I would use the word legend to describe him, a superb player and a gent to boot…
And what about your own club man? Saw the bright lights of Wexford football and couldn’t resist.
The fact he was shown up to be shite and that I could barely remember his name is another story.
You might be correct then again you might not.
[quote=“Pikeman”] Saw the bright lights of Wexford football and couldn’t resist.
Your funny:p
He was obviously in some sort of a piss-take of a job in Cork so.
By the way, how were the Wexford lads grabbing money? You’re weird logic makes me laugh sometimes.
[quote=“Mac”]He was obviously in some sort of a piss-take of a job in Cork so.
Think he was in College there at the time Mac
[quote=“Mac”]Tis an hour at least lad.
Anyway, Naomh Eanna arent up to much these days so Travers is as well playing at a better standard to improve himself. If he moved clubs at home he’d be a traitor. Didnt help him much though when Liam Dunne destroyed him last year.[/quote]
So what if they aren’t up to much. He is in clear travelling distance from his club.
Ye are defending the undefendable here lads. A true club man would travel home once a month for his club, as thats all he would be expected to do if he was a county hurler.
Its becoming clearer now why certain counties aren’t doing as well as they should. If your best players leave their clubs to play in Dublin then they are loosing a lot of infuence and expertise that a county player brings to the club.
If he moves very far away then its understandable. A club next door to me have alot of guys (7 or 8 i think) in Dublin, and another in Liverpool. They all come home at least twice a month for football.
[quote=“Mac”]He was obviously in some sort of a piss-take of a job in Cork so.
Lohans were both educated lads. Genuinely sound men as well, not an ounce of shit about them.
Unlike some of the Claremen around here so
[quote=“Pikeman”]And what about your own club man? Saw the bright lights of Wexford football and couldn’t resist.
The fact he was shown up to be shite and that I could barely remember his name is another story.[/quote]
That you could barely remember his name is neither here nor there. You strike me as the kind of chap that walks around with bog roll stuck to your shoes and flies down.
He transferred to Castletown too. He was obviously lording it at club level when he got brought into the county side. Personal difficulties meant he couldnt settle in north Wexford so he moved back home. Its a bit different to lads who travel back for county training but tell the club at home to go fuck themselves.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]So what if they aren’t up to much. He is in clear travelling distance from his club.
Ye are defending the undefendable here lads. A true club man would travel home once a month for his club, as thats all he would be expected to do if he was a county hurler.
Its becoming clearer now why certain counties aren’t doing as well as they should. If your best players leave their clubs to play in Dublin then they are loosing a lot of infuence and expertise that a county player brings to the club.
If he moves very far away then its understandable. A club next door to me have alot of guys (7 or 8 i think) in Dublin, and another in Liverpool. They all come home at least twice a month for football.[/quote]
Agreed, always had a lot of respect for the Offaly footballer Ciaran McManus, who used to(and still does I think) commute over and back from Stuttgart(or some other German city) every weekend to represent his county despite the fact that they were not up to much
Someone’s very hormonal today. Did the missus forget the anniversary again mac?
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]So what if they aren’t up to much. He is in clear travelling distance from his club.
If he moves very far away then its understandable. A club next door to me have alot of guys (7 or 8 i think) in Dublin, and another in Liverpool. They all come home at least twice a month for football.[/quote]
Why didnt you travel from Arklow / Wexford to Cork then Kev if other lads could do it from Dublin and Liverpool?
Several clubs hounded him, a friend of mine worked with him in SKB. Sound man, met him a few times.
Hormonal, not at all. In the mood for a bit of banter, possibly.
Says everything about the attitude in the club. Lads don’t make the long trip home to win fuck all in the year ahead.
One lad playing hurling for a club in Dublin has the Wexford County team gone to shite alright Kev
I was trying to get involved in the local community, i had planned to stay there. I started with coaching and travelling down for a while, but had to work weekends on shift, so once i started missing games it was pointless. Plus Arklow is a good bit further driving than Dublin-Cork.
Ye Wexford lads are very sensitive today.
Maybe if your players were more loyal to your clubs they would do better as a county team.
Unfortunately not KIB man. He really wasn’t very good at all. We had a terribly poor manager at time in Paul Bealin, who had relocated from Dublin, and lives in north county Wexford. Bealin got involved with Castletown and I guess that’s where their paths crossed and this awfully average player was catapulted into the county set up. I’m sitting here shaking my head remembering the day yer man O’Dwyer came on against Meath in Wexford Park. Fooking hell!
[quote=“KIB man”]That you could barely remember his name is neither here nor there. You strike me as the kind of chap that walks around with bog roll stuck to your shoes and flies down.
He transferred to Castletown too. He was obviously lording it at club level when he got brought into the county side. Personal difficulties meant he couldnt settle in north Wexford so he moved back home. Its a bit different to lads who travel back for county training but tell the club at home to go fuck themselves.[/quote]
I barely remember his name because he was/is a non entity but apparently the best footballer in Clare.
Don’t know where you’re going with the attempted insult (unless you yourself are this Dwyer lad and If you are I apologise that you couldn’t make the step up in Wexford)
Don’t know how Travers is telling his club to go fuck themselves. I’m sure he thought he’d give it a go with a superior and a Senior club (Gorey are a poor intermediate team) in Dublin and it so happened where he was living was one of the best senior teams in Leinster. It’s a pity he transferred but I don’t think he’s telling Gorey to go fuck themselves and helps whatever way he can as his brothers still play there.