Club championships

I was ending up playing nothing, it was easier to get to a game in Wicklow at the weekends. If you couldn’t understand that from my post then i apologise. I’ll spell things out a bit better for you the next time.

No, not of trechery. Just not willing to spend their own money on travelling.
I’m fairly stunned at ye all thinking this is a good thing.

You’d cut the tension with a knife in here today. There’s something big in the post I can feel it.

[quote=“KIB man”]The Wexford CB should show a bit of leadership and instruct the senior management only to pick players who play for Wexford clubs. They wouldnt be long seeing those transfer forms winging their way back. Wexford to Dublin is no distance FFS. The two lads concerned wouldnt be a huge loss from what I’ve seen or if they are, it says it all.

aye, it seems to be a huge problem in Wexford alright. one hurler just about on the senior team and a footballer who is in and out of the first side. Massive problems in Wexford with transfers in Dublin and the sooner it is solved, the better. Those lads who are living away and training away shouldnt have told thier clubs to fook off.

And sure Wexford to Dublin is only half an hour. Pity no one informed me of this as I cant say I’ve ever got to Dublin in less than 2 hours drive, havent even got out of county Wexford in less than an hour so its good to see its now only half an hour to Dublin.

Its lucky that it seems no other county has a problem with this kind of transferring to clubs in other counties. What with the AI winning captain from Armagh playing in Dublin must have only been a blip.

NCC could be about to reveal one of his GGA exclusives.

That’s if he has finished wiping the spittle from his monitor.

[quote=“Gman”]aye, it seems to be a huge problem in Wexford alright. one hurler just about on the senior team and a footballer who is in and out of the first side. Massive problems in Wexford with transfers in Dublin and the sooner it is solved, the better. Those lads who are living away and training away shouldnt have told thier clubs to fook off.

And sure Wexford to Dublin is only half an hour. Pity no one informed me of this as I cant say I’ve ever got to Dublin in less than 2 hours drive, havent even got out of county Wexford in less than an hour so its good to see its now only half an hour to Dublin.

Its lucky that it seems no other county has a problem with this kind of transferring to clubs in other counties. What with the AI winning captain from Armagh playing in Dublin must have only been a blip.[/quote]

And while he was off drumming up te farcical GPA his club was falling away up in Armagh.
I wouldn’t use him as an example.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]And while he was off drumming up te farcical GPA his club was falling away up in Armagh.
I wouldn’t use him as an example.[/quote]

see, you missed my point then. Its already been said that Morriseys club won the county intermediate this year and have a couple of other players involved in the county senior set up, so his club isnt falling away to shite. So the fact he told his club to fook off hasnt ruined them or any such shite. Morrisey was actually captain of his club the last time they won intermediate, when he was only 21 or 22, so I hardly say he told them to fook off and probably took a lot for him to transfer.

I lived in Dublin for a few years, and still played with the club at home, but it got to the stage where I was just about to quit it as I couldnt get home every week and my committment wasnt what it should have been. Other things in life affect things, so dont know why lads can go on as if they know everything about these lads personal lives. It suits some people to play for the club they are living in, and others can make the time to get home and stay with their home clubs.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Yeah if he does. The original suggestion was that he is already a better player than Henry Shefflin.

Great is one thing. There have been many great players. But Henry Shefflin is beyond great and to suggest that a player who has only played one Senior season and not even made an AIQF will be better is hugely premature.

Aidan Fogarty is a 3-time AI winner and a man of the match in the AI Final. To say that he is not fit to lace Joe Cannings boots on the basis of Joe Cannings career so far is laughable.

tip: the use of the word “Fact” on its own lessens your argument rather than supports it.

I said I believe that Canning will be something special but until he plays on the biggest stage at the highest level we will not know how great he is. You can become a great player without winning the AI but all the iconic names (Keher, Ring, Doyle, Shefflin, Carey etc…) won the AI, and won it multiple times.

If you look at the GAA Hurling team of the Millennium, how many do you think have never won an AI?

How many of them won less than two?[/quote]

I’m not arguing that he is better than Shefflin. Of course, that’s preamture. I suspect he may be considered so in time but we’ll see. Shefflin is certainly the greatest hurler of the past 10 years and one of the greatest of all time.

I’m arguing with two of your points though

1. Canning will have to win an All Ireland medal to be considered an all time great.
  2. Aidan Fogarty is a comparable hurler.

You’ve accepted my first point. BTW, when for the vast history of hurling three dominant counties have been competing for the All Ireland title it’s not surprising that most of the team of the millenium are multiple All Ireland winners. Would Peter Canavan not have been great had he retired in 2002?

For some reason you want to insist that an effective and speedy but relatively average corner forward has achieved more in the game than Canning because he’s managed to make Kilkenny’s first 15 over the past three years. He’s in and out of the team and with the exception of September 2006 has never had a game changing influence on any big match. Like I say, I like Fogarty and I think he’s underrated but get real.

tip: You weaken your otherwise reasonable arguement when you engage in the ridiculous :wink:

I didn’t say or infer that in my previous post. But, to answer your question, there’s the odd decent yoke but, like most other places, a swarm of munters too.

[quote=“Gman”]see, you missed my point then. Its already been said that Morriseys club won the county intermediate this year and have a couple of other players involved in the county senior set up, so his club isnt falling away to shite. So the fact he told his club to fook off hasnt ruined them or any such shite. Morrisey was actually captain of his club the last time they won intermediate, when he was only 21 or 22, so I hardly say he told them to fook off and probably took a lot for him to transfer.

I lived in Dublin for a few years, and still played with the club at home, but it got to the stage where I was just about to quit it as I couldnt get home every week and my committment wasnt what it should have been. Other things in life affect things, so dont know why lads can go on as if they know everything about these lads personal lives. It suits some people to play for the club they are living in, and others can make the time to get home and stay with their home clubs.[/quote]

Ok, the club is in good nick. That doesn’t get away from the fact that he won’t make the effort to play. The county give him expenses, the club doesn’t. I’m not for a minute saying he is the only one, there are many many more examples.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]And while he was off drumming up te farcical GPA his club was falling away up in Armagh.
I wouldn’t use him as an example.[/quote]

No and how the fuck he was captain beat all. I wonder what they think of him now in Mullahoran.

Nicky English is possibly the best example. His club were absolute rank junior team. He was living in Dublin. Yet he still came down to play and probably kept the club alive as a result

That what I cant understand Kev. They head back training with the county team anyway. They might have to head back club training once a month giving everyone a boost. All they would have to do is play the championship games and the odd league game. Probably what they do for their adopted club anyway or maybe their on appearance ‘bonuses’.

That’s as much as locally based County players do in a lot of cases anyways.

A lot of the Dublin based Wexford county players often train together in Dublin during the week as far as I know. So they’re not returning home multiple times during the week.

The way you lads are talking you’d swear everyone should give up living their lives between the ages of 18-65 and let GAA take over it.

[quote=“bo-sco”]
For some reason you want to insist that an effective and speedy but relatively average corner forward has achieved more in the game than Canning because he’s managed to make Kilkenny’s first 15 over the past three years. He’s in and out of the team and with the exception of September 2006 has never had a game changing influence on any big match. Like I say, I like Fogarty and I think he’s underrated but get real.

tip: You weaken your otherwise reasonable arguement when you engage in the ridiculous ;)[/quote]

Spot on. It’ll be interesting to see how long you stay above the ridiculous around here though. The day will come where you’ll have to get your hands dirty.

Aren’t Kilkenny fellas great when it comes to taking pot shots at other counties? Let me tell you a thing or two about yereselves my good man.

Kilkenny people are great really, they come in their droves over the bridge everyday to help the Deise folk with their daily duties. At a certain time of the year however they start talking about three in a rows and 20 odd all Irelands which makes most waterford people’s eyes glaze over. As a famous Waterfordian once said in reparte to a 20+ all ireland’s comment, “It’s a pity ye don’t have 20 odd factories so we wouldn’t have to listen to ye!”

Kilkenny is famous for a castle, hurling and stag nights. It is also famous for its county town of the same name, which was once a city in the 1600s, which became a town, is now a medieval city and has more roundabouts then Disney Land.

The fact that according to the census that towns like Tramore are nearly the same size (approx 9000 inhabitants) doesn’t seem to bother their claim to cityness… It is rumoured that Tramore Town council are considering renaming the area to Tramore Seaside Stoneage City for the craic just as Wexford has been donned the mobile city title in recent years too.

Kilkenny people have a tendency to overreact on given issues e.g. if some one says Cork has more all Irelands than them, or Kilkenny is not a city, or Waterford’s border should be allowed to expand you had better shut up you Nazi scum! Rather than be looked after with regard to good drinking Water, roads, serices etc. people living on the Waterford border would rather die of thirst then live within Waterford’s city boundaries. It is maintained that the people of the area (mostly Waterford people) will lose their identity if their land becomes part of the city? Maybe there is some electromagnetic pulse will wipe out all electronic identity data in this area if a border extension were ever to occur. There must be some basis to this claim? Whatever happens, this area of Kilkenny will soon become the largest urban area in the county and Kilkenny will become the only county in Ireland with two cities, Kilkenny City and Ferrybank City.

please do Cian…

[quote=“Mac”]A lot of the Dublin based Wexford county players often train together in Dublin during the week as far as I know. So they’re not returning home multiple times during the week.

The way you lads are talking you’d swear everyone should give up living their lives between the ages of 18-65 and let GAA take over it.[/quote]

Jesus Fuck, thats unbelievable.

You’d say anything to back up your argument. As far as i’m aware you are involved in your club. I am, and i do see myself in the GAA for the rest of my life, but it is the way i want to live my life, i don’t see it as giving up my life, in fact i see it as quite the opposite. I got looked after by great people over the years, now i give back. I would expect the same of a county player, and the least this would involve would play for the club that helped me up if i live within driving distance of the club.
Maybe there are a couple of bad egg county players in every county, who are only in it for the prestige or the expenses.

[quote=“Cian Foley”]Aren’t Kilkenny fellas great when it comes to taking pot shots at other counties? Let me tell you a thing or two about yereselves my good man.

Guess who’s back
Back again
Cian is back
Tell a friend
Guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back
guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back…

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Guess who’s back
Back again
Cian is back
Tell a friend
Guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back
guess who’s back, guess who’s back, guess who’s back…[/quote]

:wink:

woeful,

wonder what was going through your head when you were posting that