Club Championships 2017

Yeah there 12 senior teams, 12 intermediate and then 12 intermediate A (which is essentially junior).

In the resetting of grades a few years ago, they relegated extra teams out of senior to have a large intermediate group, and then that was split in half. To appease teams, and not relegate 12 in one go, it was called intermediate A rather than junior.

Arenā€™t people stupid all the same?

Will ye romp through intermediate? Itā€™s a tough grade but Iā€™d expect Cloughbawn and Crossabeg Ballymurn to be at the business end of it.

So ye won the 4th grade county and now go into div 3 effectively?

Some achievement to come thru to AI from div 4 grade so.

No the third grade and up to the second one now.

Yeah theyā€™ll be the teams to beat. The last 3 inter A winners in the same group too this year. As long as we hold our own and show signs of progression, thatā€™ll be a good start.

So Wexford entered their Intermediate A winners in Club Junior?

Yes. It is the third tier competition in wexford. It is essentially junior, just not named that here.

Ah ya fair enough.
Makes sense really.

But the gaa and names and grades is some hilarious shit.

Status is such a big thing its mental.

Same in LImerick, ā€œPremier Intermediateā€ and Intermediate. Load of me bollox to massage fellas egos. Except even more stupidly the intermediate champs donā€™t qualify for the AI Junior so we send our fourth tier champs to a 3rd tier comp.

Same in Laois, Senior and then Senior ā€œAā€.

Horseshit.

are they completely distinct competitions, ie there is no crossover with teams in them? I know in some counties they have a senior B for losers of the first round of senior proper, so in that sense the second competition is intertwined with the first one. I was of the opinion of forwarding a motion about changing the name of the Inter ! in Wexford this year, but wouldnt look good now seeing as we have just got out of it.

As @caoimhaoin says, its all mentality and about ego. Lads dont want to say they are a junior hurler, when in effect that is what they are playing in. I know for Wexford it was to appease the bottom half of intermediate teams when they made the split, but there has been about 5 years of it now, may as well move on and redress the names of the tournaments and have them aligned with the national ones proper. the majority of other counties have it that way.

Iā€™m sorry ye lost that. Really sorry. The wexford lads at fullen were the nicest of people. I have a very soft spot for wexford hurling. Iā€™m a bit sick tbh.
Reffing an odd game, itā€™s hard to blow up before thereā€™s a natural break, but over a minute is ridiculous.

Completely stand alone. Same as you were saying they split intermediate to make it more competitive but rather than call it what it was they fudged it

There was 2 very natural breaks to blow it up, which is all the more sickening. We took a free 25 seconds over the 2 minutes injury time played. Then they also took a free from defence 65 seconds after the injury time had been completed. Sickening. Shouldnt even mention where the ref was from either! But sure look it, we got to play there, made a good account of ourselves and had a good year. Have to take the positives out of the experience and move on. A shame we didnt get the win, but thatā€™s sport.

Thatā€™s utter bollox then. Prickish behaviour by the ref.

Offaly too.

GGA snowflakes

2 one sided club semiā€™s this weekend. Galway and ulster champs should be put into Leinster championship. They donā€™t deserve a bye into all Ireland semi.

FOAD.

Same in cork making Knocknagrees win all the more impressive. Meelin won the junior hurling a few years ago as well again from the 4th tier in Cork