Cork v Clare MSHC Semi Final 2014

Not particularly. About 5’11" I reckon.

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 959301, member: 363”]Eddie did play minor for Kilkenny, they weren’t an especially good team, got to the AI semi if I remember correctly, Henry could have been on it too.
Eddie was also corner forward on the U-21 team that won the AI out of the blue in 99, so to intimate that he had no underage pedigree is pushing it a bit.
Having said that, no-one foresaw what the would eventually become, along with DJ and Canning, the deadliest goalscorer of the last 25 years.[/QUOTE]

it was '96…shefflin played corner forward…their star player was a lad from Dunamaggin I think - raymie cahill …they bet Dublin in the final before Wexford played Offaly in senior final IIRC… brennan might have played U-21 in '99 but i was almost certain he never played minor…a lad called Millea and the older Hoyne were the lads from craigue ballycallan IIRC

Wikipedia says Eddie Brennan never played minor for Kilkenny.

When Richie Power first scouted him for the Kilkenny U21s, Brennan was playing for his club junior team. At 21 he still couldn’t break onto the club’s senior starting line-up — in fact he’d play senior championship for Kilkenny before he’d play it with his club.

That can’t be right. Why would Power be looking at Kilmanagh’s second team for players for his u21 team?

At 21 he still couldn’t break onto the club’s senior starting line-up — in fact he’d play senior championship for Kilkenny before he’d play it with his club
WHEN we think of Eddie Brennan now, we picture him roaring down on goal, smashing it past some helpless keeper and then furiously springing into and thumping the air; another goal and kill completed.
Only DJ Carey in the last 25 years scored more championship goals. Only Ring, Shefflin and Doyle have won as many All-Ireland medals on the pitch. Well before the end of his career, he had come to personify so much of what Cody’s Kilkenny has been about. He had power as well as pace; steel as well as style. He was ruthless, relentless, resilient: in short, a winner.
The beauty and brilliance of Brennan’s career is there were times during it that no one saw him in such terms. He was seen as flaky and all flash; a man who couldn’t produce at the highest level or on the biggest stage. His retirement might have been extraordinarily low-key just as his career itself was extraordinarily brilliant, each perhaps because of the shadow and influence of more totemic figures like Cody and Shefflin, but there was a time when people wouldn’t have expected any mention of him at all.
Up until his final year in St Kieran’s, the coaches of the school senior team didn’t even know he attended. Denis Philpott just happened to be at a minor championship game between James Stephens and Graigue-Ballycallan one evening when he was struck by the pace of Graigue’s wing forward. When he enquired who was the lad at number 12, the woman beside him proudly piped up: “That’s my Edward.”
Only until that conversation with Kathleen Brennan did Philpott learn about the greyhound that had been under his nose.
Brennan was different that way. While prodigies like Keher, Carey, Ronan, Shefflin and Hogan came to you, jumped at you, some Kilkenny mentors had to go out of their way to come across Brennan. When Richie Power first scouted him for the Kilkenny U21s, Brennan was playing for his club junior team. At 21 he still couldn’t break onto the club’s senior starting line-up — in fact he’d play senior championship for Kilkenny before he’d play it with his club.
Who was he going to get in ahead off in the club’s forward line? Micheál Hoyne had played three years for the county minors and was considered a better prospect than his brother John prior to an accident. Denis Byrne was on the verge of becoming an All Star. Eddie O’Dwyer was another brilliant underage player. Damien Cleere scored four points from play in the 1993 All-Ireland minor final. Adrian Ronan was once seen as the equal of his St Kieran’s classmate DJ Carey. Brennan wasn’t a blue-chip talent like that.

As a kid he was small, and by his own admission, “a bit timid”. While he was devastating picking up ball in the open space, he would struggle to win independent ball.
A couple of years playing Fitzgibbon hurling for the Garda College under Ken Hogan toughened him up, while Power with the U21s helped him develop his first touch. Within a year of Power seeing him score 2-2 for the club juniors that night, Brennan would strike for a goal in both an All-Ireland U21 and senior final for victorious Kilkenny teams.
Even then there were further tests and doubts. The transition of going from playing junior hurling one summer to playing with DJ and Shefflin the next wasn’t an easy one. It took until 2002 for him to break onto the Kilkenny first 15. Even when he was outstanding for most of 2003 and 2004, people were quick to jump on the fact he failed to score in both All-Ireland finals. To the cynic, he hadn’t the nerve or the bottle of a real legitimate Kilkenny forward.
How he changed all that. In 2006 he reinvented himself as a dogged ball-winning wing forward more than adept at making scores as well as taking them.
His response to drawing a blank in back-to-back All-Irelands in 2003 and 2004 was to reel off 3-9 between the 2007 and 2008 All-Ireland deciders. On the eve of that 2007 championship, he admitted: “I was often standing back and waiting for it to happen [in finals] rather going out and making it happen.”
Suffice to say, against Limerick and Waterford those two Septembers, he made it happen, effectively killing each game when pummelling the net.
In the 2009 final while Shefflin only touched the ball once in the opening 60 minutes, Brennan in the first half alone scored three points and set up two more. Last year’s All-Ireland was effectively sealed by a Richie Hogan goal he created. Add that to his contributions in 2007, ‘08 and ‘09 and can you think of a forward of the last 40 years that has served up more vintage All-Ireland final displays? And to think they once thought he was a choker. And that he himself used to think he was timid. In shedding all the labels Edward Brennan helped carve out hurling history.

Davy’s had the best young talent in the country to pick from in his tenure over Clare. Thirteen wins to two defeats in the U21 championship over the last five years, in a county that never won a Munster U21 championship before. You’d have made some inspired calls yourself if you had that squad to pick from glas.

But then, I’d make some inspired calls with any team. :slight_smile:

So…any consensus on whether Darach Honan* is like Eddie Brennan or not?

*Is he the tall sort of awkward looking one?

[QUOTE=“Midshipman Asha, post: 959385, member: 1508”]So…any consensus on whether Darach Honan* is like Eddie Brennan or not?

*Is he the tall sort of awkward looking one?[/QUOTE]
Unless you would classify Eddie Brennan as a big long useless streak of shit, then they are not alike.

[QUOTE=“Midshipman Asha, post: 959385, member: 1508”]
*Is he the tall sort of awkward looking one?[/QUOTE]
No that’s Walter Walsh you’re thinking of

Thank you for your assistance - I looked him up, he is the one I was thinking of with the incredibly thin arms

[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 959040, member: 1061”]The funny thing is that I tend to recall the highs and lows of a players career so I can remember back to the dim and distant past when eddie brennan was struggling to get on the kilkenny team in his early 20’s and people doubted he woukd make it.
How far back does your memory stretch?[/QUOTE]

The only doubts about eddie back then were he would go quiet after if a lad clattered him… his pace touch finishing etc were always top class. From what I have seen of honan he is just a very average hurler. Hes awkward like gilligan used to be with less skill and drive. Always flatters to deceive. He will be off the county scene in another couple of years. He doesnt have the gumption for it.

I think Honan is a super player. A couple of his points from out on the wing last year in the early games were pure class. I reckon he’s better in the corner, despite his height he is clearly not a natural full forward.

[QUOTE=“scumpot, post: 959327, member: 182”]At 21 he still couldn’t break onto the club’s senior starting line-up — in fact he’d play senior championship for Kilkenny before he’d play it with his club
WHEN we think of Eddie Brennan now, we picture him roaring down on goal, smashing it past some helpless keeper and then furiously springing into and thumping the air; another goal and kill completed.
Only DJ Carey in the last 25 years scored more championship goals. Only Ring, Shefflin and Doyle have won as many All-Ireland medals on the pitch. Well before the end of his career, he had come to personify so much of what Cody’s Kilkenny has been about. He had power as well as pace; steel as well as style. He was ruthless, relentless, resilient: in short, a winner.
The beauty and brilliance of Brennan’s career is there were times during it that no one saw him in such terms. He was seen as flaky and all flash; a man who couldn’t produce at the highest level or on the biggest stage. His retirement might have been extraordinarily low-key just as his career itself was extraordinarily brilliant, each perhaps because of the shadow and influence of more totemic figures like Cody and Shefflin, but there was a time when people wouldn’t have expected any mention of him at all.
Up until his final year in St Kieran’s, the coaches of the school senior team didn’t even know he attended. Denis Philpott just happened to be at a minor championship game between James Stephens and Graigue-Ballycallan one evening when he was struck by the pace of Graigue’s wing forward. When he enquired who was the lad at number 12, the woman beside him proudly piped up: “That’s my Edward.”
Only until that conversation with Kathleen Brennan did Philpott learn about the greyhound that had been under his nose.
Brennan was different that way. While prodigies like Keher, Carey, Ronan, Shefflin and Hogan came to you, jumped at you, some Kilkenny mentors had to go out of their way to come across Brennan. When Richie Power first scouted him for the Kilkenny U21s, Brennan was playing for his club junior team. At 21 he still couldn’t break onto the club’s senior starting line-up — in fact he’d play senior championship for Kilkenny before he’d play it with his club.
Who was he going to get in ahead off in the club’s forward line? Micheál Hoyne had played three years for the county minors and was considered a better prospect than his brother John prior to an accident. Denis Byrne was on the verge of becoming an All Star. Eddie O’Dwyer was another brilliant underage player. Damien Cleere scored four points from play in the 1993 All-Ireland minor final. Adrian Ronan was once seen as the equal of his St Kieran’s classmate DJ Carey. Brennan wasn’t a blue-chip talent like that.

As a kid he was small, and by his own admission, “a bit timid”. While he was devastating picking up ball in the open space, he would struggle to win independent ball.
A couple of years playing Fitzgibbon hurling for the Garda College under Ken Hogan toughened him up, while Power with the U21s helped him develop his first touch. Within a year of Power seeing him score 2-2 for the club juniors that night, Brennan would strike for a goal in both an All-Ireland U21 and senior final for victorious Kilkenny teams.
Even then there were further tests and doubts. The transition of going from playing junior hurling one summer to playing with DJ and Shefflin the next wasn’t an easy one. It took until 2002 for him to break onto the Kilkenny first 15. Even when he was outstanding for most of 2003 and 2004, people were quick to jump on the fact he failed to score in both All-Ireland finals. To the cynic, he hadn’t the nerve or the bottle of a real legitimate Kilkenny forward.
How he changed all that. In 2006 he reinvented himself as a dogged ball-winning wing forward more than adept at making scores as well as taking them.
His response to drawing a blank in back-to-back All-Irelands in 2003 and 2004 was to reel off 3-9 between the 2007 and 2008 All-Ireland deciders. On the eve of that 2007 championship, he admitted: “I was often standing back and waiting for it to happen [in finals] rather going out and making it happen.”
Suffice to say, against Limerick and Waterford those two Septembers, he made it happen, effectively killing each game when pummelling the net.
In the 2009 final while Shefflin only touched the ball once in the opening 60 minutes, Brennan in the first half alone scored three points and set up two more. Last year’s All-Ireland was effectively sealed by a Richie Hogan goal he created. Add that to his contributions in 2007, ‘08 and ‘09 and can you think of a forward of the last 40 years that has served up more vintage All-Ireland final displays? And to think they once thought he was a choker. And that he himself used to think he was timid. In shedding all the labels Edward Brennan helped carve out hurling history.[/QUOTE]
Eddie brennan made his name hurling fitzgibbon with the guards. Got onto to the senior panel on the back of it before ever playing under 21. Never played minor. Incidently derek Lyng whos the same age was only on the training panel at minor. Played fitz with wit and when mick kav was injured played corner back on the 21s for the all ireland semi final but was on the bench for the final where fast eddies made his mark in 99 I think it was

I see Frank has James McGrath got to ref on Sunday as well. Expect that utter cunt Cronin to spend half the game rolling around the ground. The horrible, shameless Cork cunt.

Honan caused Cork a world of problems last year but his finishing was off, nno reason why he can’t do both come Sunday.

I Fuxsake have ye been watching Fitzgerald sides at all for the last 6-7 years? For whatever reason they are always way undercooked. I don’t think he doesn’t it deliberatelya t

I think you are right in that, he;s not a natural 14 but should succeed in 2m FF line…in any case word on the street is he is not starting

no problem asha, delighted to be of service

Injuries and apathy towards hard training early in his senior I/C career haven’t helped Honan’s cause. He can’t seem to stay fit either for a sustained period of time which counts against him. He was very good in 2010 on his debut senior season, since then it has been fleeting glimpses here and there. Missed the hip, groin and hamstring injuries seem to have dulled his pace a bit.

He missed pretty much a year of hurling from June 2011 til May 2012 with a groin injury and all of last spring due to a hip op.