4 - 6 Kilmacud Crokes v Corofin 6 - 4
DRAW 15 - 2

1 - 6 Crossmaglen v Drom Broadford 5 - 1
DRAW 10 - 1

8 - 15 Ballyhale Shamrocks v Portumna 7 - 4
DRAW 10 - 1

1 - 4 De La Salle v Cushendall 7 - 2
DRAW 11 - 1

Definitley value in Portumna at 7-4 alright Kev-and 10-1 for the draw there sticks out too. I’ll throw a bit on those.
Crossmaglen will surely win out aginst the Limerick lads-Drom don’t seem to be high scorers judging by their last few games (although neither were their opponents)
Corofin at 6-4 ain’t bad.
You’d expect DLS to go through (I say expect, but I’ll be throwing a sneaky fiver on Cushendall)

[quote=“Pikeman”]4 - 6 Kilmacud Crokes v Corofin 6 - 4
DRAW 15 - 2

DRAW 10 - 1

DRAW 10 - 1

DRAW 11 - 1

Definitley value in Portumna at 7-4 alright Kev-and 10-1 for the draw there sticks out too. I’ll throw a bit on those.
Crossmaglen will surely win out aginst the Limerick lads-Drom don’t seem to be high scorers judging by their last few games (although neither were their opponents)
You’d expect DLS to go through (I say expect, but I’ll be throwing a sneaky fiver on Cushendall)[/quote]

Ya, going to do a treble with Portmna, Man Utd & DLS.
With Cha out they are excellent odds on Portumna, who i would think are better than Ballyhale anyway.

Certainly value in Portumna. Should be much closer to evens.
People these days see a KK team and are convinced they’ll win. Tullogher were semi-heavy favourites on Sunday too I think.

Gonna be a beauty.
Shefflin, Cha, Fennelly and the Reids. They all play midfield and beyond. I’d be concerned about who will be given the job of marking Joe Canning and Hayes.

Should be high scoring and frantic. So expect it to finish 0-8 to 0-7 all frees.

Is Cha definitely out?

I honestly don’t know cluaindiuic, but that was the word for a month or so, unless they are playing games.

Who coaches Portumna, because no other team from Galway hurling since '88 pays with as much passion and team work. He must be a dam good coach.
Ballyhale are obviously an excellent team, one of the best club teams ever probably. But as you mentioned i can see them struggling with the Big Show Joe (who has put on some poundage again i see in a recent photo). If Cha isn’t there Reid and Henry will have to get alot of their own ball. I think Portumna have the better backline and this could be the difference.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I honestly don’t know cluaindiuic, but that was the word for a month or so, unless they are playing games.

Who coaches Portumna, because no other team from Galway hurling since '88 pays with as much passion and team work. He must be a dam good coach.[/quote]

Dinny Cahill trained them last year anyway so he’s probably still there I’d say.

I thought I read over the weekend that Cha is back fit again.

edit: yeah, back fit alright.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/cha-to-return-for-epic-club-clash-1641973.html
James ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick has fully recovered from recent illness and will be ready to take his place for Ballyhale Shamrocks in Sunday’s eagerly awaited AIB All-Ireland club semi-final against Portumna.

and he played for St Pats too yesterday.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/classy-cats-fitzpatrick-and-hogan-lay-down-law-against-garda-1643123.html
KILKENNY pair Richie Hogan and James ‘Cha’ Fitzpatrick led the charge as St Pat’s Mater-Dei advanced to the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup at the expense of Garda College in Templemore yesterday.

[quote=“Pikeman”]4 - 6 Kilmacud Crokes v Corofin 6 - 4
DRAW 15 - 2

DRAW 10 - 1

DRAW 10 - 1

DRAW 11 - 1

You’d expect DLS to go through (I say expect, but I’ll be throwing a sneaky fiver on Cushendall)[/quote]

Would be fantastic for Limerick football to see Drom go through. They are a strong, fit and pyhsical outfit. In the games up to now there main strenghts have been frustrating the opposition with a water tight defense then moving it quickly to their scoring forwards. In Jason Stokes at midfield they have one of the finest mid-field players in the country when fit, he tends to winter well and carries a lot of injuries but if he is on form then he will drive the whole team on. On their day the Drom forwards can be lethal, namely Seanie Buckley, Micheal Reidy and Ray Lynch, but they are prone to bad days as well which they can get away with at local level but they will be badly exposed on this stage if they aren’t firing at 100%.

They are massive underdogs so have nothing to lose on Sunday. If can stick to the game plan they have had all along and if things fall right for them then they won’t be far away. On the flip side if things don’t go well for them early on and Crossmaglen get there tails up then it could be a very bleak day for the Drom boys. Fingers crossed they can put up a good showing anyways.

[quote=“The Runt”]Would be fantastic for Limerick football to see Drom go through. They are a strong, fit and pyhsical outfit. In the games up to now there main strenghts have been frustrating the opposition with a water tight defense then moving it quickly to their scoring forwards. In Jason Stokes at midfield they have one of the finest mid-field players in the country when fit, he tends to winter well and carries a lot of injuries but if he is on form then he will drive the whole team on. On their day the Drom forwards can be lethal, namely Seanie Buckley, Micheal Reidy and Ray Lynch, but they are prone to bad days as well which they can get away with at local level but they will be badly exposed on this stage if they aren’t firing at 100%.

They are massive underdogs so have nothing to lose on Sunday. If can stick to the game plan they have had all along and if things fall right for them then they won’t be far away. On the flip side if things don’t go well for them early on and Crossmaglen get there tails up then it could be a very bleak day for the Drom boys. Fingers crossed they can put up a good showing anyways.[/quote]

Read a few interviews with their coach as well Runt, a corkman as well. Appears to be well regarded amongst football folk in Cork but havent ever heard of him involved with any county teams. Think he trained UCC last year as well

Ya, he’s from just over the border in Duhallow. It’s been a great rise for Drom, they were Junior B about 10 years ago and have 4 senior titles won since. They are a sound bunch of lads as well, there’s real good will towards them in the football community in Limerick, which is odd considering how dominate they have been in the past few years.

Jayz that’s some rise alright Runt. Is there many Senior clubs in Limerick football?
It’s a pity they’re up against one of the greatest club football teams. But you never know.
Drom don’t seem to score much though do they Runt? 13 points in the last 2 games-7 v Nemo and 6 v Kilmurry Ibrickane (Whoever the hell they are).
As you say though, their defence seems solid enough.

Is it John Fintan Daly is over Drom Runt?

Edit: Just remembered its Ned English, has been with Duhallow last 2 years as well. I’ve met ned a couple of times, he’s mad. But a very nice guy with incredible passion for the game. Everyone likes him as a coach from what i have heard, and i think he’s one of these coaches that adapts to different teams. Alot of coaches has success with some formla somewhere and think thats the way to go with every team.
He had been unlucky himself with playing Nemo over the last few years so that was good experience for when Drom beat them. Apparently they squeezed the life out of Nemo, which is not easy to do.

[quote=“Pikeman”] Kilmurry Ibrickane (Whoever the hell they are).

It is a small parish of Clare, that came about after mass emmigration from the Aston suberb of Brimingham.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Jayz that’s some rise alright Runt. Is there many Senior clubs in Limerick football?
It’s a pity they’re up against one of the greatest club football teams. But you never know.
Drom don’t seem to score much though do they Runt? 13 points in the last 2 games-7 v Nemo and 6 v Kilmurry Ibrickane (Whoever the hell they are).As you say though, their defence seems solid enough.[/quote]

KIB man won’t be happy with you here Pike.:wink:

Cheers lads-was hoping ye’d say nothin til he bit himself though.

Sorry Pike. :wink:

poor aul Pikemans wind up was ruined before it ever got started…

No, it’s Ned English. Think he managed Duhallow (with moderate success) for a few years before coming to Drom. He’s backed up by two local lads.

Jayz that’s some rise alright Runt. Is there many Senior clubs in Limerick football?
Drom don’t seem to score much though do they Runt? 13 points in the last 2 games-7 v Nemo and 6 v Kilmurry Ibrickane (Whoever the hell they are).
As you say though, their defence seems solid enough

There’s 12 senior teams in Limerick. Usually ran off on a league basis of the 2 groups of 6, with the top 3 on each side going through to knockout.

I don’t think you could read much into those games. There manager had played against Nemo in the championship for the past 3 seasons so had a game plan down to a tee. Which basically involved keeping things ultra tight at the back and taking their chances when they came. They kicked 15 points in the Limerick county final and although they only kicked 7 in the munster final they only had 2 wides so they can score alright when they get the chances. The question is whether they will get enough of them on Sunday!

Cha hurled a full game for St Pats Drumcondra and scored 0-5 Yesterday according to KCLR96FM,far from out if this is the case.
Twill make the game all the better now that hes playing.Cant wait for it,id be up for Ballyhale but i reckon Portumna by 4 points.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Cha hurled a full game for St Pats Drumcondra and scored 0-5 Yesterday according to KCLR96FM,far from out if this is the case.
Twill make the game all the better now that hes playing.Cant wait for it,id be up for Ballyhale but i reckon Portumna by 4 points.[/quote]

Spotted that there, quite the comeback. Good to get the game under the belt too.