Clare Gaa 🐐 Thread mark II

In terms of the year ahead a first round league result doesn’t matter a jot. Just the timing for Clare with the circus going on around them at the moment couldn’t be worse.

Yeah it was a trap game and they got caught. Hopefully it forces a bit of a rejig and Conlon back into the forwards and Cleary back to centre back.

They will have to bite the bullet and Malone back to half back to sure things up too

Should it not have occurred to Lohan to put Conlon back up the field when they were chasing the game? I don’t mind the experiment but we had more options to replace him at 6

Derek Lynch reckons nothing to see here. Yesterday was a glorified challenge game and we wouldn’t have even heard the result had it not been a league game.
The denial throughout the county these past few years from people in a position of influence is staggering

I think there is an element of truth to it. If we had played Kilkenny yesterday and took a 10 or 15 point beating there would have been less made of it. They were collectively flat across the board and whatever could have broke against them did. It happens.

The bigger problem in a general sense is the same failings are there for the last few years and whatever way we shuffle the deck they remain. The fall off of our underage sides straight after the three in a row under 21 side is coming home to roost big time as the lads who are now in that 23 to 26 bucket who we need to really stepping up are all fairly flawed/inconsistent hurlers.

Lads like Cian Galvin and Paddy Donnellan both have potential but both are 18 months off making any real impact at intercounty. Same with Rodgers and Meehan yet we are having to fast track them which is always a risky ploy.

Cian Galvin wouldn’t have done any worse than Conlon yesterday imo. It was no lose throwing him in, if he had bad day then it doesn’t change the fact he’s two years away. If he played well then it would have halved that lead time

I think if you had two solid half backs or a bit of continuity to your defence you could try and blood one of them and see how they go but we don’t have that and it puts them young lads in an position where it is almost impossible to perform given the lack of defensive structure.

I’d love if any of those four could make an impact in the short term as they are all excellent prospects but none of them are physically ready for senior at this point especially with another shortened season.

Are Clare going to fade away like Offaly? Surely not?

No there is a nice crop of hurlers in the county aged between 17 and 20. It will take time for them to come through but there is talent there. Problem is adminstration and how things are done and steps are afoot to try and rectify this.

Biggest problem is a lack of unity and purpose at board level which has become toxic and politicised which means a lot of people with value to add are not involved. That will be rectified in the not too distant future too.

About time ye started backing Pat. Time for Davy to come home as well

Pat and Davy are busy causing consternation in their home club currently. It is alleged that the guards are involved and a lot of people pissed off

Thought the bridge were fully backing the Fitz’s

The long and the short of it was that they had a discussion about whether they should issue a statement supporting Pat against the “online abuse” he was suffering around last Christmas which happened to coincide with a Davy late late show appearance that week. Committee voted against it but Chairman went off on a solo run and issued a statement saying they had full support of the club which didn’t go down too well at the time in the club. It is now being alleged the statement which was sent was signed by numerous members of the club and that a number of the signatures were forged.

Jesus that sounds like a shit show and Davy managing the club

Pat McDonagh/Clarecastle mark 2.
You’d think the Bridge man would have more cop on after the shit storm the former caused

Pat mcdonagh/Clarecastle?

It is yet more noise in what is becoming a very sad saga. There is one/two constants to the whole thing

Japes

Ah it’s very sad.

Such a pity some of the parties have to engage in all of that shenanigans.

Tarnished legacies for sure.

Yet more farce at tonight’s board meeting.