No contract either.
They tried to add vat onto that and I said no deal, he said ok so we’ll say €25 per month.
Be prepared to haggle.
Been meaning to post in this thread for a while.
Do you have rubbish broadband in your house? eg 3MB through your phoneline.
It’s possible that Eircom made a balls of setting you up in the first place. Here’s how.
We moved into a new house in July. I had looked at the map in the link here:
I checked back before we bought the house because I wanted to figure out what services were in the area. I had spotted that there was an Eircom Broadband exchange cabinet in the estate that we were looking to move into. So I was confident that when we moved in we’d have good broadband. Which is fairly essential if I ever wanted to work from home etc…
So the time came to move in and they connected up our line. I made my order with Sky and they told me that the maximum broadband we could have is 3MBPS. I asked them to double check that as my expectation given the available infrastructure in the area and the knowledge that my neighbours had 100MBPS should mean that we would get the same quality as they did. They told me that I was connected to an exchange cabinet 10km away. At which point I told them that there was the problem, that there was a cabinet within 100m of my house and that we should be connected there. We had this back and forth for a couple of days until finally the penny dropped and they connected us to the correct cabinet. Speed test, 90MBPS. Deadly.
My advice to ye is don’t assume these people know what they are doing. Because they make these kinds of mistakes all the time and people will just assume they did it right. It’s possible you have 3MB broadband right now and there’s a cabinet beside your house that for some reason they failed to connect you to. Look at the map and see where the nearest one is if you have broadband with Eircom, Vodafone or Sky. They all use the same infrastructure.
[Virgin work off their own cable system so are separate]
The cabinet in our estate is green. Looks like this: [pic stolen from boards]