Cork GAA 2014

Cork look fecked for next year and for a good few years unless they have a load of young talent coming through. Even most of the experienced players who are left are left have a fair few miles on the clock. Kelly 29 next year, Shields 28, Goulding 28.

Mayo have an outstanding chance of winning out next year if they can get back to this year’s level as Dublin won’t be as good.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 857196, member: 183”]Cork look fecked for next year and for a good few years unless they have a load of young talent coming through. Even most of the experienced players who are left are left have a fair few miles on the clock. Kelly 29 next year, Shields 28, Goulding 28.

Mayo have an outstanding chance of winning out next year if they can get back to this year’s level as Dublin won’t be as good.[/quote]

Kelly didn’t play this year with injuries. The injuries he has are tricky. Has a tough road ahead to get back to previous fitness and form.

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 857195, member: 1379”]It was not banter. You made a stupid comment that you couldnt back up when challenged and are now passing off as banter. You didn’t go down the " its very important to remember " route if it was banter. Cork players have been heading to Aussie Rules for years ever before Kenneally had any influence as an agent. I wonder can he be implicated for Darren Sweetnam and Tomas OLeary going to rugby?

We may have lost face in 2009 with Tadhgie’s book. Cork lost as much allowing Kenneally rule the roost on the pitch. He was hardly on the receiving end of even a tough fair challenge for the whole game after his dirty tackle.[/quote]

That’s the Kerrman I know and love. Honestly it was banter, meant for other Kerry posters MBB & Horsebox, but fair play, you put me in my place.

Kenneally is actually involved. The AFL approve every contract, they don’t pay them but they approve them. Kenneally is over the over seas players as a liason I believe.

Do you really think he’s not keeping the AFL abreast of the irish scene? He actually wouldn’t be doing his job if he didn’t. No doubt he had a chat with Malthouse. Obviously I was winding about the Cork-Kerry thing.

As for 09, I actually completely agree. I nearly went out in the pitch myself I was so disgusted with his treatment, or lack of. Kerry had a better football team that year, but Cork could very easily have won that All Ireland.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 857196, member: 183”]Cork look fecked for next year and for a good few years unless they have a load of young talent coming through. Even most of the experienced players who are left are left have a fair few miles on the clock. Kelly 29 next year, Shields 28, Goulding 28.

Mayo have an outstanding chance of winning out next year if they can get back to this year’s level as Dublin won’t be as good.[/quote]

I see a great chance of 2015 being a straight shoutout between Dublin and Cork. As you say, next year is still a massive opportunity for Mayo.

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 857129, member: 1379”]ah get out of the garden will you. What role had Tadhg Kenneally in signing up Colin Corkery, Michael Shiels, Setanta O’Hailpin , Aisake O’Halpin for aussie rules football? None whatsoever is the answer. Cork men have been signing up for aussie rules team for years. Maybe one of them might actually be some good at Australian Rules someday like Tadhg was. Most cork lads dont last too long out there so maybe Sheehan will be home soon. I hope he will be as he a fine gaelic footballer

Your “very important to remember” argument doesn’t stack up. Cork’s problems are of their own making not Tadhg Kenneallys. What is more important to remember is that he came home, destroyed yere best player Graham Canty in an all ireland final, won his all ireland medal and toddled on back to oz. Granted he should have been sent off in that final but that is another debate[/quote]
Well done on taking a big ol bite out of that one ya big feicing eejit.

I won’t lie my confidence for next year has taken a battering after the news of Ciaran Sheehans departure but we still have quality players in that forward line as for the other departures i think Paudie Kissane and Pearse O’Neill would have been handy impact subs but maybe it’s no harm to reboot the system.The players are there to fill the gaps in the defence and midfield and i like the soundings from Brian Cuthbert about changing our style of play.Despite the loss of Ciaran Sheehan i still think what we have (presuming that everyone is fit) is good enough to compete although an all ireland next year might be too much to ask for.It’s no harm to see us being written off even when we win we get no fucking credit anyway from some people.Fuck them.I expect Cork to be very competitive in 2014 with a view to giving the all ireland a serious rattle in 2015 or perhaps even sooner.

Ken O’Halloren

Ray Carey Eoin Cadogan Thomas Clancy

Tomas Clancy Michael Shields James Loughrey

Aidan Walsh Damien Cahalane

Mark Collins/John O’Rourke/Colm O’Driscoll Paddy Kelly Paul Kerrigan

Daniel Goulding Colm O’Neill Brian Hurley

That team is good enough to compete with anyone and i think Colm O’Driscoll (i could be confusing him with Kevin!) could be our version of Brian Dooher at wing forward.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 857238, member: 273”]That’s the Kerrman I know and love. Honestly it was banter, meant for other Kerry posters MBB & Horsebox, but fair play, you put me in my place.

Kenneally is actually involved. The AFL approve every contract, they don’t pay them but they approve them. Kenneally is over the over seas players as a liason I believe.

Do you really think he’s not keeping the AFL abreast of the irish scene? He actually wouldn’t be doing his job if he didn’t. No doubt he had a chat with Malthouse. Obviously I was winding about the Cork-Kerry thing.

As for 09, I actually completely agree. I nearly went out in the pitch myself I was so disgusted with his treatment, or lack of. Kerry had a better football team that year, but Cork could very easily have won that All Ireland.[/quote]

ok lad. truce declared I hope!

beautiful city put together a decent looking Cork 15 in his post but when one looks deeper things look not so rosy. Kelly, O’Neill, Cahalane all have serious injuries. Cadogan and Goulding haven’t found form since injuries during the year. Walsh might drift towards hurling

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 857650, member: 1379”]ok lad. truce declared I hope!

beautiful city put together a decent looking Cork 15 in his post but when one looks deeper things look not so rosy. Kelly, O’Neill, Cahalane all have serious injuries. Cadogan and Goulding haven’t found form since injuries during the year. Walsh might drift towards hurling[/quote]

Well the thing is i think Cork have the young players coming through the production line to build a team around.Kerry on the other hand well im not so sure there but you would be more clued in on the scene in Kerry than me!

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 857650, member: 1379”]ok lad. truce declared I hope!

beautiful city put together a decent looking Cork 15 in his post but when one looks deeper things look not so rosy. Kelly, O’Neill, Cahalane all have serious injuries. Cadogan and Goulding haven’t found form since injuries during the year. Walsh might drift towards hurling[/quote]

I agree, a lot of things have to go our way to be competitive. Shields to No.6 is a must. I fully expect Cutbert to do that. I know one selector mention in the past that he’d like Shields there so hopefully that’s the selection. Karl Lacy wouldn’t lace his boots if he gets a good run there.

Eoin Cadogan a Gaelic Football Inter County Full Back ??? :D:D:D:D

bit harsh harry?

he was absolute muck this year which I put down to an injury

thought he was good other years. do you mean he is not a full back or not up to inter county in any position?

[quote=“kerry1891, post: 857693, member: 1379”]bit harsh harry?

he was absolute muck this year which I put down to an injury

thought he was good other years. do you mean he is not a full back or not up to inter county in any position?[/quote]
He is a corner back & no more. Imho if Cork have ambitions going forward, there are probably much better footballers in the County than Eoin.

But for BC to pick him at fb is very funny. :smiley:

[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 857541, member: 1616”]I won’t lie my confidence for next year has taken a battering after the news of Ciaran Sheehans departure but we still have quality players in that forward line as for the other departures i think Paudie Kissane and Pearse O’Neill would have been handy impact subs but maybe it’s no harm to reboot the system.The players are there to fill the gaps in the defence and midfield and i like the soundings from Brian Cuthbert about changing our style of play.Despite the loss of Ciaran Sheehan i still think what we have (presuming that everyone is fit) is good enough to compete although an all ireland next year might be too much to ask for.It’s no harm to see us being written off even when we win we get no fucking credit anyway from some people.Fuck them.I expect Cork to be very competitive in 2014 with a view to giving the all ireland a serious rattle in 2015 or perhaps even sooner.

Ken O’Halloren

That team is good enough to compete with anyone and i think Colm O’Driscoll (i could be confusing him with Kevin!) could be our version of Brian Dooher at wing forward.
__________________[/quote]

I only saw a bit of Luke Connolky but was impressed. Think him Barry O Driscoll and Dan McEoin need decent game time. Goulding needs competition as well. I know he has had injuries but I think he has also been complacent.

Forwards are not an issue. We have a plethora of high level score from anywhere forwards. McEoin and Connolly are arguably better kickers from open play than anyone we have. It’s half back and one corner back position tht needs sorting. I think Tom Clancy At half back last year should have been stuck with and management balked to go back with tried and tested. Year of development list there IMO. Shields sorts middle but the other side is an issue.

Is Fintan Gould worth a go at half back?

Ray Carey will struggle to play again I’d say. Hope I’m wrong as he was a class act.

[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 857541, member: 1616”]I won’t lie my confidence for next year has taken a battering after the news of Ciaran Sheehans departure but we still have quality players in that forward line as for the other departures i think Paudie Kissane and Pearse O’Neill would have been handy impact subs but maybe it’s no harm to reboot the system.The players are there to fill the gaps in the defence and midfield and i like the soundings from Brian Cuthbert about changing our style of play.Despite the loss of Ciaran Sheehan i still think what we have (presuming that everyone is fit) is good enough to compete although an all ireland next year might be too much to ask for.It’s no harm to see us being written off even when we win we get no fucking credit anyway from some people.Fuck them.I expect Cork to be very competitive in 2014 with a view to giving the all ireland a serious rattle in 2015 or perhaps even sooner.

Ken O’Halloren

__________________[/quote]

I only saw a bit of Luke Connolky but was impressed. Think him Barry O Driscoll and Dan McEoin need decent game time. Goulding needs competition as well. I know he has had injuries but I think he has also been complacent.

Forwards are not an issue. We have a plethora of high level score from anywhere forwards. McEoin and Connolly are arguably better kickers from open play than anyone we have. It’s half back and one corner back position tht needs sorting. I think Tom Clancy At half back last year should have been stuck with and management balked to go back with tried and tested. Year of development list there IMO. Shields sorts middle but the other side is an issue.

Is Fintan Gould worth a go at half back?

Ray Carey will struggle to play again I’d say. Hope I’m wrong as he was a class act.

I’d give Fintan Gould a chance at half back.He does have the football for the position.We need a partner for Aidan Walsh at midfield.We have a few promising options for the half back line with guys like Jamie Wall and Brian O’Driscoll.Paddy Kelly and Mark Collins are excellent playmakers.Paul Kerrigan is the fastest man in the country.Im now thinking that we should keep Mark Collins in reserve to replace Paddy Kelly at about the 50th minute.Both are very creative playmakers and we’d be bringing in a like for like replacement as well as rebooting the system.Cork have the players to deploy a deep lying counter attacking game better than anyone.I think the players are there to build a very strong team and i expect Cork to be back challenging for all irelands sooner rather than later. David Hanrahan, Conor Dorman, Alan Cronin, Brian O’Driscoll, Alan Cadogan and Cathal Vaughan have been promoted to the u21’s and Michael Shields has replaced Graham Canty as captain.

As for the hurling side of things the loss of Ger Cunningham is a huge blow.We need to get a top class replacement in and the tactics and gameplan side of things need to improve.As for the playing side of things well let’s look at the team that started the all ireland replay.I think Anthony Nash is the best keeper in the country.Stephen McDonnell is a tough hardy physical player and he is one of the first names on the team sheet for me.Shane O’Neill had a great year at full back but he’s not a natural full back.Conor O’Sullivan is one of the best corner backs in the country.

I hope there’s another year in Brian Murphy.Christopher Joyce is still developing but he’s not a centre back and i have huge doubts over William Egan.I hope he proves me wrong.Lorchan McLoughlin and Daniel Kearney have the potential to be a great midfield partnership for us.I thought McLoughlins hurling improved immensely this year.

Pa Cronin wasn’t fully fit this year but a Pa Cronin firing on all cylinders is one of the best players in the country.Cian McCarthy is a great workhorse and what can i say about Seamie Harnedy!He can win ball, he plays with such drive and aggression and he’s well able to take his scores.He doesn’t have the skill and the hurling that Hoggie has but he’s such a committed and wholehearted player.

Luke O’Farrell has potential.Hoggie is the most lethal forward in Ireland and Conor Lehane is tipping along nicely.I think our strength in depth isn’t as strong as the other main contenders though and our half back line needs serious improving.I thought it was a bit harsh to drop Tom Kenny after the Dublin game because he was motoring along nicely.I like Stephen Whites attitude but im not sure that he has the hurling for this level.I think Stephen Moylan has done well enough this year to be a regular starter but is he better used as an impact sub?Jamie Coughlan is a very promising player while Cathal Naughton is just a 15 minute man at this stage.Cork have made huge progress under JBM.We are now a team that are very competitive and hard to beat but are the four or five players that JBM needs to turn Cork from being a competitive team into an all ireland winning team out there?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/time-for-cork-to-change-course-249098.html

Again Tony knows the score.

Ya pretty much agree.

Gould plays centre back for Macroom and I have seen a bit of him there. I think he’s an intelligent footballer that’s being played out of position. For me he is a guy much better facing the play. He is good at making intelligent runs and putting himself in good defensive positions. However he has struggled when receiving the ball with his back to goal at the highest level. The people who know him best (Macroom) seem to have recognized this.

Cork Minor Hurling 2014 2013-11-09 10:59:00

Notice from Cork Minor Hurling Management:

As the incoming Cork Minor hurling selection committee for 2014, we hope to ensure that the best players are part of our panel at all times and that an opportunity is presented to all players throughout the county to put themselves forward for selection.

As a significant number of players in this age range have been part of the Cork development squad system for the past four years, we have identified 63 such players (listed below) who are currently attending internal development squad games with us.

This group have have been recommended to us by development squad mentors, based on their performances with various Cork underage teams over the past few seasons.

Should any club feel that they have players of inter-county standard who are not on this list, please do not hesitate to contact us, as follows.

Please supply the following details for the players identified;
Name
Address
Date of Birth
Contact details - mobile no.
Best playing position
Please return the above details, by email only, to Denis Ring at d.ring@live.ie before 9pm on Wednesday, November 13th next.

As a selection committee, we would ask that each club is realistic in putting forward a player for trial.

Clearly, it will make the selection process more credible and realistic, if players with a high level of ability are put forward.

We sincerely thank you for your support and cooperation on this matter.

Mise le meas,
Donncha O Rinn.

Manager; Denis Ring (Fermoy)
Coach; Mark Landers (Killeagh)
Selectors; John Mortell (Ballyhea), John Dwyer (Ballincollig) & Liam Martin (Glen Rovers)

Name
Club

Aaron Stafford
Aghada

John Looney
Aghada

Kevin O’Donovan
Ahan Gaels

Patrick Collins
Ballinhassig

Joseph O’Sullivan
Ballygiblin

Alan O’Callaghan
Blackrock

Conor O’Brien
Blackrock

Daniel Meaney
Blackrock

Michael O’Halloran
Blackrock

Cian O’Connor
Bride Rovers

Shane Walsh
Bride Rovers

Brendan McCarthy
Carrigtwohill

Darren Casey
Charleville

Jack Barry
Charleville

David Lowney
Clonakilty

Seamus Ronayne
Clyda Rovers

Jerry O’Neill
Courcey Rovers

Sean Og Gately
Courcey Rovers

Daniel O’Sullivan
Douglas

Mark Dolan
Douglas

Shane Kingston
Douglas

Sean Howard
Dromtarriffe

John Mullins
Eire Og

Robbie O’Flynn
Erins Own

Billy Dunne
Fr. O’Neill’s

Cillian Broderick
Fr. O’Neill’s

Declan Dalton
Fr. O’Neill’s

David Dooling
Glen Rovers

Evan O’Connell
Glen Rovers

Shane Milner
Glen Rovers

Sean Bourke
Grenagh

Sean O’Donoghue
Inniscarra

Tomás O’Connor
Inniscarra

Daniel Landers
Killeagh Itas

Darragh O’Brien
Killeagh Itas

Eoghan Keniry
Killeagh Itas

Alec Luttrell
Mallow

Sean Hayes
Mallow

Darren Hayes
Mayfield

Seadnaidh Smyth
Midleton

Darragh O’Connell
Na Piarsaigh

Dayne Lee
Na Piarsaigh

Eddie Gunning
Na Piarsaigh

Eric O’Keefe
Na Piarsaigh

Luke Meade
Newcestown

Cian Power
Passage

Cian Daly
Sarsfields

Eoghan Murphy
Sarsfields

Killian Doyle
Sarsfields

Luke Hackett
Sarsfields

Paul Leopold
Sarsfields

Darragh Browne
Shandrum

Diarmuid Buckley
Shandrum

Eoin Healy
Sliabh Rua

Shane O’Brien
St. Catherine’s

Ian Cahill
St. Colman’s

Billy Hennessy
St. Finbarr’s

Cian Walsh
St. Finbarr’s

Martin Collins
St. Patrick’s

John Good
Tracton

Christopher O’Leary
Valley Rovers

Denis O’Farrell
Watergrasshill

Ollie Dempsey Youghal
FGCU

Good see Aidan Walsh has made public that he is playing Senior Hurling this year. Wonder if Cads and Cahalane will commit to both codes as well? Franks appointment of Cuthbert is paying dividends for the number one code in Cork!