Club championships

Hal Roach won upcoming star in the 1968 tops of the town but disappointingly Dungarven only came third in the overall prize that year

Around Clonmel or Carrick I thought?

Tis a grey area…Pretty sure he is tipp but Waterford tried to claim them as their own…Same way John Mullane is a Clare man but they have laid claim to him

sean kelly was a racist who saw himself as a brit- why would anyone claim him??

I dunno NCC, maybe Cian Foley might be able to fill us in

Aye, sounds like a Tipp man alright.

:slight_smile:

Joe Canning is better than Shefflin. There. I said it.

You sir are bang on, he is unreal.

No doubt. Its a shame the lad was born in a choker county though. Joe Canning is basically the Galway attack.

Poor stuff. Embarrassed for you.

Big Dan won hurler of the year didnt he?

Seconded.

I think he’ll go down as one if not the greatest we’ve ever seen.

A phenomenon.

I knew a lad from Waterford one time who was decent at bingo. He won once or twice, i think.

Chris Doran. Although when it came to the big day he got less points than Waterford in the last All Ireland.

And that’s bad…:slight_smile:

Fantastic game between Ballyhale and Portumna alright. Ballyhale were playing TJ Reid back to sweep up in front of Joe Canning but it didn’t work at all. Down the other end, Ollie cleaned up as he had acres of space in their two man full forward line. Too often, Shamrocks sent ball into the full forward line but there was no one there to claim it.

Portumna’s gameplan seemed to be to choke a player of possession and it was all to often a sight seeing 4 or 5 Portumna lads around a Shamrocks player.

Joe Canning was class again, and I nearly creamed myself when he hand flicked the ball to a player as it bounced just in front of him. For the whole game he was laying off perfect balls to players in space. The lad’s a genius at such a young age.

Some of Portumna’s goals were lucky it has to be said and Connolly in the goal made a couple of mistakes- along with a couple of fine saves.

The other game wasn’t quite as good but I was impressed with Cushendall-all strong, handy hurlers and were unlucky not to win it. DLS will be handed their arses by Portumna in what I fear could be another one sided final.

Saw both the football games and was very impressed by Kilmacud-and I thought I’d never say it but Vaughan was excellent. As was Morrissey of course-set up a lot of play and carried a huge amount of ball.

Drom were terrible and completely collapsed on the day and you can’t do that to one of the greatest football clubs in Ireland. Should be an intriguing final.

Drom arent the first side to wilt in front of Cross, they’re an amazing Club to fair to them. Funny to see Francie up in the sqaure for the 2nd goal, he’s getting awful adventurous.

Vaughan is a strange one, he’s capable of the sublime and the ridiculous, in equal measure. He’s very important for that Crokes side anyway.

AM I right in saying they brought on Jonny Magee, Liam McBarron and some other former/current inter county player? Some talent there.

Anyone know what Brian Kavanagh is driving these days or are those rumours true?

Very disappointed that Drom didn’t put up a better performance on Saturday. I had mentioned in my preview that a lot would depend on their forwards being on form and unfortunately they weren’t at the races at all. Too many slack hand passes and once they conceded the early goals they were chasing the game from the off. THe only bright spot was the performance of Jason Stokes. An immmense footballer and if he can stay injury free he should play a pivitol role for the county team this year.

Fair play to Cross, they did what they had to do. Should be a great final, and with there record in finals it’ll be hard to see them being beat.

[quote=“The Dunph”]Seconded.

I think he’ll go down as one if not the greatest we’ve ever seen.

A phenomenon.[/quote]

Christ sake hold your horses.

He’ll have to win the big one on the inter county stage before anybody even tries to compare him to Aidan Fogarty let alone Shefflin.

He was fabulous last year but still lost.
Let him play a few years before you crown him.

Cloonan was hitting big scores and winning Club All-Irelands too and where does he rank?

I imagine Canning will be something special but can we not just enjoy the lad without heaping ridiculous expectations on him.

This year Henry will probably break the All-Time scoring record in championship matches and will be hoping to win his 7th AI medal.