Christy Cooney - Wanker

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/kfkfsnaueykf/rss2/

Forget Plan B, let supporters pitch in at their own risk
By Paddy Heaney

Thursday, May 06, 2010

THERE was a distinctly solemn atmosphere when I arrived slightly late for the start of this year’s Annual Congress in Newcastle’s Slieve Donard Hotel.

Normally a talkative bunch, the delegates were uncharacteristically silent as I made my way across the reception room to a seat.

The reason for the respectful hush soon became clear.

The 300-odd county officers were watching a presentation about the dangers of pitch invasions in Croke Park.

It was the type of slick production that we have come to expect from the GAA’s top table. It included testimony from gardaí and direct references to the Heysel and Hillsborough tragedies.

Thirty-nine people died at Heysel and 96 died at Hillsborough.

Anyone who dared to present an opposing argument would have risked looking like a complete anarchist.

Instead, Kerry’s Sean Walsh, a possible future president, stated how he believes that on-pitch presentations are the way forward.

Armagh’s Jarlath Burns, another possible future president, revealed how he understood why people would have a nostalgic attachment to the annual gallop across Croke Park. Burns once entertained such notions, but no more.

He cited his experience of watching stewards, “grown men of 50 or 60 years of age, getting punched and hit” as they tried to stop supporters getting on the field.

As Jarlath spoke, I wondered how many grown men he could have completely obliterated when, after watching his beloved Armagh win the All-Ireland final, he nearly jumped out of the BBC’s studio on the upper tier of the Canal End.

As a supporter and a journalist, I have savoured the privileged experience of being in Croke Park when my native county and Tyrone, and Armagh won the Sam Maguire Cup for the first time.

I remember bumping into my father on the pitch after Derry beat Dublin in the ‘93 semi-final. Having spent his entire adult life watching Derry lose in Croke Park, he looked like he was floating as he told me about the great view he had of Johnny McGurk’s winning point from his place on the Canal End.

For the All-Ireland final, a cousin of mine who is not known for his speed of foot was captured by the TV cameras as he blazed across the pitch.

Usain Bolt would have struggled to catch him.

Rather than ask, demand, or insist that supporters stay in their seats, the GAA is hoping to persuade them to remain seated. The presentation at Congress was the first part of the dissemination process. County boards will be shown the same DVD.

As the motives of the men who are trying to end pitch invasions are entirely humane, it is wrong to ridicule them.

However, if we are going to have a debate about the pros and cons of pitch invasions, then let’s have a fair one.

References to Heysel and Hillsborough are unwarranted, unfair, and totally irrelevant. The conditions at Heysel (a crumbling stadium and rampaging fans) and Hillsborough (a lack of crush barriers and no open access to the pitch) couldn’t be replicated in a modern stadium like Croke Park.

The use of these disasters is moral blackmail and it’s a slightly devious way of trying to stifle a proper discussion.

The fact of the matter is that to date, no one has died during an All-Ireland pitch invasion.

People have died on the annual pilgrimage to climb Croagh Patrick – but not in Croke Park.

Yes, there are dangers involved. The mass of heaving bodies does create health and safety issues – but so does crossing the road.

If supporters venture onto the pitch, they should be instructed that they do so at their own risk. Why do we need to sanitise and sterilise everything?

They’ll be running the bulls in Pamplona in a few months’ time. It’s part of the culture in northern Spain. Fifteen people have died since 1910. Two men were gored to death in the last decade. But the bulls will be running this July and rightly so. Those who don’t want to risk being gored don’t run.

Croke Park should adopt a similar attitude. The alternative methods employed so far have been a disaster.

At this year’s Hogan Cup final, gardaí apprehended teenaged St Colman’s supporters by forcefully dumping them to the ground and handcuffing them.

It was behaviour more befitting of Tiananmen Square and it was the gardaĂ­ and not the young lads who looked like mindless idiots.

It is of course our thoroughly decent and civilised director-general PĂĄraic Duffy who is trying to instigate this change in GAA culture.

Páraic is from Monaghan, the county which invaded HQ after winning – wait for it – the Division Two League final.

Before pursuing this policy any further, Páraic should perhaps take a long, hard look at some of his native county men and think how they might react if Monaghan won this year’s All-Ireland title.

Would he try to stop them? Would you? I’d prefer to take my chances with the bulls.

fair play to the gaurds for giving those yobs a hiding at the Hogan Cup final,
such anti social behaviour needs to be made an example of…

Can’t believe you actually took time out to type that psychoanlytical bullshit. It actually doesn’t even makes sense which is the funniest thing.
What point were you actually trying to make?

You’re a poor man’s ncc mickee. A kind of Cork ncc.

No, i’m sure you can figure it out.

Nobody is behaving like Barbarians really, but i actually agree with your teacher-student analogy. Well they certainly act like teachers anyway, unqualified ones. So many of them are unsuited to modern management of anything, not to mind the most successful amateur sporting organisation in the world.

Your coming across as one of these guys who got burned by the GAA at some point, mind you hurling and footballing with Cobh would make you feel like a 3rd class citizen in that town, and thats not a pop at you, i think you’d agree its a fair reflection of the sports in that Garrison town.

I have problems with alot of what the top brass do up in Croke Park, or down our own Pairce, but i think they would be far better off sorting out the real poison of the GAA at the moment, refereeing. Its ruining our games, more than anything else.

I actually think he’s trying to copy ncc, which is a very high level of stupidity.

how is the gga amateur- coaches get paid, people working in the ground get paid- players get jobs & paid for driving to training

Maybe the gga is professional, i’m not very familiar with it.

there’s a lot of things that you aren’t very familiar with…

Your on fire. :lol:

Will i see you on the 31st?

Mickee is cleaning house. Outstanding :clap:

all we need now is the great DBP to make an appearance :lol:

Just log out and log into that account ncc.

huh?

It would be great if we got back on topic here. Cooney is going to be the most useless president in the history of the GAA, and thats some achievement after Brennan.

Its like the powers that be (i’m looking at Frank Murphy and Bob Honohan here) decided there would be no more upstarts after Sean Kelly.

you’ll see the back of my fist…
if you’re lucky

True enough. Kelly didn’t tow the line and they hate him for it.

Well, will you be there, you can always fight outside the pitch if you want, but i think inside is for hurling. Thats taking that your going to come back and walk on the Cobh team. Although having seen them, thats someone who hasn’t hurled since Minor would have a good chance of getting on it.

Look
I applaud cooney for his stance on pitch invasions,
It is shocking PR for the organization if he dosen’t take swift action against the assault on Martin Sludden, I don’t know what anyone else in his position would do and anyone trying to make a case to the contrary is a deluded imbecile.

Apart from that I think he has been poor, his shocking treatment of the Christy Brown Cup ( well its like as if he regarded it as a tournament for retards given the way he locked it away in the coal shed) by playing the games on a Saturday afternoon and the final on a non descript Saturday evening at 5 pm in croke park in front of 10 people was bad form to anyone who plays hurling in one of these counties.
At least these games should have been played before senior championship in neutral venues instead of those awful intermediate games we have in Munster.
Its shocking that he did nothing to help promote these competitions, I played myself in kildare for a couple of years where there are some decent hurling folk but Cooney ensures that the organization couldn’t give a fk about them…

Can’t we all just get along