Called for jury duty

Thanks mate

After the testimonial you have given the clergy surely you would be happy they are not jurors ???

I was called and selected last month. Interesting to see the process as long as the case only runs for a couple of days

Just checked, been excused again, fourth time in a row. Apparently I am on the jury roll until June 14, so @Chucks_Nwoko now is the time to commit crimes. If you leave it any longer I may not be able to subvert the judicial process in your favour.

They have a very small pool of non criminals to pick from.

@artfoley

Why was the rape trial unanimous only?

I was on jury service due to an assault on Dame St. Brian Lenihan (God rest) wife was Judge. Asked for Unanimous, was 10.2 after deliberation, sent back to discuss, ended up 10.1, she took the majority decision.

I was the 1 so my conscious is clear.

Looking back I probably should have argued for the accused but he did batter the lad for nothing so I wasn’t that bothered and the claimant lied and perjured himself so wasn’t that bothered with him either.

Had they offered a hotel with bar expenses to adjudicate like the old days I may have argued but it was going nowhere so no point.

It wasn’t unanimous only, in fact it sounds just like the trial you participated in. She sent them away to deliberate with instructions to come to an unanimous decision and not consider a majority decision. However, she also said if they could not reach a unanimous decision she would instruct them again and send them back to consider a majority decision.

Ok. I thought I read somewhere she would take unanimous only.

@artfoley

Can the Judge decide to take a unanimous or a 10.2 majority or a 9.3, is it their decision?

Is it that loose? You’d be pissed off going down 7.5 for bit of high jinx (no rape involved)! Middle class shenanigans kinda thing.

What exactly have you been charged with buddy?

[quote=“Lazarus, post:89, topic:14456, full:true”]
What exactly have you been charged with buddy?

Minor traffic offence…joke!

I remember covering the courts for a regional paper (Sid isn’t the only pretend journalist), prior to switching to Accountancy, which I left after qualifying cos you’d end up like @Bandage

Anyway, I was hanging around the back of the court and spotted a few lads from Malahide (wasn’t quite as pretend posh then), four lads, group of three and one, two dead now, one great boxer, other bipolar and took his own life…anyway asked them what they were up for; 3 were caught with a bit of hash…and then the one was a ‘minor traffic offence’

ÂŁ50 each into poor box said the judge to the three lads.

Minor traffic offence…

3 robbed cars
Resisting arrest
Burglary
Theft
Dangerous driving
Contravention of a traffic sign
Leaving the scene of an accident

I nearly collapsed

They have to deliberate for 2hrs45 minutes where they have to try for a unanimous verdict. After that the judge will allow a majority verdict.

Did one of the jurors fuck off home in a huff after the first round?

Well spotted, no 11.1, apologies for any confusion

I believe the judges options were somewhat restricted in this trial due to the illness and subsequent absence of one of the jurors

Dear God. Yis sound like a bunch of wimmin discussing the offside rule.

How do you get out Of this after being called?

Scream I hate Black People & Immigrants at the Court, do it real loud like.

Ask if it’s OK to place bets on the outcome

Rock in wearing a suit and carrying the Irish Times.

Alternatively write a letter asking to be excused because of a work project you have on or because you are the main minder for your children and it would be inconvenient to have to attend

Wear a suit and look respectable. Defence will object if you’re called.