Club championships

yeah but my point is in a lot of intense games you usually have to get past more than one lad to get a score…

True, look it wasn’t like Cork verses Tipp in 1991, but it wasn’t easy for Sars in the first 25 mins, yet they led 11-05, thats my point really. Your right in saying the rest of the game is hard to judge.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Hard Luck Puke, i was at it. Ye looked tired in fairness, but even with a weeks break ye wouldn’t have beaten Sars yesterday. They were awesome, some of their players have really moved on from winning the county, and i’d say Robert O’ Driscoll is a marked man now. He has to play Cork U-21 next year. Cian McCarthy will also be there or there abouts. If Sars keep their heads they’ll be a very good club team for a number of years.
Sars brought on 5 former Cork Minors yesterday, 4 of them were Minor in the last 4 years. Thats impressive.
Thought the No.6 was unlucky to get a straight red for that incident, but he could have gotten about 6 yellows as it was, he scelped Fraggie Murphy a fair bit.

I’m not sure if you were judging the crowd on the roar (Clon did get a massive roar after i think their 4 point, which was a class score) but Sars totally outnumbered ye. They were a very young crowd, but i’d say about 6-1, honestly. The amount of kids out playing hurling at half time was hilarious. 3 kids from both sides had an impromtu game in from of us, it was great to see.

What did you think of Teddy Mac’s son?[/quote]

in fairness sars were impressive alright but they got the run of the park, we hadn’t the legs to stay with them yesterday, i was only hoping for a good shower of rain saturday night/sunday morning…if the sod stays some bit firm for them they will take beating…who was the lad sars brought on late in the match, he got a huge reception…number 21 i think…

as for the sending off it was harsh alright…fraggie started the tit for tat early and young donovan was in no form to spare him…

I think that was for the player going off, Pat Ryan, i suppose 14 points deserved it! He really is a class act, pity he never got the right breaks with Cork.
It was set up for Sars alright having the extra week or two`. They got a good hiding too against Birr i think, so that probably kept them focused.

Ye had a greta year in fairness. Looking at the programme yesterday ye really are a successful club in recent years. How many of the U-21 titles were “A” grade?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I think that was for the player going off, Pat Ryan, i suppose 14 points deserved it! He really is a class act, pity he never got the right breaks with Cork.
It was set up for Sars alright having the extra week or two`. They got a good hiding too against Birr i think, so that probably kept them focused.

Ye had a greta year in fairness. Looking at the programme yesterday ye really are a successful club in recent years. How many of the U-21 titles were “A” grade?[/quote]

we have won 2 21 b’s and a 21 A in the past 5 years…along with a 14 and 16 a title…should have won the minor A in 05/06/07 but were desperately unlucky in all three…

Have ye a big pick? I know ye are nearly in Limerick, but is there alot of housing out that way.

small enough pick, pretty much all the team are clon born and bred and have been in the parish for generations…a couple of blow ins…we haven’t a huge pick but most of the young lads are very eager and we also got to the junior b final this year with a team consisting mainly of minors and under 21’s with the odd old lad…

How come you never answer the question of whether or not you play Puke? Il take that as a no?!

You were playing against us last year werent ya?

Well it would be easy to narrow down if he did play, because he has stated a few times on here that he is a sub this year, so narrowing down a sub would be quite easy.
Your dead right Puke. I made a mistake on An Fear before and my name was left out for anyone who wanted to investigate, and a clubmate did.

tell em nuthin puke

Appendage went to watch Ballyboden and Birr today. He said Birr were far too strong for them and won by something like 1-17 to 0-8 but he can’t remember the full time score. Apparently Brian Whelehan suffered a serious looking knee injury.

Yeah i expected birr to win that…

HangBlaa what are your thoughts on Abbeyside and De La Salle…

In Clare hurling news the 2007 and 2008 county champions Tulla and Clonlara will meet in the league final next week after the Clon beat newmarket on a score of 1-7 to 8 points in terrible conditions in meelick this moring…

De La Salle beat Abbeyside to win their first ever county championship in waterford…

Broadford beat Bruff by 6 points in the munster intermediate hurling championship, they now play blarney in the final while Kilmihil showed all their class giving Ballysteen of limerick a lesson in football in the intermediate football…

Not the sharpest tool in the drawer is Mark, still at this shite I see.

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001d89212cry.jpg

I love my Club boy!

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001d89012cry.jpg

Very surprised to see Rhode defeat Portlaois(e) - do you much about this game MBB? Also, if you can explain whether there should be an ‘e’ at the end of the Laois county town’s name that would be appreciated also.

MBB,

Could you also clarify the correct pronunciation of the aforementioned county town.

Rgds,

T R

The (e) is correct Bandage, its Portlaoise.

I was at the game, it was fucking nut defyingly cold and it didnt help that the Biffo’s got one over us either.

Portlaoise have a serious outfit, but their problem has been fir years, and continues to be, that they have no midfield, none, whatsoever, I mean nothing. Bruno McCormack is forced to play there and classy player and all as Bruno is, a midfielder he is not.

Portlaoise can usually compensate for this by keeping things tight at the back, and living off the scraps around the middle and missing very little up front, but yesterday they hit a shocking amount of wides. They were shooting from unnecessary angles imo, possibly brought on by Rhodes 2 goals in the first period (one of which Laois goalie Mickey Nolan will not have good memories of, an audacious lob from ginger Biffo P Keleghan).

Rhode lead from there on, and while the Twon had it back to a point with jsut minutes to go, Rhode sub kicked another point and Portlaoise’s goose was cooked. Portlaoise will be fairly sick about this, but until they uncover a midfielder amongst their collossal pick, they’ll do little more than pick up County title after County title.

On the subject of Portlaoise, one of its favourite sons launched his autobiography yesterday, the great Pat Critchley. A legend of the game, he has 7 SFC’s, 7 SHC’s, 3 Leinster football Clubs, an All Ireland football Club, an All Star, a top ten single, a Limerick SFC, the list goes on, and a very nice man to boot.

[quote=“The Runt”]MBB,

Could you also clarify the correct pronunciation of the aforementioned county town.

Rgds,

T R[/quote]

Wha, Portlaoise?

Numerous differing ways of approaching this, but us Laois folk pronounce it Portlaois, others pronounce it Portlaoisa.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Wha, Portlaoise?

Numerous differing ways of approaching this, but us Laois folk pronounce it Portlaois, others pronounce it Portlaoisa.[/quote]

Ya, it’s the PortLaoisa that gets me. I’d more a Portlaois man myself.