Club Championships 2009

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Cork Update:

Clonakilty are County champions. They nearly blew it, with a little help from the ref, but held out in the end. The younger Barrs came at them strong in last 12-13 minutes and went from 1-12 to 0-07 down to level with time nearly up. Clon won a free 50 yards out and an 18 year old on as a sub put it over. Clon played some fantastic football for 3/4’s of the game, and will be a threat to anyone in Munster. Barrs will come again, no doubt. They played the occassion this time, but they really have a fine young team with planty heart.
The only Cork player Michael Shields had a fine game at full and centre back.

Premier Intermediate favourites Valley Rovers are in dire trouble after a week of disasters. They are playing Glanmire in next weeks semi final and have lost in last few days Tadgh Burke their captain, Chris Donovan (Cork Junior captain) with a broken elbow, Eamon Collins their star full forward got sent off yesterday for punching the Ballinora full back in a league game and Alan Quirke their Cork Senior keeper who’s on honeymoon. They are fucked basically. I’d say the odds will still be good on Glanmire so i’m going to head down to Cashmans in a while and see the story, they are usually slow enough with these things.

Sars won handy in the Senior Hurling semi final. One noteable thing was Adrian Mannix from Kilworth scoring 15 points for CIT, 0-07 from play. Thats good going in fairness.

By all accounts Turrenes Castlemartyr will get an awful trouncing from Nemo in the hurling. The standard of hurling between themselves and the Glen yesterday was a good bit about Junior A, we’ll see. I’d rather Nemo got hammered by Castlemartyr, but can’t see it happening.

Glengarriff caused a midl surprise in JAF County by drawing with hot favourites Glanworth.[/quote]

Well we are missing our center forward and also our star player Jimmy Smiddy for the tenth. The latter is a real loss under the puckout as he is the one player who can consistently win good possession under the dropping ball, and I’m inclined to think the Nemo center back line could have a field day on our puckout.

Ah Jesus he’s not is he, he’d be a huge loss, for general experience if nothing else, but also he seems to be your top scorer. Whats up with him?
Sars think ye’ll win the county anyway.

Was talking to a Clough Duv man yesterday who was at City Final and he said his own crowd wouldn’t touch Nemo at this time of the year, they are very physical as well as having more than a few handy hurlers. Where the games are played makes a massive difference at this time of the year.
Nothing really against them, but when they are up Intermediate they don’t give a shite and make no effort while in Football and i would prefer to see a new club go up who really love their hurling i.e. ye, Clon, Clough Duv or Meelin or someone like that.

[quote=“HangBlaa”]Down Dise way, utter cunts Ballygunner* accounted for other cunts MtSion** by 4 in Walsh Park. Reeling in the years performance from Paul Flynn.

Lismore acounted for Ballyfuff Upper in comfortable fashion and would like to see them now go on and lift the title. Maurice Shanahan is getting better and detter.

*My disdain for the Ballygunner cunts arises from their treatmet of Mullane last weak and the poxy square ball goal to win the match. Cunts.

**I have always hated Mt Sion[/quote]

How far out were those Adrian Power frees HB? 4 points from a goalie is fair going!

The Kerry Co. Championship turned up a huge shock with Laune Rangers beating Kerins O’ Rahillys.
This is good news for Clonakilty who would have seen Strand Rd. as their main opposition.They suffered for having too many Kerry players its seems and ran out of steam. They were bitching about it too in the papers, what about their club mates who waited all year because of them?
Laune and Crokes are only “Club” left in Kerry championship, neither would put the fear of God in anyone.
I’m not dismissing the other counties champions, but Clon and whoever comes from Kerry are well warned now about the like of Kilmurray, Ballinacourty and Drom-Broadford etc.

[quote=“Sheriff Lobo”]Looks like it.
Thurles were very poor in the first half against Nenagh but played some nice stuff in the 2nd half.
Toome were comfortable today.
Hope to God toome dont win it again, they really are a horrible breed of people.[/quote]

Toome will win it I’d say. They won without breaking sweat. They are cunts though.

Fancy them for Munster on this form.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Toome will win it I’d say. They won without breaking sweat. They are cunts though.

Fancy them for Munster on this form.[/quote]

Fancy the winners to come from Waterford or Cork myself, Toome are bottlers when it comes to playing teams outside the county. I’d be more worried about Thurles Sars, they wouldn’t give a fuck who they play.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Toome will win it I’d say. They won without breaking sweat. They are cunts though.

Fancy them for Munster on this form.[/quote]

Drmo/Inch will win the county. Fact.

All back around his own 45. He could be the Dise number 1 next year, as with helmets coming in it will be an advantage to him over Clinton. Minor GK and Ballygunner keeper Stephen O’Keefe is something else though, one of the best keepers i have ever seen. He should make the county panel next year as well.

Don’t have the forwards i’d say Runt.

Nicely stocked with keepers for the near future it seem HB! Jaysus to have had one about 5 or 6 years ago eh?!

I don’t know, they were good enough the game i saw them in and they have a very good spine to the team. Buckley at center back, Woodlock midfield and Calinan on the 40. They have Seamus Butler inside as well and he’s well able to score. They’ll take bating anyways.

Too windy runt…Toome will go through them for a shortcut.

That’s always the fear with them isn’t it? They’ll be found wanting when it turns into a battle. I’ve heard of similarities being drawn between them and Inistioge/Rower in Kilkenny.

Ill be meeting all the fellas who say that with a puck in the jaw during the celebrations in the old stand in Nowlan Park when we reach heaven this Year:thumbsup:,this could be it…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ah Jesus he’s not is he, he’d be a huge loss, for general experience if nothing else, but also he seems to be your top scorer. Whats up with him?
Sars think ye’ll win the county anyway.

No chance of it happening. Sarsfields were fairly shocked by our performance alright I’d say.

EVENING HERALD DUBLIN SHC A QUARTER-FINAL DRAW
St Vincents v Craobh Chiarain
Ballyboden St Endas v Crumlin
OTooles v St Pats, Palmerstown
Kilmacud Crokes v Lucan Sarsfields

Considering how many of that Junior team they expect to need for to win the County and/or the Munster it was a fair result for ye.

Interesting draw in the Dublin SHC, Id say there will be some timber flying in the Ciarians/Vincents match. No doubt the county board will probably fix the game for O’Toole park in Crumlin. My own prediction for the semi’s would see Ciarans, O’Tooles, ballyboden and Corkes all getting there.

Delighted to see the mercenaries from Plunketts knocked out, couldn’t happen to a nicer club. Bit disappointing that there isn’t a club from the northside left in it.

[quote=“tazdedub”]Interesting draw in the Dublin SHC, Id say there will be some timber flying in the Ciarians/Vincents match. No doubt the county board will probably fix the game for O’Toole park in Crumlin. My own prediction for the semi’s would see Ciarans, O’Tooles, ballyboden and Corkes all getting there.

Delighted to see the mercenaries from Plunketts knocked out, couldn’t happen to a nicer club. Bit disappointing that there isn’t a club from the northside left in it.[/quote]

Parnell will be a slaughterhouse when vincents and croabh meet…:eek: thats if croabh still have a team if DCB investigate crokes match…boden are missing a lot of players but still hammerinmg teams…they’ll have far to much for crumlin…vincets, crokes,boden and o’tooles for me…