Club Championships 2010

So it was Clare taking all the Flannans hurlers was the problem. Ok, but is that not going to happen again if they are all in the same school, and they are being robbed from other schools?

To me its the same problem, just from a different angle. Flannans are probably watching these development squads and approaching the players on them.

I suppose it won’t affect any other “A” schools like Caimains, but it sure as fuck will ruin the “B” schools that one presumes these guys are coming from.

Poaching players for big schools is just not good practice in an overall sense, its stronger you should be trying to make the weaker schools, especially in a relatively small county like Clare. I’m not sure who is in charge in cases like this, and its very hard to stop a parent moving a kid if they really want to, but a simple law stating anyone who plays after 3rd year with one school, cannot play with another without a change of parents address

Please stop exposing kev’s aggressive cluelessness

With the likes of Caimins and ASR going strong and the fact that Flannan’s is no longer boarding it won’t have as big an effect as it did years ago…The lads Flannan’s will be taking on would probably be lads at non hurling schools or lads repeating the leaving cert…Tulla and Killaloe would both be fairly strong at B level this year, I think Tulla actually lost the B final last year after a replay…Their aren’t all that many hurling schools in Clare to begin with anyway, 7 off the top of my head and even at that two of them would be only making up numbers

I was talking more about Puke thinking it was a good thing because of the recession, wtf? And that he was quite loud, along with others, in his running down of Flannans/Clares former policies.

2 more of ye weighing in that they had been recruiting hard alright.

i was referring to them trying to get three hurlers from one particular non hurling school- one of whom they acquired. furthermore i read about a number of repeat students that had transferred.

Probably about the same as Cork at this stage.

Maybe it won’t have the same effect as before. Still, recruiting is wrong.

Well wrt recession, if you had a son around the age of 17 who was a promising hurler and Flannan’s approached you and said “we will pay for his books, uniform, transport and other schooling expenses along with allowing him to play harty cup hurling” would you say no given the chance he would have along with taking some bit of a financial burden off the family…

Don’t think i ever gave out about Flannan’s poaching players before, more so the fact that lads were getting onto county panels due to them going to Flannan’s as opposed to their ability and also the fact that some of the coaches in Flannan’s are quite short sighted with regard player development and when you have 20 odd lads on a county minor panel being coached by these men then of course this will have an effect, but like I stated this have very much changed since Flannan’s did away with boarding back 5 or 6 years ago

I’d say NCC would have a lot to say about the priests in Flannans recruiting young fellas.

wrong thread…oops!

Ok on the 2nd bit.

On the first bit, don’t you think that is completely and utterly wrong? I think its a total disgrace they would give someone a free ride. I’m pretty sure that there are other guys on the very same team that are less well off. I just totally disagree with this sort of shite, although i know it goes on. Its not about if i’d take it or not, its about it being allowed to happen.

Flannans were probably seen by certain people as a substitute for development squads for a long time. That they weren’t.

It’s completely sick.

I would agree with you, but it is part and parcel, Flannan’s aren’t the only team at it and by far not the worst, Thurles CBS supposedly have it down to a fine art…Happen’s with rugby schools as well…

Oh its far worse in the rugby, although in the time of boarding schools in GAA it was very bad as well, fellas getting board and all let go.

Hi Kev,

Will you please go to the Limerick GAA thread and address my question at your convenience.

Regards,

Runt.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/brave-criost-ri-revival-just-falls-short-132824.html#ixzz11fTEf0oB

COLÁISTE Chríost Rí’s return to Dr Harty Cup action may not have got off to a successful start in Ballyagran yesterday, but they contributed greatly to an extraordinary Group B clash as their stunning second-half fightback almost produced an improbable victory

At the interval, last year’s Kinnane Cup winners were facing a heavy beating. St Caimin’s, finalists two years ago and semi-finalists last season, maintained the high standards of recent campaigns in the opening 30 minutes. They harnessed the benefits of a strong wind to open up a commanding 3-12 to 1-3 advantage by half-time. The power and poise of St Caimin’s early play suggested it was impossible for Chríost Rí to bridge the yawning gap.

But the Cork school showcased tremendous battling qualities and, despite trailing by 15 points when the ball was thrown in for the second-half, had shaved the deficit to just two with five minutes left. St Caimin’s were clinging to a 3-14 to 4-9 advantage, but they pounced for a crucial goal when Alan Mulready’s sublime long-range pass was whipped to the net by substitute David Ryan. Then Aaron Cunningham popped over two frees in quick succession to bring his scoring return for the day to a dazzling 3-8. Despite Enda Dennehy knocking in a late goal for Chríost Rí, time ran out on their revival and wing-back Shane Kelleher arrowed over an injury-time point that crowned St Caimin’s success.

Fielding three members of the Clare minor set-up that contested the All-Ireland decider last month enhanced St Caimin’s prospects before throw-in, and that trio of Aaron Cunningham, Alan Mulready and Frank Melody were central to their victory.

Cunningham wreaked havoc in the Críost Rí defence from his full-forward berth in the first-half as he chalked up 3-5 in a brilliant showing.

Mulready supplied the bullets for Cunningham to fire from centre-forward and he also played a key role in stemming the flow of Críost Rí dominance when withdrawn to the middle of the pitch in the second-half.

Centre-back Frank Melody was immense in the first-half and there were also valuable contributions from Niall O’Connor and Shane Liddy.

Críost Rí had received an early boost when Kevin Coughlan finished well to the net in the fifth minute, but St Caimin’s swept downfield after the score to raise their first green flag through Cunningham. From there they dominated all the vital sectors with Cunningham finding the net again in the 14th and 15th minutes and they were full value for their half-time 3-12 to 1-3 lead.

But Críost Rí emerged a changed force in the second-half to produce a terrific performance. They had star performers in centre-back Eoin Finn and wing-forward Tomas Lawrence, while the deployment of Cork minor Shane O’Keeffe at full-forward paid dividends, as he combined well with Dennehy to cause difficulties for the St Caimin’s rearguard.

Críost Rí’s challenge was ignited when Dennehy struck a 34th minute goal and three minutes later Paul Fitzgerald slammed a 20-yard free to the roof of the net to leave them 3-12 to 3-4 adrift. The teams traded points after that but expert long-range freetaking by Finn and a fierce shot to the net by O’Keeffe in the 46th minute gave Críost Rí real hope. A Finn free in the 52nd minute trimmed St Caimin’s lead to 3-14 to 4-9 but it was the Clare school who finished stronger.

Scorers for St Caimin’s: A Cunningham 3-8 (0-4 frees); A Mulready, S Liddy 0-3 each; D Ryan 1-0; F Melody (0-1 free), S Lynch, S Kelleher 0-1 each.

Coláiste Chríost Rí: E Dennehy 2-1; P Fitzgerald 1-2 (1-2 frees); S O’Keeffe 1-1; K Coughlan 1-0; E Finn 0-3 (two frees, one ‘65); T Lawrence, G Joyce (0-1 free) 0-1 each.

ST CAIMINS: R McAuley; J Mulready, N O’Connor, B Carey; S Kelleher, F Melody, S O’Leary; C O’Brien, K McCafferty; S Liddy, A Mulready, S Lynch; S Gleeson, A Cunningham, D Collins.

Subs: D Ryan for O’Brien (48).

COLÁISTE CHRÍOST RÍ: P Delaney; C Horgan, S O’Brien, J Ryan; L Corry, E Finn, E Smith; A Nolan, P Fitzgerald; T Lawrence, S O’Keeffe, K Coughlan; G Joyce, C Crowe, E Dennehy.

Subs: I Lucey for Crowe (20).

Referee: D Enright (Dromin-Athlacca)

Parnells 1-11 St. Patrick’s 2-5.

The mercenaries avoid relegation.

First SFC semi-final threw in at 6. Oliver Plunkett’s v Brigid’s.
Vincent’s take on Kilmacud tomorrow.

Brigids 2 ahead early in 2nd half

Reservoir Dubs saying it’s a poor standard, 1-3 to 0-4 well into the second half certainly sounds like it.

Looks like Brigid’s have it, 1-7 to 0-4.