Cork GAA 2014

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1030397, member: 273”]You have completely got this wrong. I have absolutely no problem with lads doing as you describe, in fact I applaud them for doing things their way and having the courage of their convictions to do that against probable pressure.
My issue with that idiot was him, and he is not alone, who think county lads are stupid for giving up their time. People who go on like that just do not understand what drives such people, and I would say 90% of them are perfectly happy and love the life they have. People like JBL couldn’t comprehend what it takes to have dedication to more than going out with the lads in a Saturday night, but instead of being comfortable with their lifestyle choices they run down others.

You seem to be sensitive to this because maybe you choose to go to the parties, drop the pills, drink the cans, go in holidays to pick up Spanish chicks. And more power to you. But you should make peace with your decisions and see the injuries or whatever as just things life throw at you.[/QUOTE]

You are an absolutely insufferable cunt. You are incapable of holding an argument without resorting to personal insults. Who are you to say whether I am dedicated to my interests in life? I simply made the point that this talented young sportsman should not be forced into committing to something that he doesnt want to commit to at the moment.

Whacked some lad in the ribs with the butt of his hurler apparently.

Based on performances, if you were going to drop a forward, he would be the obvious one, after Cronin.

I was in the stand opposite so couldn’t quite see. There was a bit of a scuffle and a free given to Newcestown. Neil seemed to swing back the arm and the guy went down, so I presume he got him with the top of the hurley. No complaints after the red card, so I presume he made contact alright. He hadn’t played too well by his standards actually, missed a few frees and his touch was off. Did get one beauty in the second half.

You inferred that lads who did commit to high level gaelic games didn’t have a life you stupid cunt. By saying that him not playing or committing gives him a life you are directly saying that those who do commit don’t have a life.
If you don’t understand what you were saying then maybe that’s an excuse cos you might be just dumb, but I think it’s more that you are pig ignorant than dumb to be honest.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1030570, member: 273”]You inferred that lads who did commit to high level gaelic games didn’t have a life you stupid cunt. By saying that him not playing or committing gives him a life you are directly saying that those who do commit don’t have a life.
If you don’t understand what you were saying then maybe that’s an excuse cos you might be just dumb, but I think it’s more that you are pig ignorant than dumb to be honest.[/QUOTE]
What the fuck would you know about it anyway?

He knows someone who hurled Fitzgibbon.

Also there’s no one better qualified to talk about being pig ignorant and dumb than this cunt.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1030570, member: 273”]You inferred that lads who did commit to high level gaelic games didn’t have a life you stupid cunt. By saying that him not playing or committing gives him a life you are directly saying that those who do commit don’t have a life.
If you don’t understand what you were saying then maybe that’s an excuse cos you might be just dumb, but I think it’s more that you are pig ignorant than dumb to be honest.[/QUOTE]

The life of an inter county player is very narrow in its focus. You don’t have a life if you are working outside of the county where you are playing. Your evening’s will involve going from work to training and not often getting home until after midnight. You’ve weight sessions on the evenings your not doing squad sessions. Your entire life revolves around training and matchs. Can’t go away on weekends with partners etc. I honestly don’t understand how lads who are married or in any type of long term relationship do it. You dint have a life. The IC game is fucked if it keeps going the way it is as the only people that will be playing it are students or bachelors who live at home with their parents. I commend anybody who is willing to put the effort in but couldn’t really see the point unless you have a realistic chance of winning a provincial or all Ireland, other than that the effort involved far outweighs the gain. The whole “it’s an honour to represent” your county wears off when lads have to earn a living or have other commitments in their lives.

it’s for a limited period of your life - tough on lads who are number 20 to 30 and do all the training/travelling and never get a game - they are the lads who you wonder why they stick at it

ultimately lads do it because they enjoy the discipline, the banter, the training, the matches, the profile of being a county man but yes once you get married/have kids/want to develop a career then its very hard to combine the two

most teams now are made up of lads late teens to late twenties - students, teachers who can be “full time” during summer with a mix of other lads who have jobs that are sales based and can accommodate an employee with a profile who has to miss days/leave early

When you hear Jackie Tyrell say “when I’d go to have a biscuit I’d stop myself and ask ‘is there a fella in Clare having a biscuit now’”. The man had 7 All Ireland medals and was still denying himself a fucking biscuit. That is not the behaviour of a normal sane human being. Denying yourself a biscuit, FFS.

with a glass of Mi-Wadi

Jackie obviously doesn’t count Marietta. He’d be right.

You don’t get it, plenty people love most of it. Nobody likes absolutely every aspect of everything they do.

All lads are showing here really is how little they know about what it takes to be a top player.

Enough to know the perception of it all is way off the reality.

‘You don’t get it’

Fair play to Callaghan, playing for Ballyhea means a lot more for him than playing for Cork i would think. Supporters in clubs like Ballyhea and Newtown are not too worried how Cork get on which is the way it should be.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1030688, member: 273”]You don’t get it, plenty people love most of it. Nobody likes absolutely every aspect of everything they do.

All lads are showing here really is how little they know about what it takes to be a top player.[/QUOTE]

Who said anything about not loving it? Have you played IC kev?

I’d be like that myself-an iron will as some have called it. It’s not for everyone but it’s just part of my life.

Horsebox famous lies

Biscuits are for the weak.