Cork GAA 2016

ok, i was down visiting “the” parents and myself and “the” father attended said game
I dont know if i feel depressed about Cork or about hurling in general after watching this.
We were poor maybe but we did play the game for 55 mins with that utter air of disinterest that we have seen so often from Cork teams in the league, i am not for one moment using that to cover up the many inadequacies of the Cork team ( and there are many but before this game can be analysed one must note the fact that both teams looked in incredicly different places in terms of fitness, attitide, intensity and to an extent ballwork, familiarity with a system and shooting.

Both sides played a horrible brand of hurling, Cork have been at this since 2004 and altho perfected in 2005/6 this system has now evolved to puke hurling as we dont have the players and skills of a Ben O Connor , instead we have Brian fucking Lawton and Bill Cooper… Waterford seem to be like a side who have a lot done, this dosent make them an atatrctive team to watch now , they simply are familair with each other, are well drilled and fit, it is only Feburary however, one swallow, etc… im not impressed really.

for us, well can we not just be a bit more diect, I hating watching Stephen McDonnell play, why o why must he take so much out of the thing, a sidestep here, a solo there …fucking hell, i single him out and im wrong, at one stage i saw MarK Ellis catch a great ball and then for some reason try to play a 5 yard pass to a marked man… ok he’s been out for a bit, practice, etc
The players look brain washed into this. Aidan Walsh is a decent hurler, leave him drive balls over the bar, not play 10 yard passes, i dunno why Leahy was picked, he wont start again, Lehane was half asleep, that wont be seen again, Horgan nonchalant and disinterested, he waits for June.
Our half forward line is abysmal, Lorcan mac and Lawton play like wing backs as in they attack the opposition puck out and drive forward, they are not Tony O Sullvan or Ben O C type hurlers, Cooper is a useless mulloker, this line is a disaster for us.
Kearney and walsh im ok with… Cahalane looks all over the place, Spillane also
Nash is a horrid cunt also, great keeper but a knob of a man, mouthy,
Cork look like a team who are forced to play this turgid system, it looks deeply un natural to many of then, I remember Kiearan Kingston coming off the bench banging in goals against Limerick in 1987, think it was a 3-11 all draw, John Fenton pulled on one to the net from 50 yards that day, i was hoping for something better really…
the rock is our answer to Dan Shanahan, empty vessels, etc…
the championship will be a bit of craic anyway with the rock, dan , davy and donal og about…
these 2 teams wont be having a say in the business end tho

this is complete lies
he is a great hurler but is forced to play in a system that does not suit him,
he is a man for catching ball and driving hail mary’s in, but of course who do we put in there, leahy from fucking aghada so we want aidan walsh to play tip tap 10 yard barcelona passes… bollux
in 2011 he we should have beat limerick in the 21 munster final, he was outstanding that night , now we have him doing hand passing relays with Loran macloughlin and bill cooper…

Cat got your tongue Kev.

Was he not a Minor last year?

Either way, it was his first game ever. You are still an armchair moron writibg iff lads without any time.

Just like the managemebt teams and coaches in Cork. Judging guys off a Munster league game in January, then going back to the same tried and failed guys again come league.

Dumb.

He is not a great hurler. Eoin Kelly was a great hurler, JJ Delany was a great hurler. Walsh has played maybe 3 very good games as a hurler, 1-2 at Senior. His attitude is obvious to everyone, except you for some bizarre reason. A year in Oz or somewhere would be best for him.

The fact that you cannot see the ability in this Waterford side says it all.

Cork are dreadfully prepared. They have a physio doing their S&C. With the best will in the world, and he may be knowledgable, that cannot work. And as i predicted all along, Cork will be undercooked and have injuries.

Where you are right is Cork are playing a putrid copycat style of hurling they are not suited to. Its fucking hilariously dumb. And it shows a lack of coaching experience. You cannot put square pegs in round holes. They have learned nothing the past few years by the looks of it. They also don’t, at this point, seem to be training for the actual game as its played now. Last year i saw them alot, i never once saw a ground based ruck game or drill. Yet there must be 15-20 a game happening. You might as well be playing tennis as doing the training i saw Cork do.

They will give one good performance for the year, probably in reaction to being well beaten by someone and then the same as last year will happen.

Agree on Nash and other points about players largely. The work rate is embarrassing.

It’s a sad state of affairs… We are most likely relegated now too. No harm I suppose, might wake a few people up.

Good to have you on board pal.

You are getting in on the ground floor, so to speak.

I’ll be reporting on all Douglas matters…

No. I saw him play in an U-21 east cork final five years ago. Basically you’ve never seen this lad play and yet you think he is an inter-county hurler, presumably because you are confusing him Looney from the same club who was a Minor last year.

I saw him play for Imokilly last year and was informed him, Dalton and Looney were Minors.

I said he needs a chance, you wrote him off on a game in january.

Douglas Hurling Club or Douglas Football club?

It never ceases to amaze me how deliousional and blinded people are when it comes to this. Still listening to people who are in la la land, think a few adjustments here and there and we’re AI contenders.

The evidence that the players have thrown in the towel and the coaching in recent times has been sub par is overwhelming.

I have never written off a team this early, but they are clearly goosed.

He couldn’t kick a football.

He was actually a phenomonal kicker till they coached it out of him.

When Cleary had him he was at his best and Cleary is someone who encourages expression.
A year off last year and falling in with tge footballers is what he needed.

I’ll try tip along to the odd Douglas game… they are home to Erins Own first round this year?

Don’t bother mate, club hurling in Cork is shite.

1st round of league is it?

Championship … Think league kicks off next weekend?

Will be at a neutral venue so.

Douglas have the talent but lack desire or maybe have the desire but are crippled every year by the dual thing. Not 100% which it is, you hear varying reasons from insiders. Def a hurling/football divide.

The mrs’ cousin is very much involved with the club, coaches youngsters and the like, so I’ll have no choice… Will probably tip along to Corkand Tipp with him as well.