Cork GAA 2014

Are the O’Connors playing Junior, or playing for Meelin or have they just retired?

Totally retired from all hurling. Its surprising Newtown are doing so well at Junior and Senior without them.

What way will the club hurling games go over the weekend pals?

You can run Frank but you can’t hide.The game is over.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/donal-og-cusack/donal-og-cusack-cork-in-need-of-a-culture-shock-283150.html

Good win for Youghal tonight. Didn’t see that coming.

[QUOTE=“Beautiful City, post: 1004767, member: 1616”]You can run Frank but you can’t hide.The game is over.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/donal-og-cusack/donal-og-cusack-cork-in-need-of-a-culture-shock-283150.html[/QUOTE]

Corks minor and 21 record is so kack, has JBM worked a minor miracle to reach 3 all Ireland semi finals in a row, 2 munster finals winning one, come withing 20 seconds of winning an all Ireland and reach a league final?

I reckon he has. Only JBM could have done it with that panel. He may be a bit slow to react to tactical matters during games but he has done wonders with that panel.

However, it may be time for a change. I think the JBM factor can only bring so much and it ran out last sunday.

[QUOTE=“Beautiful City, post: 1004767, member: 1616”]You can run Frank but you can’t hide.The game is over.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/donal-og-cusack/donal-og-cusack-cork-in-need-of-a-culture-shock-283150.html[/QUOTE]
Super article from Donal Og.

I do think that PUC needed redevelopment but to call it a Centre of Excellence as the CB are doing is mental. The venue is accessible for big matches only. Not for development squads at underage, his point there is valid. The shocking graph on recent titles won in comparison to the other Munster based Counties is a damning issue which the Cork CB should be hugely ashamed of.
Mallow, UCD & CIT have all the facilities available to cater to Corks current needs if systems are properly put in place.
The issue of Games Development officers is also shocking, Cork is a massive County which needs more promoters on the ground. The current number of officers is a joke.

Finally, Mark Landers is a wanker!

County Senior Hurling Championship
Quarter-Finals
A: Na Piarsaigh v Newtownshandrum
B: Sarsfields v St. Finbarr’s
C: Ballymartle v Glen Rovers
D: Youghal v Midleton/Douglas

[QUOTE=“Turenne, post: 1005175, member: 232”]County Senior Hurling Championship
Quarter-Finals
A: Na Piarsaigh v Newtownshandrum
B: Sarsfields v St. Finbarr’s
C: Ballymartle v Glen Rovers
D: Youghal v Midleton/Douglas[/QUOTE]
For all the talk about the club scene you still have 4 city teams, Newtown and Midleton in the championship. They are the clubs that backbone any Cork success over last 30 years.

The problems are not at club level, clubs individually are doing great work.

There are things that clearly need to improve, but I think the reaction to last Sunday is totally disproportionate. It’s was a real off day, not a huge amount more. The colleges (UCC&CIT)have been doing a lot for Cork hurling and that hasn’t changed. It’s year one of the changing of development squad structures and getting quality coaching in along with Inter County experience. It can’t happen over night.
I’ve no doubt over the next decade you’ll get the stupid calls for Cork to split in two just like Dublin.

As for the centre of excellence, Cork development squads use UCC & COT and have very good medical and S&C people involved thru there. The facilities are top class. They all don’t have to go down the park just to be centralized to satisfy the police like patrolling (and lack of trust in coaches) of players.

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 1004922, member: 1517”]Super article from Donal Og.

I do think that PUC needed redevelopment but to call it a Centre of Excellence as the CB are doing is mental. The venue is accessible for big matches only. Not for development squads at underage, his point there is valid. The shocking graph on recent titles won in comparison to the other Munster based Counties is a damning issue which the Cork CB should be hugely ashamed of.
Mallow, UCD & CIT have all the facilities available to cater to Corks current needs if systems are properly put in place.
The issue of Games Development officers is also shocking, Cork is a massive County which needs more promoters on the ground. The current number of officers is a joke.

Finally, Mark Landers is a wanker![/QUOTE]

it is a decent article but this piece of self pity laden dirge in the middle devalues it where he goes on with some sob story about being dropped, i agree he wants the best for Cork hurling but their is no denying he is still seething and has his own personal agenda…

“Last. If I’m so concerned, why am I not training county teams? Few things. Played for Cork teams from age of 14 through till 2012, when I got a serious injury while captaining the Cork senior hurlers in Thurles. Spent a full year rehabbing and recovering on a promise I’d be given the chance to win my place back. Then 10 days after presenting myself fit and ready and being invited back to squad training, told I was dropped. Stuff happens. Live by the sword, die by the sword and all that. Since then have been catching up on career, chairing the GPA, sitting on a number of committees, doing what I can and playing with my club, Cloyne. Lastly, I was never asked (actually now that I think about it, from having being dropped after playing for Cork for 23 years, I have never received one phone call from the county board. And not holding my breath. I know most other players of my generation are the same).”

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1005180, member: 367”]it is a decent article but this piece of self pity laden dirge in the middle devalues it where he goes on with some sob story about being dropped, i agree he wants the best for Cork hurling but their is no denying he is still seething and has his own personal agenda…

“Last. If I’m so concerned, why am I not training county teams? Few things. Played for Cork teams from age of 14 through till 2012, when I got a serious injury while captaining the Cork senior hurlers in Thurles. Spent a full year rehabbing and recovering on a promise I’d be given the chance to win my place back. Then 10 days after presenting myself fit and ready and being invited back to squad training, told I was dropped. Stuff happens. Live by the sword, die by the sword and all that. Since then have been catching up on career, chairing the GPA, sitting on a number of committees, doing what I can and playing with my club, Cloyne. Lastly, I was never asked (actually now that I think about it, from having being dropped after playing for Cork for 23 years, I have never received one phone call from the county board. And not holding my breath. I know most other players of my generation are the same).”[/QUOTE]
Fair point as his dropping from the County Panel is irrelevant to the article.

All his other points are bang on the money though.

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 1005253, member: 1517”]Fair point as his dropping from the County Panel is irrelevant to the article.

All his other points are bang on the money though.[/QUOTE]
For all his motivational quotes and his living in the present, he has not let go of the dropping yet. It’s a very selfish out look cos at best he would be keeping the likes of Darren Mac and Collins away from the panel. He wasn’t irreplaceable by a long shot. He has had a few unnecessary digs at people like JBM, Denis Walsh and others recently and have devalued his otherwise excellent commentary and analysis.
I have great time for Donal Og, but he should really drop the fact he was dropped and he should almost take it as a compliment he hasn’t been asked to coach a Cork team yet by those bunch of latchico’s running the show.

Hang on, what actually happened during the B’Town/Glen game? Lynam clocked one of the B’Town selectors?

Who ever clocked the B’town selector is a cowardly little bastard. If it was Lynam he should be absolutely ashamed of himself and should be banned from the sideline. The fella from B’town is 78.

In any case both B’town and the Glen are shite. A lot of lads couldn’t strike off their weak sides and were under pressure executing the basics. The number of senior teams in the county should be reduced.

Incident happened when o’Driscoll and Horgan were walking off the pitch after being sent off.

[QUOTE=“kerry1891, post: 1004911, member: 1379”]Corks minor and 21 record is so kack, has JBM worked a minor miracle to reach 3 all Ireland semi finals in a row, 2 munster finals winning one, come withing 20 seconds of winning an all Ireland and reach a league final?

I reckon he has. Only JBM could have done it with that panel. He may be a bit slow to react to tactical matters during games but he has done wonders with that panel.

However, it may be time for a change. I think the JBM factor can only bring so much and it ran out last sunday.[/QUOTE]

if jbm goes that group of players will collapse.

Some home truths by Eamonn Sweeney basic Corkness just isn’t enough anymore.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/hold-the-back-page-its-time-to-start-playing-fair-30531511.html

From what I heard the B’town lads were trying to get Horgan sent off. When they succeeded, albeit their own man getting the line, the selector came on and shook his players hand at a job well done. Then it kicked off

were the Glen involved in a right big melee versus Bride Rovers about 2 or 3 seasons ago?