Club championships

[quote=“myboyblue”]I love my Club boy!

http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001d89012cry.jpg[/quote]

Did Mullane just break the cup?

Y’know what, he did!

Saying that, it wouldnt be the first cup left back into a County Board pieced back together.

At least there are no holes drilled in the bottom of it…

there were no holes in the bottom of it last night anyway.

Fair play to John Mullane, tis easy see the clare breeding in his hurling and the waterford breeding in his temper…

Easy now puke.

John is very proud of his Clare and Wexford heritage though… fierce mix really.

Gave a great speech yesterday in Fraher field, and great leadership to the young team all year.

Met him on a couple of occasions and he is a nice lad in fairness(despite what some people think)…if only waterford had a few more like him…

Biting my lip here… Mullane has been involved in a couple of unsavoury incidents in the past but I think he’s turning a corner

Aye- I happened on him a few times when I was living in Waterford and he wasn’t on his best behaviour to say the least. Seems to have grown up a bit and was one of Waterford’s best hurlers last year.

in fairness he is the first man to admit that he used to be an awful bollix on the hurling field bt he seems to have copped onto himself and is the only lad that looked like he wasn’t going down without a fight gainst both clare and kilkenny…

Since the birth of his child he has matured no end…

Yeah this always struck me as strange, there’s only one club in Portlaoise is there? What’s the population of the town? Surely they absolutely clean up at underage, I come from a town of similar size with two clubs and they both dominate at underage as it is.

I would have on my team ahead of Eoin Kelly(Wat)tbh. Fantastic attitude against both Clare & Kilkenny

its quality not quantity…eire og are the only hurling team in ennis yet they are after getting relegted this year…I don’t think there is a senior hurling club in limerick city either…

He writes for the new Hurling World magazine too and he’s totally honest in the articles. He said he felt the game was over when KK were 6-1 up. But he still kept going to the end unlike others.

I haven’t seen that Pike - any good?

very interesting & alarming article in one of the rags today where a ballyboden man is giving out about the Dublin county board lack of interest in stick hurling

lip service is the term used

[quote=“north county corncrake”]very interesting & alarming article in one of the rags today where a ballyboden man is giving out about the Dublin county board lack of interest in stick hurling

lip service is the term used[/quote]

Typical Dublin attitude. Was it a ballyboden player or just some random lad from Ballyboden NCC?!

think it was the trainer

I know that sylvesters were waiting to play brigids in the intermediate final for at least a month as there game kept getting cancelled as there were football matches on

I’d say it would be more about the organisation of the club. If a place with a big pick gets its house in order at all with regards to coaching and creates a bit of a club spirit they will dominate at underage.
this happens for the most part with the town I’m from with its two clubs and I’d just say Portlaoise would be fairly similar. I think I heard before they completely dominate at underage. Maybe MBB can confirm?

Yeah it’s good enough. Some good articles in it. Some wishy washy ones. Layout ain’t great but they are only starting out. Tom Kenny, John Mullane and Ollie Canning have regular articles in it. Arrigle had an article in there after the final.
There was an article on Paul Flynn too before the final and the last paragraph ended - “A blind man would see that the likes of me won’t be around too much longer.”

There was also a good piece on the Quigley brothers from Rathnure in Wexford written by Gizzy Lyng of St. Martins which is strange.