Clare v Cork - GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship 2013 Final - Replay

I understand that sid but don’t believe any club got 500 tickets for the drawn game! Do you?

I’d be surprised if any club in Clare had 500 members, never mind getting 500 tickets.

Eire Og Ennis or Wolfe Tones might have 500 members?

I was waiting for Woolberto and Gizzy to question the 500 ticket allocation. I suppose one shouldn’t be too surprised they didn’t cop to question it

Eire Og is the only GAA club (Banner hardly counts) in a town of +25k people. They could easily eat up 500 tickets.

It’s not just Clare, lots of reports from Corkonians having a hard time getting their hands on tickets.

Fucked up system in fairness when fellas from Waherford and hook nosed cunts from a football county like Wexford can get there hands on a row of seats.

If Clare’s half-backline plays as well as they did in the drawn game Clare will almost certainly win. If Clare have that platform I don’t think Cork can hold them from 8-15. Cork will set out to make it much harder for the Clare backs to break forward with ball but they possibly don’t have the players with the workrate to do that.

I’d expect Cork to bring more intensity to the game at the same time. They got out-worked and out-fought the last day in too many positions and they know it.

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 837058, member: 1137”][SIZE=4]Clare ace McGrath says it’s a day to savour rather than fear[/SIZE]
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Some players find All-Ireland final day too much.

By Diarmuid O’Flynn It should be their ultimate ambition realised, greeted by the roar of the 82,000 crowd but instead of flourishing, they freeze. Formerly fluid wrists become tight, legs turn to jelly, thoughts are confused and jumbled as dream turns to nightmares.

Then there’s Clare. Almost as young a side as ever hit the sacred sod, certainly as inexperienced, they came out against Cork in the All-Ireland SHC final three weeks ago, looked around, smiled, soaked it all in and enjoyed the parade behind the fabled Artane Band. Then came the throw-in and their moment of truth.

They played as though an All-Ireland senior hurling final in front of a capacity Croke Park was something they’d been doing every week.

“I thought the whole day was brilliant to be honest,” said corner-forward Conor McGrath, who, at 22, is one of the more experienced lads.

“Even the half an hour out on the pitch beforehand, the noise, the atmosphere was just brilliant. I enjoyed the whole thing.

“Then the minute the match starts you get your first touch and you’re involved. It just becomes a normal match. But I really enjoyed the experience.”

But what of the crowd. It could have intimidated them?

“Not particularly. You’d think you would coming up to the match but once it starts you barely notice anything. The only thing you might have noticed was when Cork got a goal there was a huge cheer, but other than that you’d notice very little.”

So, that was three times in the entire afternoon that Conor became conscious of his surroundings, of the occasion. Well, four actually. The final torturous seconds also made an impression, Clare a point behind having dominated most of the game. It was at that stage, for the first time in the game he suffered a sinking feeling.

“Yeah, you’d be lying if you said it didn’t cross your mind that it was gone but thankfully, we were allowed play on for a few seconds. Luckily enough we were able to get the opening and thankfully Domhnall got the point.”

In contrast to Clare, there are those who believe Cork felt the heat.

“People are saying that Cork didn’t play well,” said Conor. “I thought both teams played reasonably well. They were never more than four or five points away from us, were getting some great scores in the second half. I think both teams played very well and I think both teams will feel they can play better again.”

A new occasion now, a different sort of All-Ireland. Saturday afternoon, 5pm, under lights.

“We’ll treat it very similarly, probably leave from Clare a couple of hours later than we have been doing but I don’t think it will make too much difference.”

And the lights? “I don’t think that will make much difference. We played Cork earlier in the league in Páirc Uí Rinn under lights, played an U21 All-Ireland final last year against Kilkenny under lights. I can’t see them making any difference. So many clubs have lights now, I’d say there isn’t a player who hasn’t had experience of playing under them, loads of times.”

Mention of which, it’s just as well Conor doesn’t have any problems under lights because with only one round of club championship played and as a member of dual club, Cratloe, he’s going to find himself in whirlwind action.

“There are six of us involved with the county panel [himself, Conor Ryan, Podge Collins starting, Cathal McInerney, Liam Markham and injured Seán Collins on the panel], all dual players. Once this is over we’ll be back club training on Tuesday night and it will be 100% focus on that. With all players, the club comes first, that would be my view on things anyway, and we’re 100% focused on both the hurling and football championships in Cratloe and we’d be delighted to be involved until Christmas!”

In the meantime, this little matter of another visit to GAA HQ for some unfinished business. Will they be fazed this time? Not a chance.
Š Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved[/quote]

Thanks for posting that and the Griffin article @chewy louie[/USER] (jesus, I thought Tony Griffin was a lot older than 32). Its been a fascinating championship watching it from afar here. Thats what I like about TFK, for lads like me, living in Australia, it can be very difficult to get a good handle on whats actually happening and its great there are knowledgeable people out there (I’d definitely include @[USER=183]Sidney[/USER] in that after his epic McQuillan treatsie), other than lazy journo’s or those fuckwits on Second Captains. I mean, living here in Australia, watching it on Setanta, I could probably comment on some fairly obvious stuff, but really, I’d be overstepping the mark a bit if I started arguing with lads who attend most matches, training sessions etc. Like, just as an example off the top of my head, who would I be to say that Clare deployed a sweeper when they played Cork earlier in th championship? In fairness, I don’t think anyone in the TFK diaspora would go off on some tangent to spruik their superior knowledge of specific incidents or games when they’re only watching them in TV, thousands of kms away (well, maybe @[USER=193]balbec would, but we’d probably believe him) over the lads who were actually at it. I know chewy is an honorable member of the disapora, but he actually gets to the games, a privilige I don’t have.

Anyway, a humble thanks lads.

Jaysus. Fitzy is hurting.

Hey fitzy, here is a tip. If you don’t want us to call you out in being a total cunt of a human being then don’t put up shit showing you enjoy firing people and don’t like computer social media savy old people.

It’s probably too late with most if us, but you could probably fool a few new lads.

You weird insecure fuck.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 837414, member: 273”]Jaysus. Fitzy is hurting.

Hey fitzy, here is a tip. If you don’t want us to call you out in being a total cunt of a human being then don’t put up shit showing you enjoy firing people and don’t like computer social media savy old people.

It’s probably too late with most if us, but you could probably fool a few new lads.

You weird insecure fuck.[/quote]

And these abominable sins I will take to the grave with me.

I think you’re hurting Kev. You’ve been called out so many times this week you can’t be taken seriously again.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 837414, member: 273”]Jaysus. Fitzy is hurting.

You weird insecure fuck.[/quote]

that’s a stupid post kev in fairness

[quote=“Fitzy, post: 837402, member: 236”]Thanks for posting that and the Griffin article @chewy louie[/USER] (jesus, I thought Tony Griffin was a lot older than 32). Its been a fascinating championship watching it from afar here. Thats what I like about TFK, for lads like me, living in Australia, it can be very difficult to get a good handle on whats actually happening and its great there are knowledgeable people out there (I’d definitely include @[USER=183]Sidney[/USER] in that after his epic McQuillan treatsie), other than lazy journo’s or those fuckwits on Second Captains. I mean, living here in Australia, watching it on Setanta, I could probably comment on some fairly obvious stuff, but really, I’d be overstepping the mark a bit if I started arguing with lads who attend most matches, training sessions etc. Like, just as an example off the top of my head, who would I be to say that Clare deployed a sweeper when they played Cork earlier in th championship? In fairness, I don’t think anyone in the TFK diaspora would go off on some tangent to spruik their superior knowledge of specific incidents or games when they’re only watching them in TV, thousands of kms away (well, maybe @[USER=193]balbec would, but we’d probably believe him) over the lads who were actually at it. I know chewy is an honorable member of the disapora, but he actually gets to the games, a privilige I don’t have.

Anyway, a humble thanks lads.[/quote]

what utter guff- GGA fans dont attend a lot of games, most Clare and Cork posters here have been to a couple of munster championship game and the AI final

I dont even like bogball and my pregame prediction was the most accurate

dont take this the wrong way mate but Id prefer if you posted about bogball rather than the A league where you are clueless

dick

fisty opened his heart there, he shouldnt be abused for that

Far less clubs in Clare than Cork so they might get more per club? Doubt. Club would get 500 though.

Only potential explanation I could think of is that the children’s tickets aren’t being distributed to clubs and you buy them elsewhere. Pure stab in the dark mind.

Sincerely doubt this game will be a sell out

Far less clubs in Clare than Cork so they might get more per club? Doubt. Club would get 500 though.

Only potential explanation I could think of is that the children’s tickets aren’t being distributed to clubs and you buy them elsewhere. Pure stab in the dark mind.

Sincerely doubt this game will be a sell out

[quote=“dancarter, post: 837435, member: 122”]Far less clubs in Clare than Cork so they might get more per club? Doubt. Club would get 500 though.

Sincerely doubt this game will be a sell out[/quote]

Not sure of the exact number but between both codes there is around 50 to 55 clubs in Clare. I would presume that there would be at least 4 times that in Cork

Three times.

[SIZE=4]‘Tactics have place, but we just go and play’[/SIZE]
Friday, September 27, 2013
Clare manager Davy Fitzgerald insists he will keep analysis nice and simple ahead of final replay
http://media.central.ie/media/images/e/Exam27092013GAA1_large.jpg
Picture: Sportsfile

By Diarmuid O’Flynn ALL-IRELAND SHC FINAL REPLAY:
Clare V Cork
Paralysis by analysis is a pretty common affliction, a state of inertia brought on when someone micro-analyses a situation to such an extent that they render themselves immobile.

There’s a perception out there that this is how Clare senior hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald operates, micro-analysis, micro-management, and that because of this he can bring his team to a state where they are simply unable to play.

Not true, he says, not even remotely true.

“Everyone else reads into stuff, we just go and play,” he said.

“We might throw two or three points at them, that’s all we do. People read so much into tactics, it’s crazy. We’ll have a meeting on Saturday night that will last about 10-12 minutes. We’ll go over stuff. It’s not going into massive depth.

“We’ll pick a few little things and let the boys off and express themselves and that will be the way it will go.”

One of the ‘little things’ Clare threw at Cork in the drawn All-Ireland final of three weeks ago was a return to convention. In their quarter-final and semi-final wins over Galway and Limerick respectively, Clare had used team captain Patrick Donnellan as a sweeper to great effect and it was widely expected they would do so again for the final. Instead, Clare went six backs, two midfielders, six up front and caught everyone off guard.

This week again the conjecture is rife. Will Clare do the same and go with the sweeper or will they come up with something completely different?

Grist to the mill where the media is concerned, of course, likewise for the supporters, as there’s plenty to discuss. It’s not about keeping Cork guessing though, says Davy.

“I try to look at the opposition and see what you’re playing and Cork are a very good ball team so you can read into that whatever you want to read into it. Cork are a really good ball team and I think they’re really good hurlers.”

This, he says, is why he didn’t play a sweeper the first day, not even in the final quarter when Clare were protecting a five-point lead.

“I know exactly how it would have gone and I’m not going to go into that now, I’ll tell you another day. All I’ll say to you is look back on a lot of games and where Cork get a lot of their scores from and it will answer that question for you because I’ve it [analysis] done.”

Cork are a free-scoring side is his point, many of those scores from long range, which would have made the sweeper redundant. Worse, he says, with an extra man in their own defence Cork would have had time to pick out their shots and pick out those who would take them.

“That [sweeper] would be inviting them on. They pick scores at will. You look at Patrick Horgan in the first half. Where did he get his score from [halfway, wide right]? If we do that they’re going to pick score after score after score.

“That’s only my opinion, maybe it could be different but you look at them, they’re able to shoot.”

It makes perfect sense, of course, and doesn’t involve any massive analysis either. Having seen Clare work that system for two consecutive games Cork would have prepared and probably would have countered it.

As it was, and again this probably came from simple analysis, Davy and his management felt full confidence in the ability of his six backs to do their job against the Cork attack. It worked too, worked a treat, the Clare half-back trio of Brendan Bugler, Patrick O’Connor and man of the match Conor Ryan totally dominant, the inside trio of Domhnall O’Donovan, Cian Dillon and David McInerney also having storming outings.

Three slips cost Clare, three goals conceded that were down as much to Cork genius as Clare error. And this is a good Cork team, Davy’s respect for them very evident.

“They could have ended up with five goals the last day and my own honest opinion is that they didn’t get the credit they deserved. I thought Cork played pretty decent, especially in the second half. I think they had only three or four wides.

“That shows any ball they had the last day, they used it pretty well. I know everyone is saying that Cork are going to play way better the next day. If they do, Jesus, we’re going to have to do some unmerciful rising of our game again so we will.

“What are Cork going to do? They’re going to get the ball and run at us every chance they get. They’re going to be going for goals and 21s and that’s what we expect is coming.

” If I remember right, I did an event with ye [media] before the league started and I said it to you then, I thought Cork would be in the shake-up. Go back and check it.

“I think they’ve decent hurlers down there, really decent, and they’ve shown it, they’ve beat some great teams this year.”

They’ll have to beat one more, however, if they’re to be crowned this year’s All-Ireland champions, and Clare will not be making it easy for them.

“We know them fierce well at this stage but I think we’re two hurling teams, very little dirty strokes between ourselves and Cork the last day, very little. We hurl, we go out, we work hard, two big work-ethics, but I also think there’s a lot of skill involved in both teams.

“Playing them a sixth time? Let the hurling do the talking out there and I think that’s a good way to be.”

[quote=“Fitzy, post: 837417, member: 236”]And these abominable sins I will take to the grave with me.

I think you’re hurting Kev. You’ve been called out so many times this week you can’t be taken seriously again.[/quote]

Why would I be hurting about being “called out”. In fact why would I be that concerned about what any of these couch potatoes think?

Says the man who pretends to have bought wedding invitations for a wedding that never happened from a company that never existed.

Ya, I’m the stupid one alright.

Good interview from Davy. Whatever about his game day antics the rest if his management seems spot on.

He is also right about cork. Their performance was much better than people are saying. As mentioned, they took their chances superbly.

The big thing for Clare is Davy doesn’t over rate his own team like the rest of the county.

Does anywhere know where I could find the drawn game on the internet? Have had a quick look on YouTube but it only has the highlights. @chewylouie have you any links?