Club championships

the legend that is Syl O Conner is doing the commentating at the moment…gas man…tommy had a great game,as had evrybody, domhniall o donovan was superb at centre back along with his two wing backs…newmarket played into our hands a bit second half when they had the breeze they kept trying to bring the ball into the 21 and work it around rather than shoot from out the field…made it easy for us to bottle them up…

as for county representation, I think there are at least half a dozen lads that will hurl championship for clare in the next few years, but i would say the likes of nickey o connell, john conlon and domhiall o donovan will all be there next year along with possibly darach honan and cormac o donovan although i doubt all 5 will get the call…especially as all 5 that are mentioned are all under 21 again next year…

[quote=“The Puke”]the legend that is Syl O Conner is doing the commentating at the moment…gas man…tommy had a great game,as had evrybody, domhniall o donovan was superb at centre back along with his two wing backs…newmarket played into our hands a bit second half when they had the breeze they kept trying to bring the ball into the 21 and work it around rather than shoot from out the field…made it easy for us to bottle them up…

as for county representation, I think there are at least half a dozen lads that will hurl championship for clare in the next few years, but i would say the likes of nickey o connell, john conlon and domhiall o donovan will all be there next year along with possibly darach honan and cormac o donovan although i doubt all 5 will get the call…especially as all 5 that are mentioned are all under 21 again next year…[/quote]

Are ye knocking the beer on the head now for the rest of the week?

yeah, doing a light enough training session tonight…to be honest irregardless of the county title lads just can’t afford to take days off work and spend the money on a 4 or 5 day bender…thats the harsh fact of the recession

Congrats Puke! just catching up with the news after a few days away. Massive win! Who did ye get next week? And how about Adare?

sarfields next week below in cork…they are ment to be a savage young team, so they should beat us pulling up, sure we are only a shower of mullickers in clare;), at least i will be able to go to Marks and Spencers while i am down there…and how about adare, a fairly average team that won a fairly average limerick championship, i would say that toomevara will beat them with a bit to spare…

ah there fucked now choccie they got the Cork team!!! Sars.

Only messing puke, sow it into the semi city coonts. Fair play lad great win for ye

Limerick (club) hurling is in the doldrums. Be surprised to see Adare do anything in Munster.

Well done Puke, actually listened to the last 15 minutes of it sunday, for some reason it was on Cork 103, maybe because Sars were up next for winners.
I’m glad to know ye aren’t on the booze, because Sars are well up for it. They seemed to have gotten the breather they needed and played well last weekend. Looks like they are without Cussen and Ray Ryan, two older heads who will most likely be replaced by 19 year olds, thats good news for ye.
I don’t think anyone believes your mullocking story now though, one Sars man told me they are preparing for ye the same way they prepared for the Glen, thats respect. I can’t wait to see ye in the flesh on Sunday, and while i want Sars to win, i wish you all the best.
Ye cost me 300+ euro the other day by the way!!!

What ye make of Cussen going to play Inter Pro’s on Saturday night? Bad form, am a big fan of the Inter Pro’s, but Club before all else.

From what i heard he won’t be playing either game, but if he is fit for one it will be Sars, don’t worry about that.

i hate to say i told you so but;)…

[quote=“myboyblue”]What ye make of this?

Speaking at the launch of the tournament last night, Gilroy said the six-team competition was designed with a view to unearthing players who had yet to play for Dublin and who the new management feel would increase their options in their squad for the forthcoming year.

“We’re not having trials and we have no plans to have trials,” Gilroy told the Evening Herald.

"This gives us a great opportunity to see a lot of players playing at a certain level. It will be a blitz-type tournament and if a guy shows up well in that, it gives us a good opportunity to have a look at him seriously.

Top level

“It’s like any of the club championship matches. We’ll have guys going to league matches and this is just another opportunity for people to show that they’re capable of playing at the top level.”

The competition will be run over two days - Saturday, November 8 and Sunday November 9 at Innisfails ground in Balgriffin. For the purposes of the competition, Dublin will be broken into six regional teams: Fingal, Dublin Central, Dublin North-East, Dublin North-West, Dublin South-West and Dublin South-East.

Most of the current Dublin squad will be involved with their respective regional sides and specially-appointed selectors will be tasked with gathering a panel of 20 for each regional team.

“The current panelists are all allocated teams but after that, the selectors will be talking to different club managers and using their own knowledge to come up with players and make up a panel of twenty,” Gilroy said.

The novel initiative has also attracted the support of some of Dublin’s top former players. People such as Mick Deegan, Mick Galvin, Eamon Heery, Joe McNally and Senan Connell are already on board to act as selectors for the teams.

"People liked the idea, in fairness. The initiative is a good one. When people were contacted they seemed to be keen. It should give us a good trawl of the county and see players.

“Most of the current panel will be playing in the tournament so the standard should be quite high. All the teams look quite strong.”

Matches on the Saturday will be 20-minutes per half in a blitz-style format with the finals played off on the Sunday.

"I’ve been at all the senior championship matches anyway myself and so have the other guys. But this is a county board initiative to do something a little bit different and to give guys a chance to put themselves in there who weren’t involved previously. It’s a good idea and it’s a good way to finish the year.

“I think the standard is good in club football. There are good players at all levels so hopefully, we’ll see something that will add to last year’s squad.”

Regional Tournament

Saturday, Nov 8

11.0am Dublin Central v Dublin North East

12.0 Fingal v Dublin North West

1.0pm Dublin Central v Dublin South East

2.0 Dublin South West v Dublin North West.

3.0 Dublin North East v Dublin South East

4.0 Fingal v Dublin North West

Sunday, Nov 9

Final: 2.0pm

Management teams

Dublin Central: Declan Mc Grath, Eamon Heery, Ciarn O’Hare.

Fingal: Niall Guiden, Mick Kennedy, Mick Deegan.

Dublin North East: Tony Diamond, Neil Curley, Paul Kelly.

Dublin North West: Senan Connell, Mick Galvin, Jim Brogan, Mick Bohan.

Dublin South East: Pat Burke snr, Pauric Monahan, Declan O’Boyle.

Dublin South West: Brendan Moran, Brendan Murray, Joe McNally.

• Conor McKeon[/quote]

cracking idea…a chance to weed out a few current members of the panel and bring in a few new faces…doubt there will be any real super stars unearthed but defo a few who can do a job at intercounty level better than others currently there…I like what I’ve seen of Gilroy as far as structure and ideas go…also seems to be surrounding himself with a lot of lads who know dublin club football…seems to be a man who sees the bigger picture…straight away he has told the county board that he wants county players playing league matches with their clubs as at the end of the day he believes this is who they are representing when they are playing for Dublin…Pillar rarely allowed this…tyrone do and if its good enough for them…

Yea I’d be a fan of it too, if for no other reason other than the fact it gives higher exposure to players from Juniro Clubs.

Saying that I dont think Dublin will unearth any gems this way. I feel they need to go back to the underage coaching and work on the basics. The raw materials are without doubt in Dublin, they’re just not being utilised properly.

I cant see Gilroy working btw, I think it could blow up very spectacularly in their faces.

[quote=“myboyblue”]
I cant see Gilroy working btw, I think it could blow up very spectacularly in their faces.[/quote]

could easily blow up in their faces alright…as he’s never managed so tactics will be an issue…but i get the impression he knows his limits and is not afraid to delegate and seek opinions off others more qualified…could be wrong though…just looking at some of the names on the management teams for the tournament I think he’s trying to create an environment that involves every corner of the Dublin gaa community as opposed to 30 people governed by a blue book dead poets society style who nobody else can relate to…

There are some good names on that Mgt team, I’ll give them that.

I know i know, disaster for me, accumilator of 5 was coming through only for ye so and so’s. I was roaring on Newmarket in the car, in a high rise car park, would have been funny for anyone looking on i’d say. When i say ye cost me, i didn’t win, but i’m still ahead of that fucker Paddy Power, just need to keep the head for the Premership season and the rugby. Staying away from county finals from now on.

Are we nearly all done and dusted around the counties so with the club championships??

We have the intermediate football final on Sunday here in Limerick and both junior championships are still going on.

Ballysteen V St Patricks in the intermediate football should be a very tight game and has the potential to be one of the best games of the year. Both teams play a fast open attacking brand of football and it really could go either way.

St Patricks have been steadily building since won the junior A in 2005. They have a fast young side and their forwards can be lethal if given the space. On the other hand Ballysteen have been on the verge of promotion a number of teams in recent years, being losing finalists in 2005 and losing by a point at the semi final stage last year. They have a rock solid defence with two intercounty regulars in key positions and there forwards are well able to score.

Should be a good game of football at the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday.

All done in Laois, U21 football to be run off, thats usually when the trouble starts in our fair county though…!

I hear there are 5 phelan brothers playing for pats runty…what state is the gaelic grounds in…might suit the mullickers from west limerick…

Saturday: Kilanerin vs Gusserane - Wexford Senior Football Final
Sunday: Oulart-The Ballagh vs St Martin’s - Wexford Senior Hurling Final