Paul will be telling us soon about all the majors heās won.
Kev is hilarious. Absolutely hilarious.
[QUOTE=āJulio Geordio, post: 1021383, member: 332ā]PMcG: Yeah, there was a lovely story . . . I missed the cut that week in Abu Dhabi, my head was all over the place, and I go home and get my diary out for the two years. I had a big meeting with the Tour about the dates and the picks and where I needed to go and we decided that we were going to treat ourselves and go back to San Diego as a family for the Easter holidays.
PK: And this is special because San Diego is where you met?
PMcG: Yeah, and the kids love it there. Weāre staying in a Marriott (hotel) on the I-5 freeway. Itās not that luxurious but we have inter-connecting rooms and access to the business lounge on the top floor, where you can have your breakfast free in the morning. We go to bed and wake up the next morning at 6.30 jet-lagged, so I tell Ali Iām going upstairs to get some doughnuts and coffee.
PK: To the business lounge?
PMcG: Yeah. So I put on a pair of shorts and a t-shirt and some flip flops and get into the lift and it goes up one floor and this guy gets in. Heās suited and booted and has a briefcase and is full of the joys of spring.
āHey buddy, how you doing?ā
I said, āGrand, yeah, how are you?ā
āIs that an Irish accent?ā
āYeah, Iām from Ireland.ā
āOh my God, I love Ireland. My mumās from Ireland. I live in Boston and was brought up in a Catholic Irish school.ā
So the lift is going up and heās going on about Ireland and I notice he is wearing a Ryder Cup tie from Medinah. So I change the subject:
"Were you in Medinah last year?ā
āIāve gone to the Ryder Cup for the last 20 years,ā he says. "Itās the greatest event of all time. The best Ryder Cup ever was the one in Ireland in 2006, it was just amazing.ā
So we get to the top floor and as weāre getting out of the lift I ask: āWill you be going to Gleneagles?ā He says, āHey man, of course Iām going to Gleneagles, weāve got an Irish guy as captain, how could I miss it?ā
(McGinley laughs)
So we go in and weāre getting our coffee and he says āAre you going to Gleneagles?ā And I said, āYeah, I might go.ā He says āBuddy, see you there.ā
PK: You never told him?
PMcG: I never told him.
PK: Thatās a great story.
PMcG: Well, itās one of those stories that sums up (the difference between) Tom Watson and me - that would never happen to Tom Watson in a lift in San Diego.
Its actually an okay read.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/ryder-cup/paul-kimmage-interview-ryder-cup-captain-paul-mcginley-forged-in-gaa-furnace-30584751.html[/QUOTE]
How many hundred stories is the building?
[QUOTE=āEsteban de la Sexface, post: 1021397, member: 2695ā]https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT7DEqmxnbj0v4oPwO12YzhQUfa5m_2xV-CL__CmWeSDKV_07cb
just googled it, there is one for definite.
http://www.property.ie/commercial-property/William-Street-the-Mall-Tullamore-Co-Offaly/42022/[/QUOTE]
You must be fucking bored. :)
You must be fucking bored. :)[/QUOTE]
the man asked a question, I answered.
that is a cop out, he is paid as a journalist to get access to these people, and ask them the hard questions, not leave it for the reader to conclude.
There should be a truth to journalism, if Kimmage felt he was being lied to, he has the responsibility to call the interviewee out on it, not print these fabrications with lazy, cool story bro, responses and hope that some of the readers will induce that he may have been laughing behind PMG back.
Sarcasm doesnāt work in print.
[QUOTE=āEsteban de la Sexface, post: 1021651, member: 2695ā]that is a cop out, he is paid as a journalist to get access to these people, and ask them the hard questions, not leave it for the reader to conclude.
There should be a truth to journalism, if Kimmage felt he was being lied to, he has the responsibility to call the interviewee out on it, not print these fabrications with lazy, cool story bro, responses and hope that some of the readers will induce that he may have been laughing behind PMG back.
Sarcasm doesnāt work in print.[/QUOTE]
If Kimmage called him out after McGinley told the first story then McGinley would have gotten defensive and not told the rest of them.
cool story, bro
Kimmage was making himself unemployable because he was calling people out in a cuntish way. And now heās being slagged off for being a bit more accommodating.
Says a lot that a journalist who actually does his job is unemployable, Iād say it sickens his hole having to print fluff like that McGinley shite.
yes, its always the extremes with that cunt kimmage , a curmudgeon or a doormat , never any sense of middle ground
fuck him & fuck you too
You just donāt get it fella. He gave McGinley the rope and allowed him to hang himself in an entertaining manner for the purpose of the piece. That was the smart play for the reasons outlined by @chewy louie.
Itās not Kimmageās fault if some lads are dense and canāt read between the lines
Yet it took an amusing twist of fate to get him there. Needing $6000, quite a sum in 1989, to fund his California dream, McGinley and his dad sought a bank loan.
Granted an appointment by a senior Bank of Ireland executive, they noticed a club and a few golf balls in the corner when they entered the office. āPaul, Iām having terrible trouble with my pitching wedge, Iām duffing all my chips, can you help,ā said the official. A quick lesson did the trick and an assistant was told: āgive these guys what they want!ā
isnāt that the whole point of having journalists though, so people donāt have to read between the lines?
Only if youāre a complete dullard who only reads The Sun.
ah here
FFS sake.
yes it is
you seem to have an awful issue with this guy and are looking for any little thing to hammer himā¦are you really surprised about a veteran sporting pro adding spice to his stories??..they all do itā¦its nothing newā¦this after dinner speaking professional footballers do is pure fictionā¦ but people want to hear itā¦
kimmage interviewed Tony Cascarino a few weeks backā¦ according to roy keane Cascarino is a pure liar about the stories he tellsā¦kimmage knows what sells when it comes to these interviewsā¦and thatās not necessarily the truth ā¦
you can go as basic as going back to your old gaa club on Stephenās day or whenever thereās a get together with old team mates and talk about an old match and youāll hear 10 different versions of the same game, all pure hyperboleā¦ ā¦
I donāt see McGinley unique in this regard