Are you not a failed member of the middle class yourself, mate?
[quote=āSidney, post: 840586, member: 183ā]Clubs in working class areas bar Ballymun have nearly all struggled.
Erinās Isle provided the backbone of the Dublin team in the 1990s but havenāt really been a force at all since then.
In the 80s and 90s the key players on the Dublin football team were mostly of solid working class background. Barr, Redmond, Deegan, Murphy, McNally, Heery, Clarke, Moran etc. As the city gentrified so did the make up of the team.[/quote]
true
Ballymun in football and Na Fianna ( football and hurling) are motoring well. Na Fianna getting players from Isles territory now and Isles in demise. Isles must not be as well organised. Too many players from the their successful 1990s teams ended up living in Navan, Dunboyne, Ashbourne, newer parts of Blanchardstown and their kids play there now. For instance Keith Barr runs the Brigids under 15s hurling and football. Very good teams - his son plays.
[quote=ākerry1891, post: 840591, member: 1379ā]true
Ballymun in football and Na Fianna ( football and hurling) are motoring well. Na Fianna getting players from Isles territory now and Isles in demise. Isles must not be as well organised. Too many players from the their successful 1990s teams ended up living in Navan, Dunboyne, Ashbourne, newer parts of Blanchardstown and their kids play there now. For instance Keith Barr runs the Brigids under 15s hurling and football. Very good teams - his son plays.[/quote]
yeah I heard barrĀ“s team are very goodā¦i thought i heard one of the parents paid for the team to go to la manga or one of those training camps in Spain/Portugal before they played in Feile na gael?..madnessā¦i believe Barr and Gerry Mcentee have a big say in Brigids futureā¦who would have thought the two boys working in sweet harmony when you saw them kick lumps out of eachother for years in crokerā¦
Where does Barr live these days? I know he used to live in Lucan. Is he still there?
[quote=ākerry1891, post: 840591, member: 1379ā]true
Ballymun in football and Na Fianna ( football and hurling) are motoring well. Na Fianna getting players from Isles territory now and Isles in demise. Isles must not be as well organised. Too many players from the their successful 1990s teams ended up living in Navan, Dunboyne, Ashbourne, newer parts of Blanchardstown and their kids play there now. For instance Keith Barr runs the Brigids under 15s hurling and football. Very good teams - his son plays.[/quote]
Isles never had much underage in fairnessā¦well not for a long timeā¦they got some mileage out of that team barrs,deegan and redmond were onā¦i rember hearing they palyed something like 45 championship matches and only lost about 4 over a period of 5 or 6 years i thinkā¦they lost about 3 county finals and an All ireland club final in that timeā¦
Did Barr briefly play for the Garda club at the end of his playing days or am I dreaming that up?
yesā¦him and johnny went there for a short timeā¦
Johnny Barr playing for the Guards. Oh the irony.
[quote=āSidney, post: 840586, member: 183ā]Clubs in working class areas bar Ballymun have nearly all struggled.
Erinās Isle provided the backbone of the Dublin team in the 1990s but havenāt really been a force at all since then.
In the 80s and 90s the key players on the Dublin football team were mostly of solid working class background. Barr, Redmond, Deegan, Murphy, McNally, Heery, Clarke, Moran etc. As the city gentrified so did the make up of the team.[/quote]
i donĀ“t think it was a class thingā¦it was more politicalā¦there was definitely favouritism towards northside teams for donkeys yearsā¦
In the real āworking classā areas that are left GAA is a complete afterthought. Lads will go to the hill and hang up a bit of bunting but fuck all play it. The likes of finglas, inchicore, ballyfermot were forgotten about by the GAA. The full time GPOs are trying to fight back but it might be too late. Pity when you see how fucking good the games are, hurling in particular. Pity too because the GAA would be a real chance for these areas to take local pride in their areas away from the free for all transfer happy grassroots soccer scene.
I see Gerlock has the tipp crowd badly rattled by his interview:clap:
Evidence of rattledness?
Todays Examiner. The Tipp chairman made a statement about it:D
Stage 3 rattled
[quote=āchewy louie, post: 840639, member: 1137ā]Todays Examiner. The Tipp chairman made a statement about it:D
Stage 3 rattled[/quote]
http://examiner.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/tipp-boss-takes-swing-at-loughnane-over-snide-remarks-245065.html
Heās seething
Loughnane
Sow it into those cunts.
That is one for the dressing room door for Cork next year.
Oh itās unbelievable how they carry on. It is really amazing that Ireland being such a small place can produce people of such varying attitudes and cultures. I mean the difference between Limerick and Clare and Galway and Kerry people is baffling. Stark differences.
Clare are doing all the same things they did in the 90ās. If Davy doesnāt ruin this team the rest of Clare are having a real good shot off it.
You read back on Donegal, Cork, Armagh, Dublin or Galway and the stories and way the people speak about the celebrations. Bring the cup to this person and that person thanking all the people who helped along the way etc. all Clare seem to do is bad mouth other teams, have poorly disguised shots at other teams, mock the team they beat in final. How many in a row will we win, weāre the best All Ireland winning team ever. The manager is spending the week shouting āme me me me me, look at meā. Itās truly amazing.
Ger warming the tipp lads upā¦I think I know the draw in Munster before its even made
Loughnaneās comments were retarded to be fair. We got to the AI final in 2011 and won two Munster titles in a row after 2010. Also Tipp have never and well never disappear for 80 years. Oh sorry I forgot that hurling was invented in 1995.