Club Championships 2009

The Runt seems to know this guy, could be the same nut job.

I know nothing of noddy.

Championship starts in Kilkenny this Weekend

Senior 1st rd.

Erins Own v Fenians
Carrickshock v St Martins
YOung Irelands v Dunnamaggin(relegation semi/1st rd)
Tullaroan v Graigue/Bcallan (relegation semi/1st rd)

Intermediate 1st round

Conahy Shamrocks v Glenmore
Mooncoin v Mullinavat
Tullagher/Rosbrcn v Thomastown(rel semi/1st rd)
Emeralds v Graiguenamanagh (rel semi/1st rd)

Senior League fnal
Ballyhale Shamrocks v James Stephens

Senior shield final
O Loughlin Gaels v Clara

Intermediate League Final
Danesfort V Rower/Inistioge

Intermediate Shield Final
St Lachtains v Dicksboro

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Newtownshandrum sent out a chilling messege yesterday when hammering a young exciting Barrs team, 2-23 to 3-09. The Barrs in fairness had 11 U-21’s in their panel including 3 starting Minors. Newtown have added a bit of youth as well and their good U21’s like Clifford and Herlihy have come on a ton. The passing and accuracy was scaryily good.
Sars are still favourites, but they are tiring a little, and more success in the U21 isn’t helping in the sense they are playing big games all the time again like last year, wheras Newtown are having it easy U-21 and have less U-21’s anyway.
Of course CIT are a very dangerous team in the semi for Sars, so its fairly open as yet.

Valley Rovers won (as i predicted) the Intermediate Hurling title yesterday, to add to last years Football equivilant. They were cruising, but Kilworth (Band-it-age country) made a fight of it and there was only 3 in it in the end. Eamon Collins continues to show impressive form for Valleys. They should win the Premier Intermediate Football as well, and are generally on a roll.[/quote]

thought ryan clifford would have played for CIT.
presume he only togs out in red and white for the fitzgibbon so kev?

[quote=“treaty_exile”]thought ryan clifford would have played for CIT.
presume he only togs out in red and white for the fitzgibbon so kev?[/quote]

Ya, if your club are Senior in Cork you have to tog out for them, there is no choice. Don’t think its ever been an issue anyway, we’re pretty loyal to our clubs down here.:smiley:

If the guy is from outside Cork though he can play at any level. Technically say if Mulhall from James Stephans won the county there, and with UCC he could end up playing himself in an All-Ireland club final.:smiley:
Think there was some time recently when something like this was very close to happeneing, in leinster club football maybe, UCD were involved i think.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ya, if your club are Senior in Cork you have to tog out for them, there is no choice. Don’t think its ever been an issue anyway, we’re pretty loyal to our clubs down here.:smiley:

If the guy is from outside Cork though he can play at any level. Technically say if Mulhall from James Stephans won the county there, and with UCC he could end up playing himself in an All-Ireland club final.:smiley:
Think there was some time recently when something like this was very close to happeneing, in leinster club football maybe, UCD were involved i think.[/quote]

I think I remember Tommy Stack playing two grades in the one year way back when UL were in the senior football. Junior A for Drom and Senior for UL. I could be wrong though.

Ah that happens all the time, the whole CIT team play for someone else in Junior or Intermediate.

What i was saying was there was a guy playing for UCD (or someone i can’t quite remember) and UCD won the Dublin championship. He also played with his club in Wicklow or Wexford or somewhere, and they also won the Senior club championship, they could have met in Leinster, but didn’t in the end.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ah that happens all the time, the whole CIT team play for someone else in Junior or Intermediate.

What i was saying was there was a guy playing for UCD (or someone i can’t quite remember) and UCD won the Dublin championship. He also played with his club in Wicklow or Wexford or somewhere, and they also won the Senior club championship, they could have met in Leinster, but didn’t in the end.[/quote]

YEah, think it was in 2000-Red Barry and Doc O Connor won county medals with St. Annes and UCD. Think they did anyway.

Also they would have won 3 county medals as they won the Senior football with Anne’s that year too.
Was it Red and Doc anyone remember?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ah that happens all the time, the whole CIT team play for someone else in Junior or Intermediate.

What i was saying was there was a guy playing for UCD (or someone i can’t quite remember) and UCD won the Dublin championship. He also played with his club in Wicklow or Wexford or somewhere, and they also won the Senior club championship, they could have met in Leinster, but didn’t in the end.[/quote]

Actually I think he won both counties that year. He hardly has a wiki page I could check it out on!

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Championship starts in Kilkenny this Weekend

Senior 1st rd.

Erins Own v Fenians
Carrickshock v St Martins
YOung Irelands v Dunnamaggin(relegation semi/1st rd)
Tullaroan v Graigue/Bcallan (relegation semi/1st rd)

Intermediate 1st round

Conahy Shamrocks v Glenmore
Mooncoin v Mullinavat
Tullagher/Rosbrcn v Thomastown(rel semi/1st rd)
Emeralds v Graiguenamanagh (rel semi/1st rd)

Senior League fnal
Ballyhale Shamrocks v James Stephens

Senior shield final
O Loughlin Gaels v Clara

Intermediate League Final
Danesfort V Rower/Inistioge

Intermediate Shield Final
St Lachtains v Dicksboro[/quote]

Any chance of a preview of the senior games Link? Made a good few quid last year betting on KK club hurling, not up there as often this year so not as in touch with whats happening.

Will ye beat Danesfort?

ucd and ballyboden both to win on thursday and friday night repectively in football 1/4 finals…both 8/11…:thumbsup:

Didn’t you predict UCD to loose to Marys the other day???

team news has come through since kev…and its on in parnell which won’t suit marys…

Paddy O’Brien won a county with Toomevara and UCD in the same year, he had to declare for one or the other in the provincial championship.

Thats the one i remember actually.

Mullane facing suspension

John Mullane faces a suspension after being sent off for striking in a club game last Saturday.

Mullane, playing for his club De La Salle, was sent off after only nine minutes of their Waterford SHC quarter-final against Ballygunnar for striking in retaliation.

The match ended in a draw with the sides scoring 0-17 each and Mullane is now set to miss the decider.

Mullane had an outstanding season for Waterford at corner-forward and is a favourite for an All-Star nomination this year to give him a chance to add to his award in 2003.

Previously any suspension, no matter at what level it was received, prevented players from being nominated for an All Star.

But that rule no longer applies and any ban Mullane should receive won’t affect his chances of winning another award this year.

brian barry of dikcboro won a senior with UCD and chose to play with them instead of his club who i think went on to win an intermediate all-ireland…

No need for a speech, they wrote it for us.

Lots of cutting, mostly from the Kildangan lads. They had one man put off and a few more could have followed, although it would have been harsh all things considered.

Still, alls well that ends well…

AFAIK he never played for Dicksboro again. If I remember correctly UCD were playing a Leinster club game game the same day as Dicksboro were playing a relegation final in KK. He chose UCD, didn’t go down well with the club.

Any KK lads confirm?