Clare v Cork - GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship 2013 Final - Replay

Nicky Rackard did it and Tony Wall wrote about how you could do it in his book “Hurling”.

As for the so called intensity of the 2009 final, the two goals were pure shit. Martin Comerford had the centre of the defence wide open for him but didn’t have the balls to go for it himself and instead passed to Richie Power who was in a worse position and not fouled for the penalty.

Then for the second Comerford wasn’t marked and could hardly have missed.

Intensity :rolleyes:

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 839174, member: 1137”]Mup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilp5cP9-kq8

One of the lads shouts out ‘lovely fingerin there bug’ twice

What’s the story behind them calling Donnellan “Paddy Problems”? He comes across as a fairly studious, intense sort. Are they just ripping the piss out of him for this?

The greatest ever

[quote=“Sidney, post: 839195, member: 183”]Nicky Rackard did it and Tony Wall wrote about how you could do it in his book “Hurling”.

As for the so called intensity of the 2009 final, the two goals were pure shit. Martin Comerford had the centre of the defence wide open for him but didn’t have the balls to go for it himself and instead passed to Richie Power who was in a worse position and not fouled for the penalty.

Intensity :rolleyes:[/quote]
the Kilkenny-Tipp games were like the 1990 world cup final in soccer, the 2013 All Ireland Hurling finals were unbelievable games, a roller-coaster of emotion

Agreed, that 2009 final was good but nowhere near either of this year’s. You knew KK were going to win regardless of what Tipp threw at them. With a couple of mins left on Sat I still thought Cork could clinch a draw. Best final I can remember, I’d have the 1990 final 2nd behind it from a neutrals point of view.

Kilkenny played a rubbish brand of physcial defensive hurling compared to the classic, sexy hurling Clare and Cork produced

I am tired emotional and off to the mills, whoo hoo hoo

Kelly’s pick up at 6:16 :clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=1J40glvVdxo#t=370

Glorius!!!

http://www.joe.ie/tweet-of-the-day/hilarious-tweet-appears-on-all-ireland-hero-shane-odonnells-twitter-account/

How much is an all Ireland worth to the local economy?

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 839329, member: 1137”]Kelly’s pick up at 6:16 :clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=1J40glvVdxo#t=370

Glorius!!![/quote]

Rolls Royce

[quote=“Sidney, post: 839195, member: 183”]Nicky Rackard did it and Tony Wall wrote about how you could do it in his book “Hurling”.

Intensity :rolleyes:[/quote]

:rolleyes: Two incidents in the last 5 minutes when Tipp were down to 14 men and out on their feet, intensity indeed.

I posted earlier in the season that Darren Sweetnam was a massive loss to Cork

These times you kind of need 3 quality midfield players such is the pace of the game and the need for impact subs.

Cork were crying out for him at midfield in the All Ireland finals. They hadn’t a man to make much of an impact there when Kearney\McLaughlin tired or didn’t perform. He made an impact for Cork last year as a sub at less than 19 years of age. Imagine how better he would have been this year. I am surprised how little his loss gets mentioned

He better make it at Munster rugby after missing out on these all Ireland finals!

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839415, member: 1379”]I posted earlier in the season that Darren Sweetnam was a massive loss to Cork

These times you kind of need 3 quality midfield players such is the pace of the game and the need for impact subs.

Cork were crying out for him at midfield in the All Ireland finals. They hadn’t a man to make much of an impact there when Kearney\McLaughlin tired or didn’t perform. He made an impact for Cork last year as a sub at less than 19 years of age. Imagine how better he would have been this year. I am surprised how little his loss gets mentioned

He better make it at Munster rugby after missing out on these all Ireland finals![/quote]
But why mention a young lad who went off playing Rugby as a loss in the first place? He wasn’t told to fuck off.

I do not believe it unreasonable to mention it bearing in mind Cork were found to be thin on talented resources in an area he showed great promise in. There used to be a ban in the GAA for playing or attending a rugby match 43 years ago. I didn’t realise that there was a ban in 2013 on mentioning a rugby player who recently had GAA involvement

You are right in of course in that he wasn’t told fuck off

[quote=“Bandage, post: 839156, member: 9”]Was watching the game back on TV on Saturday night and at one stage midway through the first half Canning and Duignan incorrectly informed the viewers which Cork backs were picking up the Clare forwards. No wonder people watching on TV often end up making inaccurate conclusions about individual battles won etc.

And at the other end Cork’s forwards were lined up in a 3-1-2 with a traditional half forward line of Harnedy-McCarthy-Lehane, Horgan playing centrally around the D around 30 yards out and then Cronin and O’Farrell inside.

Harnedy likes to make crossfield darts inside (like for Cork’s opening point) so it made for a fair bit of congestion in the middle, especially with them going long to Cronin a lot and the ball breaking down in that central area.

Clare had Dillon and McInerney on Cronin and O’Farrell respectively with Pat O’Connor on Horgan. O’Donovan followed Lehane out and Bugler moved inside on McCarthy with Conor Ryan on Harnedy again.

I was interested to see Clare changing the match ups in the second half when O’Farrell was called ashore.[/quote]

It was obvious in TV as well bandage who the Cork players picked up. AFter 3-4 mins it was obvious. The beauty of it though is I didn’t really hear a commentary of the game.

Honda 50

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 839422, member: 1379”]I do not believe it unreasonable to mention it bearing in mind Cork were found to be thin on talented resources in an area he showed great promise in. There used to be a ban in the GAA for playing or attending a rugby match 43 years ago. I didn’t realise that there was a ban in 2013 on mentioning a rugby player who recently had GAA involvement

You are right in of course in that he wasn’t told fuck off[/quote]
There is no ban. But it is an irrelevant topic when the lad chose Rugby.

Fantastic season finished by two outrageously good finals.

Ckare clearly the better hurlers and would have hammered most other sides. Corks sheer guts contributed hugely to making the finals so special.
Lot of class from the cork fans after the game which was the consensus among most clare people. You wil always meet the odd few kevin type eejits or the more bitter proc type fools of course.
This shite about 09/10 is utterly irrelevant.
Many of the people that would have gone to a cork homecoming were in dublin supporting the ladies I expect.