Club Championships 2009

Laois Senior Hurling Championship Final

Portlaoise v Clough/Ballacolla

Portlaoise face into the first part of their double challenge this weekend, and it will most likely be the more difficult part of the two. Clough Ballacolla are appearing in a SHC final for something like their first time in 60 years, but this one has been building for a while. They’ve won a number of minors in the past 10 years, which was unprecedented for them. They’ve built on this since, with 2 Division 1 league titles, the most recent being this years title won a few weeks back. They’re backboned by Mickey McEvoy and Shane Hanlon and will rely on Wille Hyland and Willy Dunphy up front for their scores. They’re managed by Raymie Ryan.

Portlaoise are in their third final in a row, and after losing the last 2, including the last minute heartbreak of last year, they’re a pretty determined outfit this time out. They’re down the suspended Simon Norton, Joe Phelan is abroad and Noel Costello is injured as things stand they will be big losses to the Town. On the other hand Cahir Healy is back from his travels, Mickey Bowe is looking like the hurler of the year, and Tommy Fitzgerald is one of the best forwards in the country when given enough ball.

Its a tough one to call this, and if its half as good as last years final we’re in for a dinger. Portlaoise are down players, but have the experience. Clough/Ballacolla have won every game they’ve played this year, but are appearing in their first final in decades, and that brings its own pressures. Portlaoise have the edge for me, and I’d like to see them win it, more for the hurlers themselves than the club.

Borris in Ossory face off against Ballyfin in the Intermediate decider which is the curtain raiser. Borris are in their 3rd final in a row and will be relying on Matthew Whelan and young minor Neil Foyle to help them finally make the breakthrough. Ballyfin came down from senior last year though and many fancy them to go back up. Again I’d like to see Borris finally make the breakthrough, and I think Foyle could be the difference from previous years.

highlights of boden/crokes replay…poor game overall…there really is something imperial about the famed blue and white verticals of boden…its like the yankees -teams see the stripes and immediately their bet*…:smiley:

*except for crokes…:guns:

As was expected they lost to whitegate by two points today…Whitegate should win the final with a bit to spare and i would fancy them to go on a good run in munster…They are on the same side of the draw as the limerick and tipp champions…

Castlemartyr 1-10 Nemo Rangers 0-13 FT.

Really tight, physical game here. Castlemartyr got a goal in first half and were lucky enough to be a point down at HT, but came flying out in the second and end up being 3 points ahead with ten minutes to go. Nemo had a player sent off, but by this stage Castlemartyr’s nerves started to go a bit against Nemo’s cynical tactics. Eventually, Castlemartyr’s heart and effort was cancelled out by Nemo’s fitness and dirtiness.

I have to point out Nemo’s despicable tactics, starting a complete knacker and targetting our star forward Barry Lawton with him. He was eventually sent off (about twenty minutes too late) but only after assaulting a 17 year old. Truly despicable stuff from Nemo Rangers and worst off all Brophy will be back the next day as he only got two yellows.

Arravale Rovers v Carrick Davins in tipp intermediate county final

Limerick county football final abandoned this evening after a serious injury to one of the players. First final to be played under lights so a disappointing end.

Links crowd lost in KK. 20 points to 2-10. No doubt he will come on raging tomorrow about it.

[quote=“hannibal”]Limerick county football final abandoned this evening after a serious injury to one of the players. First final to be played under lights so a disappointing end.

Links crowd lost in KK. 20 points to 2-10. No doubt he will come on raging tomorrow about it.[/quote]

Any idea what the score was at the time Hannibal?

[quote=“hannibal”]Limerick county football final abandoned this evening after a serious injury to one of the players. First final to be played under lights so a disappointing end.

Links crowd lost in KK. 20 points to 2-10. No doubt he will come on raging tomorrow about it.[/quote]

I dunno whether link would have fully expected the win. The boro are a much bigger club and have been cleaning up top level underage trophies in KK for a while.

My newly rebeloved village are playing in the Senior semi tomorrow.
Comer are the opposition. The bookies and I fully expect a James Stephens v Ballyhale final.

I shall attend the village match. Might sneak off early in the second if Ballyhale are running away with it to be back in Dublin for the start of NFL Sunday. We’ll see…

C’mon the Village!

It was 5 points each, but Abbeyfeale had been going a bit better than Drom.
It was Thomas Cahill who broke his ankle/leg, 6 minutes into the 2nd half.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]I dunno whether link would have fully expected the win. The boro are a much bigger club and have been cleaning up top level underage trophies in KK for a while.

My newly rebeloved village are playing in the Senior semi tomorrow.
Comer are the opposition. The bookies and I fully expect a James Stephens v Ballyhale final.

I shall attend the village match. Might sneak off early in the second if Ballyhale are running away with it to be back in Dublin for the start of NFL Sunday. We’ll see…

C’mon the Village![/quote]

was actually at this farce of a mismatch yesterday in Nolan park in Kilkenny town.
I must say the perennial bottlers played through to form again yesterday losing only their 3rd inter semi final in 22 years.
The first half of the match was actually laughable as the R/I team were actually incapable of playing the game of hurling. i beleive the opposition had 8 points on the board before the other crowd even got the ball into their hand(thats not messing).
For the LINK to say that this was going to be their year is enough for me and should be prevented from commenting on GAA matters forthwith…

the first ever north Tipp junior C hurling final is on today–
Nenagh Eire Og v Borrisokane

promises to be a cracker:clap:

[quote=“Turenne”]Castlemartyr 1-10 Nemo Rangers 0-13 FT.

Really tight, physical game here. Castlemartyr got a goal in first half and were lucky enough to be a point down at HT, but came flying out in the second and end up being 3 points ahead with ten minutes to go. Nemo had a player sent off, but by this stage Castlemartyr’s nerves started to go a bit against Nemo’s cynical tactics. Eventually, Castlemartyr’s heart and effort was cancelled out by Nemo’s fitness and dirtiness.

I have to point out Nemo’s despicable tactics, starting a complete knacker and targetting our star forward Barry Lawton with him. He was eventually sent off (about twenty minutes too late) but only after assaulting a 17 year old. Truly despicable stuff from Nemo Rangers and worst off all Brophy will be back the next day as he only got two yellows.[/quote]

Hypocrite, you here giving out to me for running down a Nemo player before.:clap:
Brophy is playing with the wrong club.

Hard luck though, generally you only get one chance with those cunts.

Live update from nowlan park:

The village won with a poor enough display.

Something like 2-7 to 0-11

Heard the Village v Comer game was awful.
Gowran got a last gasp draw with Tullaroan in the Senior relegation final yesterday. The intermediate relagation final was also a draw.

The Lockes won the (wrongly)re-fixed Minor A quarter final earlier today by 4 having being down by 7 at half time.
GwandaLockes.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Hypocrite, you here giving out to me for running down a Nemo player before.:clap:
Brophy is playing with the wrong club.

Hard luck though, generally you only get one chance with those cunts.[/quote]

How so?

Lets just say he grew up somewherer else and went to school somewhere else other than Turners X.

Do you think ye can improve to beat them?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Lets just say he grew up somewherer else and went to school somewhere else other than Turners X.

Do you think ye can improve to beat them?[/quote]

We can defintely improve a lot, but I have a feeling the same can be said for Nemo. Plus, they will have James Masters back next Saturday, we won’t have Jimmy Smiddy back, so advantage Nemo on that point. Hard to tell really.

Laois SHC Final

Clough Ballacolla 2-13 Portlaoise 1-10

Mild surprise, 3 defeats in a row for the Town in finals, the double dream is dead. Clough Ballacolla fully deserving of their win.

Borris in Ossory finally go Senior, winning the IHC at 3rd time of asking.

Shamrocks 4-16 O’Loughlins 2-12
Village v Shamrocks final

[quote=“myboyblue”]Laois SHC Final

Clough Ballacolla 2-13 Portlaoise 1-10

Mild surprise, 3 defeats in a row for the Town in finals, the double dream is dead. Clough Ballacolla fully deserving of their win.

Borris in Ossory finally go Senior, winning the IHC at 3rd time of asking.[/quote]

Congrats to Raymie Ryan for coaching in weaker counties.