Cork GAA Thread 2015

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1143518, member: 2272”]What do you think happened to Cunningham? There probably are too many voices on the side-line for Cork during matches and this seems to cause an inability to react tactically during games - was same when Cunningham was there too. Can be hard to change things though as it means admitting the initial tactics were wrong. Happened against Tipp last year too when it was clear the game plan was flawed but it was decided to give it time. Cork are probably 4 or 5 players short and arguably management have over achieved in getting to finals/semi finals and a narrow defeat a game earlier would have left things looking rosier with the momentum and trajectory upward.

Waterford have their own issues but handled differently than Clare for example because they have a manager who is clever.

Every panel has 25 to 30 lads who have always been the best growing up and therefore don’t deal with knock backs very well. They all expect to be playing and when not selected it is hard to accept. Like any high performance athlete. Part of what makes them good but means they will sulk if not managed property as most things have come easy to them due to natural talent. Once you put them in a situation where talent is equalised then attitude and personality start to be the differentiator.

Re lack of gear/sliothars but I would be very surprised if that is the case given the logistics around every county team.[/QUOTE]
You really do defend management. Cork had the players to win the AI last year according to your good self. This year you said there was a new focus and they were really ready.

The whole lower section of the stand in The league final could see Cork were completely clueless on the line.
Waterfords issues were external, easy to fight that. Corks are internal. A player seems to have taken over cos nothing is happening.
Cunningham was thrown hot potatoe after hot potatoe and the rest of management abdicated huge responsibility at the culling a few years ago. It’s fairly well established what happened there, confirmed by players involved. That’s on top of nobody listening to him about tactics and someone who never played hurling being allowed to tell him how the sessions should be run.
Time lets all these things out. Players keep quite for a while as they trust management but once they see the bigger picture they don’t be long folding.

Why are you in this thread so ya gom?
You don’t get the concept of PR or information sharing do ya?

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1143662, member: 273”]Why are you in this thread so ya gom?
You don’t get the concept of PR or information sharing do ya?[/QUOTE]
?

Who is this supposed player in charge or is Kev talking bollocks.

news to me - Nash is the natural leader and that is why he was made captain.

Cork team should be based around and a system designed to get them on the ball as much as possible

Harnedy

Horgan Lehane

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1143818, member: 2272”]news to me - Nash is the natural leader and that is why he was made captain.

Cork team should be based around and a system designed to get them on the ball as much as possible

Harnedy

Horgan Lehane[/QUOTE]
How about: lads, hit the ball to Harnedy Horgan and Lehane?

Would be a start. Play Harnedy full forward and the other two as wing forwards

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1143647, member: 273”]You really do defend management. Cork had the players to win the AI last year according to your good self. This year you said there was a new focus and they were really ready.

The whole lower section of the stand in The league final could see Cork were completely clueless on the line.
Waterfords issues were external, easy to fight that. Corks are internal. A player seems to have taken over cos nothing is happening.
Cunningham was thrown hot potatoe after hot potatoe and the rest of management abdicated huge responsibility at the culling a few years ago. It’s fairly well established what happened there, confirmed by players involved. That’s on top of nobody listening to him about tactics and someone who never played hurling being allowed to tell him how the sessions should be run.
Time lets all these things out. Players keep quite for a while as they trust management but once they see the bigger picture they don’t be long folding.[/QUOTE]

more Sigerson fucking water boy type stories here, the same about Thomas Mulacahy on another thread, that was right nasty shit tho designed and libellous
go away you fucking eejit, you wouldnt know one end of a hurley from the other and this sad attempt of trying to convince you are “in the know” of some sort just reflects more on your insecurities and rejection by a few people in Cork who have called you out as a bluffer, whenevrer you get sick of trying to hang around team lunches and stalking clubs the better,
Fitness coach, go away to fuck, we both know you never even made it playing junior football so get a fucking grip.
The Gaurds will be dealing with you eventually id say, you utter fool

Ya that’s going real well.

That’s just mental. Take the one ball winner they have out of h-f, the one inside forward on form out of there and put Horgan on the wing? FFS TUM. There is no sense there.

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1143940, member: 367”]more Sigerson fucking water boy type stories here, the same about Thomas Mulacahy on another thread, that was right nasty shit tho designed and libellous
go away you fucking eejit, you wouldnt know one end of a hurley from the other and this sad attempt of trying to convince you are “in the know” of some sort just reflects more on your insecurities and rejection by a few people in Cork who have called you out as a bluffer, whenevrer you get sick of trying to hang around team lunches and stalking clubs the better,
Fitness coach, go away to fuck, we both know you never even made it playing junior football so get a fucking grip.
The Gaurds will be dealing with you eventually id say, you utter fool[/QUOTE]
DESTRUCTION :eek::eek::eek:

I think if you play Harnedy further forward he has potential to win his own ball and score goals - question of resources but if you crowd half forward line can still win ball without him. Horgan gets easily bottled up by a good corner back

goal against Tipp in league last year demonstrates what I think he could do and he would be an out for a long ball from defence, he also scored a second goal that day after being moved to full forward - definitely worth a look there

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mepBw84saQU

goal against Limerick is another example of damage he can do if played further forward

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3V8XWCCnmk

Horgan and Lehane can’t win shit against top class defenders.

Very few can against the really best defenders, but there aren’t many of those. Callinan and TJ Reid are two of the top forwards in the game but they can both be marked. Lehane can produce something out of nothing off a half chance even when being well marked, I think he’s excellent. I’ve said for a long time Horgan is overrated, though if let loose he can do wreck.

Horgans problem is work rate and an reliance on high scores from frees that seems to make him think he has done enough. His total domination at underage is an issue and a management unable to correct him.
Lehane got 5 from play against a pack defense the last day. He is clearly able to engineer scores. Luke Farrell and Horgan can’t play on the same line but I think Farrell would actually contribute more from play and score goals. But both don’t put enough pressure on clearances.

Horgan is an out and out centre forward to me and he plays better when involved in the game.
You can highlight Harnedy all you want close to goal but that was against man on an or lose defending. Neither of which will happen against Waterford. Well, it won’t be loose anyway. If he isn’t on the wing ball winning drops alarmingly. The mad thing is this is being pointed out to me by a guy who does the stats for the hell of it. I don’t think Cork are even tracking this stuff.
Walsh is another issue. He is lost midfield. Play him wing forward and Cork can play somewhat traditional. Himself and Harnedy will win enough ball to justify landing ball on them and not being too clever on puck outs. What they have to stop is landing ball on top of the FF line. The ball Cadogan was getting in league final was mental.
If Conor Sull is back I’d play him midfield with Kearney.
Then have
Walsh. Horgan. Harnedy
Cadogan. Lehane. O’Farrell

Balance is key in hurling as imbalance allows teams to identify weaknesses easily or keep play away from strong players. That forward line has balance. Has quite a bit of luxury too, but you are “hoping” with cork anyway, as opposed to “expecting”

Thanks for the PM Kev, assumed it was someone else.

Someone posted here tat Pa O’Callaghan lack pace. This is not true, the lad has a serious turn of pace.

I haven’t seen him in a while but someone who was at the Blackrock match said his acceleration is phenomenal.

callaghan`s ability is totally overrated.
he is a skilful player with a bit of speed but at intercounty minor level when he came up against backs who were not intimidated by those two things he struggled.
he opted out of under 21 and senior which points to a lad who isnt interested in hard work and just wants to play the game as a game. Thats fair enough but claims by lads that he is better than cork senior forwards are total rubbish.

When did he struggle at Minor level. He got 2-6 (1-3 from play) against Clare and 0-10 (0-5 from play) against Waterford in his final year Minor.