[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1105045, member: 273”]I realise this. However it is still negligence to have coaches training minors without vetting.
In this case he actually had a criminal record as well as a batting order from a women in a neighboring parish![/QUOTE]
well then they are wide open for engaging a former criminal to look after minors, but any injury the minor picked up training is irrelevant
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1105047, member: 273”]Yes of course it is, this happens all the time. Most of the time we resist or move as we have the awareness to do so. Over training reduces this awareness. This sometimes is the issue, other times it’s simply that it’s worn away from stressors over a long period of time.
Are all the ACL surgeons, sports physio’s etc talking bollix as well. What is your experience of the subject?[/QUOTE]
All the ACL surgeons and physios?
I’d happily take a quote or some research which backs up your hypothesis.
I tore mine in a car crash, had full reconstruction as a result.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1105049, member: 273”]I have evidence coming out the ying yang.
So your a courier van driver assistant? Did you get that on jobbridge?[/QUOTE]
You haven’t produced any evidence, all you have done is slander a man anonymously.
What’s jobbridge? Is it some sort of welfare/benefit scheme? I wouldn’t be familiar with that as I’m a valued tax payer.
You’d imagine the new Code of Conduct being rolled out by the GAA would frown upon that.
[QUOTE=“Bad Winner, post: 1105054, member: 2406”]All the ACL surgeons and physios?
I tore mine in a car crash, had full reconstruction as a result.[/QUOTE]
I hope you fcuked your S&C coach out of it for not having you in condition so that the ACL would have withstood the crash. Was he even qualified?
I have a court case pending, he wasn’t vetted either and I was 17 at the time.
[QUOTE=“Bad Winner, post: 1105054, member: 2406”]All the ACL surgeons and physios?
I tore mine in a car crash, had full reconstruction as a result.[/QUOTE]
So completely irrelevant to the discussion. Typical victim mentality.
I’ll be back to you on request.
I hear the boy wonder Pa O’Callaghan is hurling up a storm for Ballyhea in the senior league. Great to see the lad having a mind of he’s own. If he does not fancy all the hassle which goes playing for Cork then fair play to him.
In fairness the Garda Vetting system of most gaa clubs would be torn apart by any decent solicitor. The system is ridiculous whereby someone managing an under 18 team has to be vetted, yet you have under 18s playing senior and the senior manager doesn’t have to be vetted. To bring this a step further these under 18s are also sharing dressing rooms, changing and showering with adult players who do not have to be vetted unless they are over an under age team.
All very true and good points. It is of course farcical. Although I have had to get vetted with an adult team due to young players, so it does happen.
It’s nuts to deny that the GAA club in this instance isn’t exposed. And probably in many others as well.
Will the lad from Louth be able to sue Sinn Fein for not vetting IRA volunteers using safe-houses?
I agree. In time he may change his mind, but it’s good to see someone so independently.
I agree. In time he may change his mind, but it’s good to see someone so independent.
If you are involved with any team, adult ones included, that contains players under the age of 18 then you must be Garda vetted.
Correct.
No it’s not man. I have to get insurance for liability and professional indemnity. Anyone receiving money for strength and Conditioning or any fitness/physical instruction has to be insured and if they are not it is the responsibility of the club (or whoever pays out the money) after that. So if you hired me yourself and I gave you terrible advice and then you got injured, but you had never looked for my insurance first then it’s your tough shit. Same applies to the club however the kid/parent can then sue them based on club negligence and lack of care of duty.
i only jumped in when you started mentioning garda vetting, because it is irrelevant top the issue of s&c and responsibility for injuries.
but you have me now, i have a question. im on that intermediate team you are training tuesday and thursday nights for €50 cash. i cycled to training that evening having spent the day in the bog, in fact i was in the bog all week for 12 hours a day and i was completely bolloxed getting to training. i had nothing ate. nobody in our club took this s&c stuff serious till you came along. you never asked me about my day or how i felt physically before training and lo and behold i did my acl as i landed doing some drill you had us doing. in my opinion you were wrong to ask me to do that drill
can i have your insurance details please?
[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1105269, member: 234”]i only jumped in when you started mentioning garda vetting, because it is irrelevant top the issue of s&c and responsibility for injuries.
but you have me now, i have a question. im on that intermediate team you are training tuesday and thursday nights for €50 cash. i cycled to training that evening having spent the day in the bog, in fact i was in the bog all week for 12 hours a day and i was completely bolloxed getting to training. i had nothing ate. nobody in our club took this s&c stuff serious till you came along. you never asked me about my day or how i felt physically before training and lo and behold i did my acl as i landed doing some drill you had us doing. in my opinion you were wrong to ask me to do that drill
can i have your insurance details please?[/QUOTE]
If a solicitor can show that I was negligent then yes I am fucked. I’m obliged to do screens & questionnaires by most associations.
Most people won’t do it. However it will only take one.
But that’s a different discussion to what I am saying/discussing.
Do you have the U-21 team from last night TAN.
Cian McCarthy has left Cork panel - understandable in many ways as he has a young child and is not getting much if any game time
It is one thing for lads who are 1-20 to give up so much time but must be a decision for anybody on a panel from 20 to 30 to devote so much time to it. More of a decision again for lads on panels (not getting any game time) of any county that is not a “top tier” county which us unlikely to be in the mix to win a cup.