Cork GAA 2014

I’ll just put up my post from the PROC.

It’s a win.Job done.Paul Kerrrigan did what he should be doing every game and that driving this team on.Kickouts are still a serious problem if that isn’t sorted then our season will be over next week.I think we should go with Ian Maguire and Fintan Gould in midfield next week.It’s quite sad that were still at 2010 with Aidan Walsh.He mixes the good with the bad but those flaws should have been ironed out of his game by now.Sligo came back into it in the second half but we had the match pretty much won at half time.There was always going to be a dip in performance then although we should have beaten them out the gap.Brian Hurley had a poor game but he kept on trying in fairness to him.To describe Sligo as a poor team would be an understatement.Im also happy that we seem to have acknowledged our problems with regards to our exposed backline in the munster final but we should have been working on this blanket defence/counterattacking system since last February isntead of throwing up a rush job version of it today.I’ll say this about Cubby he’s not afraid to try things and hopefully we can get enough work done during the week to have a serious rattle at Mayo.Im confident that there’s a huge performance in us the next day.We saw signs of improvement with regards to our style of play and hopefully the knife in the big ball brigade will have to wait a little while longer for their unlimited access to the dual players.

Drop Walsh? Jaysus that’s mad talk BC.

Some amount of optimism on PROC, fuck knows what game they were watching.

Sky sports. Most people listen to the commentary more than watch the game.
St. Vincent’s, Crossmaglen and Crokes would all be close to beating Sligo. That’s the reality.

I’d love to say this post is my work but it isn’t!It cheered me up though reading it.

In the midst of the negativity of how this year seems to be gone, I can’t go along with some of the comments about how Cork football is in such low place. In the medium term past this season we’re in a great position, the best after Dublin. Even leaving out the dual players, we have potentially ‘top’ players varying different stages of their senior intercounty careers spread throughout the side.

The older crew including Shields, Kerrigan, Goold, Goulding, Cadogan and Kelly should have another few years yet. The good thing, depending on how you look at it, is that we aren’t relying on them. How they go could vary but Kerrigan and Goold have looked inspired at times this year, and Shields and Cadogan are corner stones of the defence. I’d be amazed if players of the pedigree of Goulding and Kelly don’t have a major say over the next few years too.

Colm is behind that by a few years and seems on his way back as strong as ever after injuries as one of the country’s best players. Collins has finally established himself in a key role there too, and COD seems to be bolting from the blue in fantastic fashion. A pity about the rest of that group (Kiely, Jamie and Denis O’Sullivan - Sheehan and Walsh potentially leaving the sport) but its far from terrible either.

Clancy and Hurley are now well established and important parts of team and likely to be 2 main anchors of defence and attack over the next decade. John O’Rourke is tettering around there as a player who could develop and important role very quickly.

The crew below all that are very promising. Maguire, BOD and Vaughan in the next wave after that are 3 players who would be very confident of establishing themselves as top class intercounty footballers in a short enough space of time. Crowley we haven’t see enough of but you’d suspect similar. Dan Mac Eoin and a few others from this group have the potential to do likewise.

And once that older crew start to finish off, we have the players to step up into leadership roles, the players behind that to support, and from looking at our underage teams we will have a nice conveyor belt flowing all the time.

You can’t take anything for granted in Cork football, but that’s a great core to built a team around and there’s plenty players I didn’t mention are very good intercounty footballers. It’s not taking into account one or all of the dual players selecting to play football and reaching their true potential at it. Walsh is Walsh, potentially the best midfielder in the country if he focused on it, and Cahelane has major potential too as a middle third player used properly. Hopefully Sheehan gets a good run down under, but if not… that’s potentially the best footballer in the Country to come riding back over the sunset and would be a serious game changer. Not worth teasing ourselves with though.

Before all that, I expect a performance next week. We’re in the position that suits Cork football and are in the position that they despise and I think that will tell. Weather it’s enough, I doubt it.

Im actually very optimistic about this weekend and i have to applaud the way Cubby and Ronan McCarthy are highlighting Mayos cynical fouling to the media.I also liked the way Cubby is trying to psyche out Mayo with his they must be under fierce pressure after losing two all ireland finals,they know this is their last chance comments.They are the second favourites for the all ireland while we are well down the pecking order i’d imagine.Those are the comments of a man priming his charges to explode on Sunday.A competive performance is the bare minimum i expect this weekend.

I think Mayo are too long in ye game from that carry on. Don’t see it working, pretty decent ref anyway so I wouldn’t be too bothered about it.

I would be surprised if Cork play the exact same way as the last day.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 992055, member: 273”]I think Mayo are too long in ye game from that carry on. Don’t see it working, pretty decent ref anyway so I wouldn’t be too bothered about it.

I would be surprised if Cork play the exact same way as the last day.[/QUOTE]

Whatever way we play i honestly think were going to win this Sunday.This is a team packed full of senior all ireland winners,underage all ireland winners and sigerson cup winners.They have too much pride as a playing group to bow out of the championship on a whimper.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 992055, member: 273”]I think Mayo are too long in ye game from that carry on. Don’t see it working, pretty decent ref anyway so I wouldn’t be too bothered about it.

I would be surprised if Cork play the exact same way as the last day.[/QUOTE]

Agreed, doubt it will have the slightest bearing on the game. All a bit desperate.

[QUOTE=“tallback, post: 992074, member: 1158”]Would ya go away and shite. Your team got ruined last night and were reduced to cheap shots. Your initial reaction wasn’t to congratulate the Clare team on their supreme display, it was to say in a mealy mouthed way that the reason Cork lost was their manager. It was on their hole. A management team of JBM, Cody, Liam Griffin wouldn’t have saved you from one of the best U21 teams ever. When called on it you’ve a cut off Dublin hurling bizarrely and now you’re trying to weasel out of the benevolence of the Irish state to the outstretched hands of Cork GAA by claiming you’re against it. Pitiful.

You’re a good man for a review of a Limerick chipper though.[/QUOTE]

I will address this post from the Clare GAA thread here.Yes Clare are producing plenty of quality underage teams yet a Cork team with no pedigree of winning titles underage came within Gavin time of beating the Clare lads with all their underage all ireland medals last September.They also beat Clare in the championship this year.I never said Cork would have won with a better manager i said that they would have ran Clare closer.Your picking out holes in my argument that aren’t there.

The Cork Senior Football team to play Mayo in the All-Ireland Quarter-Final on Sunday at 4pm in Croke Park will line out as follows

1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
  2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
  3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
  4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
  5. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s – Captain)
  6. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
  7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
  8. Ian Maguire (St. Finbarr’s)
  9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
  10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
  11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
  12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
  13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
  14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
  15. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)

The Cork management have opted to make no changes to the starting fifteen ahead of the quarter-final. Donncha O’Connor returns to the squad following an injury lay-off, while John Hayes is also available having served a one-match ban following his sending off in the Munster Final. Kevin Crowley remains on the injury list.

Subs
16. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
17. Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven)
18. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
19. Seán Kiely (Ballincollig)
20. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
21. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
22. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
23. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
24. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
25. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
26. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)

So Sean Dineen and Thomas Clancy from Fermoy got game time against Sligo and now their dropped from the panel.Im hearing that Cubby and the players are seriously at odds with each other.

I expect us to bring a savage workrate and intensity to the table today.Surely to god we’ll have a plan to disrupt Mayo in midfield and i expect us to fight for the breaking ball like savages.We have the forwards to damage any team and we have the back up on the bench.If it’s close enough with 50 minutes to go then i expect us to drive on from there.Cubby seems bullish enough in that Examiner interview.I hope it’s justified!Although he seems to be praising himself again for making substitutions in time.It seems to be players fault when we lose with this crowd and they shower praise on themselves when we win.Anyway it’s all about performing in August and September not June and July.I honestly expect a huge performance from Cork today.If worst came to worse i would take a Mayo all ireland win over a Kerry Dublin or Donegal one but it won’t come to that.Cork will win or at least go down fighting.We have a team full of warriors and they will perform like warriors today.

We lost yesterday.Were entering into 5 years without an all ireland since our win in 2010 but i was pretty damn proud of that performance we put in.I honestly thought we left everything out on that pitch yesterday.I think the fact that Mayo were that bit more experienced and organised was the main difference but i was awful proud of the fight our fellas showed.I thought we set the terms and conditions in the first half.We were choking them up effectively and i thought we played the counterattacking game very well.There was a few bad turnovers at times but that’s what you get when your trying something at the last minute.If only we put more work into that system and style of play during the league.I was very happy at half time.Cads was back on form and O’Neill and Hurley were causing them serious problems.But that was a fucking disaster that period around the start of the second half when they went 7 or 8 points up.It’s always the same old thing with Brian Cuthbert managed teams they always have to empty the tank chasing a game.The minor team he took to an all ireland final had to constantly come back from large deficits.

But the way we just came back at them when we looked to be finished.That goal could be Donnachas final contribution in a Cork jersey.When O’Shea got the clinching goal a lot of teams would have wilted at that point but back we come with a rocket from Brian Hurley and we should have had a penalty as well and the referee told lies when he said he was letting play continue after the closing point by Colm O’Neill.But i was again just fierce proud of the way we kept on fighting until the final whistle and i thought we done enough to earn a draw.Ultimately you can’t be giving teams 7 or 8 point winning margins games and we need to decide on a style of play and work on it during next years McGrath Cup and league campaign and we have the players to play a blanket defence/counterattacking game better than anyone.This year has been a learning curve for the newer players and it’s been a learning curve for Cubby and his selectors and i hope the management team will learn some hard lessons this year.We have to have a settled team and settled gameplan heading into the championship next year.God help us all if their still going to be changing the team and style of play from week to week by the time this time next year rolls around!If Cubby feels that he needs some more experienced hands involved in his set up well then he better get them in and get them fairly lively.

But i was proud of the fight the players showed.It’s a pity those two classy goals by Donnacha and Brian weren’t enough to win us the game but i think there’s an all ireland in this team in 2015 if Cubby has learned his lessons.I was going to wish Mayo all the best for the rest of the championship but i was disappointed by James Horans classless antics towards our management team at the final whistle.I thank Cubby and the players for their efforts for the county in 2015 and please god we’ll regroup, learn our lessons and be back with a vengeance in 2015.This Cork team has plenty of great days ahead but until then bring on the McGrath Cup in the wind and the rain in January!Rebels Abu.We Go Again.

Doubt there is an AI in the team when the likes of Shields, Cadogan, Cahalane, Kelly etc are so consistently poor-to-average. Cuthbert seems to be a decent motivator/man manager but, just like with the Minors, his team selection and tactics seem almost arbitrary.

Totally agree. Players need to up their game, but tactically it looks like he is learning on the job.

BC - I thought Cadogan was awful and gave away countless ball. He was as competitive as ever on 50-50’s, but it’s clear him and the other two dual players skills are being hurt by the hurling.

Quite ironic that.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 994287, member: 273”]Totally agree. Players need to up their game, but tactically it looks like he is learning on the job.

BC - I thought Cadogan was awful and gave away countless ball. He was as competitive as ever on 50-50’s, but it’s clear him and the other two dual players skills are being hurt by the hurling.

Quite ironic that.[/QUOTE]
Cadogan is the Anti - Christ!

Why hasn’t Cadogan been given much of a go with the hurlers so far this year? He’d be better than a good few of the Cork backs IMO

JBM has no tolerance for cunts

Missed most of the league, a lot more than both Cahalane and Walsh.