i presume, realistically, he had won all he was going to at the football. nothing left to do and all that.
he’d be another in a growing trend (excluding the dubs) to prefer the small ball.
did he ever line out for the county in the other code?
i presume, realistically, he had won all he was going to at the football. nothing left to do and all that.
he’d be another in a growing trend (excluding the dubs) to prefer the small ball.
did he ever line out for the county in the other code?
[quote=“treaty_exile”]i presume, realistically, he had won all he was going to at the football. nothing left to do and all that.
did he ever line out for the county in the other code?[/quote]
My next door neighbour is a Kilmaley man and he reackons Lynch was an equally top class footballer. I believe he did play a little with them…Puke to confirm. Could have been U-21 or something.
[quote=“treaty_exile”]i presume, realistically, he had won all he was going to at the football. nothing left to do and all that.
did he ever line out for the county in the other code?[/quote]
Think he played underage for the county alright, don’t think he played senior…Frank Lohan represented clare are senior level in the football alright, while Brian O’Connell is as good a footballer in the county at the moment but would have no interest in playing for the county I would say
Last round of the Limerick Senior football championship is due to go ahead this weekend. Starting with A big clash between Drom and Fr Caseys tomorrow night, but with the way the weather has gone it wouldn’t surprise me if no games went ahead.
only ever saw him play football twice for Lissycasey and both days he was immense at centre back for them alright…He played a good long time with them, think he won both an intermedaite title in the early 90’s with them and a senior title 4 or 5 years ago…
Ya our Minor match tonight is off. Nothing we can do, the weather is brutal, and it wouldn’t be enjoyable or good football anyway.
But i had them humming sunday in training, and i really felt we’d win tonight. Its a bollix trying to get yourself going again now.
Was supposed to have a soccr match tonight but twas called off over the weather, hasn’t stopped raining all fucking day…
We were supposed to have training tonight but it was called off over the weather. We’re down to play Friday night, but half hoping it’ll be off because 1, we have a very depleted side and 2, it’s down for a shit venue.
Rathkeale?
Runty, did you ever come up against Breska(sp) in the desmond league, are they any good?
You’d do well to play a game in “The Bog Garden” at the moment. They have the whole lot of it dug up for the past year, doing a big drainage job on it.
Glin was the aforementioned venue.
It always rains in Glin. Always.
Ya, played against em twice last year. Think the scorelines were 8-0 and 3-1 to us. They wouldn’t be the worst though, have a few tidy players but they often struggle to get commitment from lads.
Lad i know has signed for them said he never played with a bigger shower of shapers…would know a couple of the lads playing for them and they think they are the business
Ya, that’d be about right. Wanna be townies.
What are the refs like in yer leagues lads (soccer). Most of them in Cork AUL are between ok and shite altogether.
Clare league the standard varies, there would be 4 or 5 very good refs, the rest would be average to poor…
I think they are ok, but I’m not really sure is that opinion just me being resigned to the fact that they are going to give 3 or 4 ridiculous decisions a game.
Ya, they are not helped by the fact that they don’t have linesmen i suppose. I played centre half for a good lash of my soccer career and would call the most ridiculous “How is he ref’s”, and rarely get caught out.
Played MSL though and its a different ball game altogether. Not only are the little strikers faster, the refs are way sharper, got well fucked first few matches. But they sometimes had linesmen as well. I learned to play from behind.
Lifted this from Professor Honeydew over on Hoganstand because I’m too lazy to do any previews myself and I agree with all his perdicitions.
Last round of SFC
Ballysteen are already through to the semi-finals and Drom are just a point away. As regards the two quarter-finalists from each group, Newcatlewest, Adare, Claughaun and Pallasgreen are all in with a chance in Group 2 while Fr. Caseys, St. Senan’s and Ballylanders are fighting it out in Group 1. Barring mathematical miracles, Hospital and Kierans look like contesting the relegation final.
SFC Group 1, Round 5, Dromcollogher-Broadford v Father Casey’s, Newcastlewest, Thursday 6:30pm
Drom have stuttered against Abbeyfeale before but, with the champions needing a draw to ensure direct qualification to the last four, they won’t be in any mood for favours. Caseys may have one eye on the scoreboard as they may still qualify in defeat due to their 13 point score difference advantage over Ballylanders.
Prediction: Dromcollogher-Broadford
SFC Group 2, Round 5, Claughaun v Pallasgreen, (was Caherconlish but looking for an alternative venue), Friday 6:30pm
After impressive wins over Adare and St. Kierans, Claughaun were brought back to earth against Ballysteen. Pallas looked like they might have beaten Adare last time out but were blown out of it after the break. If Newcastle fall to Ballysteen, a win or a draw will see the Hoops through while Pallas must win to keep their hopes alive. Could go any way but Pallas have done well since their promotion to senior three years ago.
Prediction: Pallasgreen
SFC Group 2, Round 5, Adare v Saint Kieran’s, Askeaton, Friday 6:30pm
After losing their first two games, Adare looked to be washed up as a result of dual commitment but were reignited by a draw against Newcastle and victory over Pallas. If results elsewhere go their way, another win here could see them grab an unlikely place in the quarter-finals. It has been another disappointing season for Kierans and the biggest question may be the margin of Adare’s victory and its effect on score differences.
Prediction: Adare
SFC Group 2, Round 5, Ballysteen v Newcastlewest, Glin, Friday 6:30pm
Ballysteen have already topped the group and will be keen to preserve their 100% record. However, that may not be as motivating as Newcastle’s requirement to avoid defeat and ensure their quarter-final place. Even a narow defeat can keep their hopes alive.
Prediction: Newcastlewest
SFC Group 1, Round 5, Ballylanders v Monaleen, Kilmallock, Saturday 6:30pm
Ballylanders have thirteen points to catch up on Abbeyfeale and will know exactly where they stand before they take to the field as their rivals are playing two nights earlier. Safe from relegation but with no chance of making the quarter-finals, Monaleen have nothing to play for as they round off a second successive season of disappointment.
Prediction: Ballylanders
SFC Group 1, Round 5, Saint Senan’s v Hospital-Herbertstown, Ballingarry, Tuesday 6:30pm
Unless Monaleen lose by at least seven goals three nights earlier, Hospital will be condemned to the relegation play-off before they take to the field. Senans will need a win to leap-frog their way over Ballylanders or Abbeyfeale for a place in the quarter-finals. Form, motivation, Ian Ryan, Conor Mullane and the very effective presence of Chris Hayes in midfield all point to only one outcome.
Prediction: Saint Senan’s
The Limerick Championship seems to run along fairly smoothly over a fixed period of time. Does it get affected by hurling or visa versa or whats the story?