heās in good form pukeā¦better than I;ve seen in his senior career to date
Good to hear, his game hasnāt really improved from what he offered as a 17 year old - he won us a few games almost on his own that year at club level. Still not willing to make the hard yards to get on the ball, which is fine at underage/club level but you wonāt make much of an impact at I/C level when running from a static position once the ball is played into him, he seems to just lack that knack of being able to drift onto a ball like McGrath/Tots/Collins et al have. He can do great things ball in hand and is a handful even when not firing on all cylinders
I sense something different about him this yearā¦but we wont see it sun I feel as he wont get a start it would seem
He still has his uses and has the raw materials to come good if he gets a run injury free. I suppose the fact that he is not longer guarenteed his place and is possibly in danger of slipping down to the periphery of the panel has him motivated
Honan has the skills to be an important player for Clare that is obvious from his underage days.
He needs to learn how to better utilise his physical advantage over most and improve his decision making.
[QUOTE=āFran, post: 959618, member: 110ā]Honan has the skills to be an important player for Clare that is obvious from his underage days.
He needs to learn how to better utilise his physical advantage over most and improve his decision making.[/QUOTE]
When are these transplants taking place, Fran?
iād expect a big enough crowd for this,Clare will bring 15k or so. and in contrast to the last Cork bunch (SIPTU) the Cork public seem to be getting behind this side so they should bring 30k or so. I remember a time there in the mid 2000s where all the decent Cork supporterās were hoping theyād be beat out the gate but JBM seems to have got the Cork public back on side in fairness to him
KC completely losing the run of himself it seems.
shane o neill will break the cunts hand and cahalane will shit down tots neck
Considering one of Damoās bowel movements would roughly be the same size as Tots the practicalities of such would be difficult.
isn`t there always. his brother would have been better only for the drink of course
i assume you are talking about niall there since both will be in the stand for this one
I have to say outside of @fenwaypark[/USER] and [USER=367]@mickee321 itās very hard to take any of the other carkies serious on the tfk hurling topics
It hard to know which way this will go.
Cork have had 2 games and there is definitely some advantage to that, but then Clare had beaten Waterford last year and it did them no good. Normally I donāt think 7 days is enough mentally, but the nature of last weeks game means it didnāt take a whole pike out of Cork on the mental side.
Clare though clearly have had the overall edge mentally in the last 4 games. The only one I would put absolute importance on was the AI Final and they were worthy winners in the replay. I have only seen a few highlights of them this year but results indicate they have mixed the good with the below average. This is a good way for champions to be I think. I think they might be slightly less worried about it than Cork and for that reason will play well and freely.
Cork are putting together a fine team, however they still are carrying a bit of baggage from the final replay and I think they will Have to be mentally perfect on Sunday to win. Wind up too much and Clare will nip around and tack score after score. They certainly wonāt be undercooked. In the grand scheme of things a loss isnāt the end if the world, but I think because itās Clare Cork have more at stake. I believe Cork are huge contenders this year but are still bedding in a few lads. Clare are more settled.
Clare to pick up a few handy late points when the teams are tired to win by 2-3
lads, now that the penalty rule has been clarified, do ye see any point in JBM picking Cronin re throwing himself down etc. ? Is he still the captain?
He caused Clare problems - is the Clare full back poor in the air
[QUOTE=āTheUlteriorMotive, post: 960702, member: 2272ā]He caused Clare problems - is the Clare full back poor in the air
Its possible, but using the Cork game as the barometer isnāt realistic as every time they were within 1m or so of each other Cronin swan dived onto the turf ?
Presume Clare will withdraw their half forwards and try and isolate the full forward line
How do you set up to beat Clare? Work as hard as them and donāt follow them out the pitch?
Clare arenāt comfortable with direct running at their defence so Walsh could be an important player for Cork along with Harnedy.
It will be interesting to see whether Clare go for match ups at the back on Sunday or whether they line out as named in the back six. The match ups worked very well last September and the fact that most of them are comfortable in a number of positions help. Suppose it would make sense to detail Morey on Cadogan, McInerney on Horgan, Bugler to take Cronin on the 20 and Dillon to take him if at full forward while Ryan would take Harnedy
I think there is a distinct possibility Clare will be undercooked and Cork will get an early goal or 2 from being pure tuned to the task at hand. It might be difficult for us to recover from it and based on the fact both side weres close enough last year and the Cork have undoubtedly strengthened their options middle 3rd I think they might sneak it Sun. But without seeing a Clare side its all speculation. Clare are a lot fresher this year than 2 years past. Impossible to call with any confidence this time of year but Cork @ 11-8 undoubtedly the value bet for those doing accums etcā¦