Clare v Cork - GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship 2013 Final - Replay

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 838409, member: 273”]
Case closed.[/quote]

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 838411, member: 273”]Classic case of misinterpreting what I said, which you often do (conveniently most if the time).

It’s unfair in all the club players who have a ridiculously cramped championship now or possible a change from round robin to pure knock out (not sure how that played out). All caused by the ridiculous Senior hurling Championship.[/quote]
You mean the ridiculously good senior hurling championship that has raised hurling to unprecedented heights, both in terms of standard and media profile?

What a disaster it’s been for the game.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 838413, member: 183”]You mean the ridiculously good senior hurling championship that has raised hurling to unprecedented heights, both in terms of standard and media profile?

What a disaster it’s been for the game.[/quote]

FYI I added to that last post in an edit Sid.

So you think the quality if individual games should over ride the quality of competition and fairness of it not only on the competition itself but it’s affect on the club game.

You see Sid this is your failing, and that of many here, is you don’t understand what goes into actual playing and what components can actually improve the game further. You look at it completely from the armchair.

No amount of research can change that.

And Sid disappears.

Please let Ryanair let me on this flight '#bananas

[quote=“the man himself, post: 838306, member: 1766”]Something which I haven’t seen being mentioned anywhere is that the ref twice defied the rulebook and denied Cork two clear goalscoring chances by putting 21 yard frees a few yards behind the 21

Note: I said this before Donal Og Cusack did.[/quote]
Because the ref knew that Nash would rob ten yards.

Makes no difference because after we win Munster we will have a long break again.

fair fucks for making it as far as the airport anyway

For your own good, it would be better they don’t. There’s drinking to be done. Enjoy puke, that’s some fucking team, be very proud of them.

Davy Fitz outscored the great Jimmy Barry in the last two game, both tactically and in motivation. He showed up an awful lot of people this year and NO ONE else in the land could have achieved what he done with this young bunch of Clare hurlers so quick and so soon. He done good things with Waterford and now great things with Clare.
The man is a national treasure born and true and I hope the nation (including the likes of wtb and kc) start acknowledging him as one.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 838387, member: 273”]Seasons over fella. But he was correctly sent off. His stupidity may have cost Dublin a chance, but we’ll never know. Result is all that matters in knock out championship. The format didn’t help ye but looking back Limerick hadn’t a chance after the over the top reaction to winning Munster.

Cork and Clare had a high standard because they got a run of games. It’s actually difficult to judge anyone other than them and arguably Galway based on the championship format. The games have been great, but the competition itself if you stand back and take away the emotion of it is crap.

If hurling really wants to grow properly it has to change.[/quote]
Crikey. I agree with this.

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 838407, member: 246”]Whatever is good for Pat Fitz is good for Clare.
Fuck it ta’ hell, they’ll abandon the championship altogether, rightly so.

A month of drink and carousing and roll on 2014.[/quote]
I suspect that these lads will be rightly celebrated and it will, as it should, be taken as an honour to play against them in the club championship. If it were galway, they would have every thug with a hurl trying to beat it out of them.

[quote=“Lazarus, post: 838428, member: 286”]Davy Fitz outscored the great Jimmy Barry in the last two game, both tactically and in motivation. He showed up an awful lot of people this year and NO ONE else in the land could have achieved what he done with this young bunch of Clare hurlers so quick and so soon. He done good things with Waterford and now great things with Clare.
The man is a national treasure born and true and I hope the nation (including the likes of wtb and kc) start acknowledging him as one.[/quote]

Let’s not go too far now.

I agree he won the battle on the line. I would be slightly disappointed with some of Corks appetite. Some of it is physical preperation some of it mental. Cork have massive scope for improvement.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 838435, member: 273”]Cork have massive scope for improvement.[/quote]what planet are you on? Patrick Horgan is the only lad that would make the Clare squad, its a miracle they were so close to Clare in both games, (thank the ref again). This Cork side is a very poor side, Dublin and Limerick are far better teams

I’ll have to disagree with you there Glas. Munster is a dog fight and on any given day every side can beat each other. Avoiding a Munster quarter final draw is all I hope for from Thursday’s draw. Shortest route possible = less chance of slipping up. Wexford nearly took Clare out in a qualifier a few weeks ago.

The run of games certainly did help Clare this summer, they built momentum up but they are deserved champions.

Clare got better with every game this year, and they will get even better next year, they are winners, its bred into them with the under-age success they have had. This victory came 2 or 3 years earlier than expected

Very true. The 2 beaten All Ireland semi finalists are nearly always the best teams alright. It’s the structure

This Clare side is surely the most skilful to ever win the All Ireland final.

Will any of the footballers come back to the hurling fold? I don’t like Cadogan’s antics on a GAA pitch (mouthing off, cheap digs etc) but someone like him or Cahalane could possibly have got in O’Donnell’s face and stopped his influence.

Aidan Walsh seems to have nailed his colours to the football set-up. I’ve only ever seen him play hurling once in the flesh - 2011 Munster u-21 final - but any lad who can pluck puck-outs from the air like that has to be considered a loss if unavailable.

Paudie O’Sullivan will be a big addition when he is back.