Club Championships 2009

Jesus didn’t realise Portroe are in the north semi finals, fair play to them they wouldn’t have much of a pick…Would Upperchurch beating Sars be much of a shock, although I hear they have been strong underage the past few years

My contacts in Mid Tipp tell me it was a big shock alright. I was looking at prices of the games at the weekend and Sars were 2/7 to win.

Upperchurch winning would be a major shock alright, Sarsfields still in the County though.
10 years ago Upperchurch would have been playing Drom in intermediate, good progress made by both clubs.

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Last weekend’s hurling results -

MID TIPPERARY
Senior Hurling Championship Semi-Finals
Drom-Inch 2-15 1-10 Loughmore-Castleiney
Upperchurch-Drombane 1-16 Thurles Sarsfields 1-14

Drom-Inch and Upperchurch-Drombane in Mid Final

NORTH TIPPERARY
Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Finals
Borris-Ileigh 2-17 Kildangan 3-13
Toomevara 2-22 Kilruane MacDonaghs 3-13

North Semi-Finals - To be played next weekend.

Portroe Vs Toomevara
Nenagh ire g Vs Borris-Ileigh

WEST TIPPERARY
SHC.
Golden/Kilfeacle 1-17 ire g Anacarthy 1-11

West Semi-Finals - To be played next weekend.

Clonoulty/Rossmore v Golden/Kilfeacle
Cappawhite v Knockavilla Kickhams

SOUTH TIPPERARY

Mullinahone 1-15 Carrick Swans 1-13
Killenaule 3-18 Ballybacongrange 1-9

Killenaule and Mullinahone in South Final

COUNTY TIPPERARY

Seamus O Riain Cup Round (1)( For teams that didn’t make their divisional semi-finals)

Boherlahan Dualla 1-16 Ballingarry 0-10
Moneygall 1-16 Holycross Ballycahill 2-08
Lorrha/Dorrha 3-17 Cashel King Cormacks 1-09
Roscrea 1-10 Burgess 1-07
J K Brackens 0-17 Templederry/Kenyons 1-12

Seamus O Riain Cup Round (2) Quarter Finals
Boherlahan Dualla
J K Brackens
Moycarkey Borris
Lorrha/Dorrha
Moneygall
Roscrea
Kilruane MacDonaghs
Kildangan or Eire g Anacarty

Draws for the above will be held within the next week and notified to clubs

Dan Breen Cup Round (1)
The following teams will take part in the first round of the Dan Breen Cup
Loughmore Castleiney
Thurles Sarsfields
Ballybacon Grange
Carrick Swans

Four more will join this list at the weekend with the runners up from the divisional finals to follow after the finals are played to bring the total in round (1) to twelve[/QUOTE]

Delete this tripe.

Nobody gives a fiddling fuck about what happened in Tipp.

Laois senior hurling kicks off this weekend, big names kept apart so far, although Kilcotton and Rathdowney Errill should be decent enough, 'Cotton have been knocking on the door for a while now. Portlaoise and Tinnahinch could be interesting, depending on how interested the hinch lads are.

Camross v St Fintans Mountrath
Portlaoise v Tinnahinch
Kilcotton v Rathdowney/Erill
Ballinakill v Ballyfin Gaels
Castletown v Colt

Intermediate kicks off too, but I’ll spare you all that.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois senior hurling kicks off this weekend, big names kept apart so far, although Kilcotton and Rathdowney Errill should be decent enough, 'Cotton have been knocking on the door for a while now. Portlaoise and Tinnahinch could be interesting, depending on how interested the hinch lads are.

Portlaoise v Tinnahinch
Castletown v Colt

Intermediate kicks off too, but I’ll spare you all that.[/QUOTE]

I’d say things will kick off alright :pint:

Fuck off you with your lazy stereotypes! :pint:

My predictions-

Camross v St Fintans Mountrath - Match abandoned
Portlaoise v Tinnahinch - Match abandoned
Kilcotton v Rathdowney/Erill - Match abandoned
Ballinakill v Ballyfin Gaels - Draw
Castletown v Colt - Match abandoned

[quote=“Pikeman”]My predictions-

Camross v St Fintans Mountrath - Match abandoned
Portlaoise v Tinnahinch - Match abandoned
Kilcotton v Rathdowney/Erill - Match abandoned
Ballinakill v Ballyfin Gaels - Draw
Castletown v Colt - Match abandoned[/QUOTE]

:pint:

I think I’d take the Laois Cships over the shambolic organisation of the one in Wexford thank you very much. :pint:

[quote=“The Dunph”]Delete this tripe.

Nobody gives a fiddling fuck about what happened in Tipp.[/QUOTE]

:guns:Delete it yourself, aren’t you admin.

Campion Sparrow Senior Hurling Championship Group A
Portlaoise 6-18 1-13 Tinnahinch
Castletown 1-12 0-16 Colt
Campion Sparrow Senior Hurling Championship Group B
Ballinakill 3-15 0-12 Ballyfin Gaels
Campion Sparrow Senior Hurling Championship Group C
Camross 0-18 0-14 St. Fintans/Mountrath
Campion Sparrow Senior Hurling Championship Group D
Kilcotton 0-12 3-15 Rathdowney/Errill

Campion Sparrow Insurance Intermediate Hurling Championship Group A
Clonad 3-14 1-11 Clough/Ballacolla
Campion Sparrow Insurance Intermediate Hurling Championship Group B
Borris In Ossory 1-9 0-8 Camross
Campion Sparrow Insurance Intermediate Hurling Championship Group C
Clonaslee St Manmans 1-16 2-9 Rathdowney/Errill
Campion Sparrow Insurance Intermediate Hurling Championship Group D
Ballyfin 4-17 0-9 Rosenallis

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois senior hurling kicks off this weekend, big names kept apart so far, although Kilcotton and Rathdowney Errill should be decent enough, 'Cotton have been knocking on the door for a while now. Portlaoise and Tinnahinch could be interesting, depending on how interested the hinch lads are.

Portlaoise v Tinnahinch
Castletown v Colt

Intermediate kicks off too, but I’ll spare you all that.[/QUOTE]

Proper time to start a championship. Is it commonly known that this is when the hurling starts MBB, or is that just this year?

Laois are in year two of a 2 year trial program regarding Club fixtures Kev. Start them now and you wont be waiting 2 months from round 1 to round 2. This way Club players can aim for now, and get a clear run at the year. Leagues are elongated to keep things competitive up until now.

Dunno if it will be kept for next year, but at least they’re trying something new.

Portlaoise handed Tinnahinch their arses over the weekend, things not going very well over there in the 'Hinch by all accounts. Hinch are an amalgamation of 2 clubs, Clonaslee and Rosenallis. James Young would be the marquee player, but having contested a few finals and never winning one, this amalgamation may have run its course.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois are in year two of a 2 year trial program regarding Club fixtures Kev. Start them now and you wont be waiting 2 months from round 1 to round 2. This way Club players can aim for now, and get a clear run at the year. Leagues are elongated to keep things competitive up until now.

Dunno if it will be kept for next year, but at least they’re trying something new.

.[/QUOTE]

Its what people are crying out for here in Cork. The club forum brought out its report last week, things could crank up over the winter again. We won on the 12th of April, we’re playing the next round on the 30th of August.:clap:

Cooraclare brought Kilmurrey Ilbrikane winning streak in clare to an end at the weekend by beating them in the Cusack Cup final, is this the beginning of the end for the roasters from Mullagh and Cree…Well done Cooraclare they have made serious strides this year…

Broadford qualified for the semi’s of the Clare Cup, while Whitegate grabbed the second promotion place from 2a to division 1…

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois are in year two of a 2 year trial program regarding Club fixtures Kev. Start them now and you wont be waiting 2 months from round 1 to round 2. This way Club players can aim for now, and get a clear run at the year. Leagues are elongated to keep things competitive up until now.

Portlaoise handed Tinnahinch their arses over the weekend, things not going very well over there in the 'Hinch by all accounts. Hinch are an amalgamation of 2 clubs, Clonaslee and Rosenallis. James Young would be the marquee player, but having contested a few finals and never winning one, this amalgamation may have run its course.[/QUOTE]

Easy for a no mark county like Laois to plan like that as they don’t have to concern themselves with co teams getting into semi finals and holding things up until late August.

Any fool could predict that Laois would be fucked out of the senior championships by mid July and but for a ridiculous anomaly in the SHC “system” the hurlers would’ve been gone a week earlier.

However, even in an unsuccessful county like Wexford, while not winning anything have been competing in All Ireland semi finals on a regular basis (01, 03,04, 07,08) at both codes making it impossible to plan fixtures.

[quote=“The Dunph”]Delete this tripe.

Nobody gives a fiddling fuck about what happened in Tipp.[/QUOTE]

:smiley: :clap: :clap:

[quote=“Appendage”]Easy for a no mark county like Laois to plan like that as they don’t have to concern themselves with co teams getting into semi finals and holding things up until late August.

Any fool could predict that Laois would be fucked out of the senior championships by mid July and but for a ridiculous anomaly in the SHC “system” the hurlers would’ve been gone a week earlier.

However, even in an unsuccessful county like Wexford, while not winning anything have been competing in All Ireland semi finals on a regular basis (01, 03,04, 07,08) at both codes making it impossible to plan fixtures.[/QUOTE]

Aye, I suppose we dont have relegation play offs to b worrying about in July.

At least Galway can concentrate on finishing out their club championships now, useless cunts that they are.

Last weekend’s hurling results -

MID TIPPERARY

Drom-Inch and Upperchurch-Drombane in Mid Final

NORTH TIPPERARY

Portroe 1-14 Toomevara 1-12
Nenagh ire g 1-16 Borris-Ileigh 0-08

Portroe and Nenagh ire g in North Final

WEST TIPPERARY

Clonoulty/Rossmore 2-16 Golden/Kilfeacle 0-11
Cappawhite 3-15 Knockavilla Kickhams 1-14

Clonoulty/Rossmore and Cappawhite in West Final

SOUTH TIPPERARY

Killenaule and Mullinahone in South Final

COUNTY TIPPERARY

Seamus O Riain Cup Round (1)( For teams that didn’t make their divisional semi-finals)

Kildangan 1-15 Eire g Annacarty 2-09

Seamus O Riain Cup Round (2) Quarter Finals Draw
Moneygall v Roscrea
Moycarkey Borris v Kilruane MacDonaghs
Boherlahan Dualla v Lorrha Dorrha
Kildangan v J K Brackens

Dan Breen Cup Round (1)
The following teams will take part in the first round of the Dan Breen Cup
Loughmore Castleiney
Thurles Sarsfields
Ballybacon Grange
Carrick Swans
Toomevara
Borris-Ileigh
Golden/Kilfeacle
Knockavilla Kickhams

Runners up from the divisional finals to follow after the finals are played to bring the total in round (1) to twelve