Sorry about the year but it was in the early 60ās anyway.
I was two boats ahead of the one that went down in 85 I think it 85 where there were several Limerick supporters drowned on that terrible sad day crossing the Lee. Cork also beat us that day.
Not good the last day but youāre losing the run of yourself. He was super against Tipp and one of if not our best performer against Clare last year. He is our most consistent back over the last 5 years, iād hate to drop him.
[QUOTE=āJulio Geordio, post: 963517, member: 332ā]We could do with two Downes really. I agree we need a ball winner but the ball in was so bad the last day that you need a big man inside too.
Iād keep Wayne on one of the wings and would drop either of the other two, donāt believe either have been going great. Gav in particular has been underperforming for a while now. Maybe Gav should be at half forward where he lines out for Killmallock?[/QUOTE]
4 Downesās to play alongside Hannon and Mulcahy and weād be sorted. Iād have Wayne at 5 in any formation. Donāt think POB is really a half back and I thought his form had been poor ahead of the last game but he played well, apparently he was outstanding at midfield Kilmallock the weekend. Havenāt seen Gavin play half forward yet, Iād have faith and stick with him, heās a very intelligent defender.
And a sideline. I think he was living with Joe Canning at the time so must have been out practicing with him all the time.
[QUOTE=āJulio Geordio, post: 963530, member: 332ā]Iāve said it before and Iāll say it again. Itās hard to beat a summers day in Killarney for a match. The terrace around the stadium generates a great buzz and Killarney is a great spot for a few pints. It would suit most people perfectly and can hold over 40k as well.
Highly unlikely however. @Fagan ODowd has Killarney ever held a Munster Hurling Championship match of consequence?[/QUOTE]
Julio, Julio, come on. It held the Munster hurling match of the greatest consequence. The 1987 final replay. The famous famine is over match. Great ground.
I tried something like that last time and eneded up having to jump a few wallsā¦ Iāll most likely be staying out in Rochestown anyway so will be swinging in Blackrock way---- where we meeting for pints? @glasagusban[/USER] , [USER=1786]@TreatyStones[/USER] , [USER=1552]@dodgy-keeper[/USER] ,[USER=519]@Watchyourtoes[/USER] , [USER=1624]@Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen[/USER] @Stephen Lucey, [USER=2090]@peter Lawlor
[QUOTE=āPeter G, post: 963531, member: 1758ā]Sorry about the year but it was in the early 60ās anyway.
I was two boats ahead of the one that went down in 85 I think it 85 where there were several Limerick supporters drowned on that terrible sad day crossing the Lee. Cork also beat us that day.[/QUOTE]
The bowl shape lends itself to creating a great atmosphere when full but thatās about the only positive the place
[QUOTE=āJulio Geordio, post: 963530, member: 332ā]Iāve said it before and Iāll say it again. Itās hard to beat a summers day in Killarney for a match. The terrace around the stadium generates a great buzz and Killarney is a great spot for a few pints. It would suit most people perfectly and can hold over 40k as well.
Highly unlikely however. @Fagan ODowd has Killarney ever held a Munster Hurling Championship match of consequence?[/QUOTE]
Youāre a font of knowledge @Fagan ODowd a quick google suggests it also held the 1950 Munster Hurling Final between Cork & Tipp. I suppose the major reason it wouldnāt be held there is the lack of seating, means the GAA canāt charge enough of a premium.
Terrible town to get in and out of on match days. In fairness though I am basing that on Munster football finals I attended there in the 70s and 80s and it may have improved since.
No it hasnāt, still a disaster, although the castle island bypass will take one less bottle-neck out of the route.
Thurles is the only option for this game really.
Iāll most likely be in āthe venueā if it is on in Cork. @TreatyStones have you negotiated a day pass yet?
The roads down are much improved now, Castlelisland etc bypassed. Youād still be stuck in the town afterwards though.
There are many worse places to be stuck than Killarney. I place I often thought Iād like to live in.
I donāt know about that kid. He put the ball on the hurley every time he got it against Clare last year, he soloād 20 yards every time, into trouble. I definitely agree that the talent is there, Iād be worried that he concedes a lot of scores. Mac has been our most consistent back in my opinion.
Wayne Mac is the toughest inter-county hurler out there at the moment. Iāve lost count of the number of lads he has pole-axed with shoulders over the past few years. He leveled a Tipp lad just before half time the last day (then made a fuck of the pick up and gave away a line ball).
I love Killarney on a match day (not that weāve been there much). I remember the last time I was down there following the big ballers. We got on the train at Colbert Station, out to the Junction. Got out as far as the junction, only to be told there was no connecting train to Killarney, so they send buses out from Colbert to collect the Killarney crowd. About 2 hours after setting off, we were passing Colbert station on the way to Killarney, got to Killarney then and about a 5 mile tailback, had to jump off the bus and walk from about 2 miles inā¦ barely made the throw in.
he is hard as fuck alright. The league match at the start of the year against Cork he got pole-axed early on and was visibly upset that he had to be brought off. His head was half opened and he was more worried about getting back onto the field.
[QUOTE=āEsteban de la Sexface, post: 963559, member: 2695ā]I love Killarney on a match day (not that weāve been there much). I remember the last time I was down there following the big ballers. We got on the train at Colbert Station, out to the Junction. Got out as far as the junction, only to be told there was no connecting train to Killarney, so they send buses out from Colbert to collect the Killarney crowd. About 2 hours after setting off, we were passing Colbert station on the way to Killarney, got to Killarney then and about a 5 mile tailback, had to jump off the bus and walk from about 2 miles inā¦ barely made the throw in.
Had right craic afterwards though.[/QUOTE]
Sure getting the train to Killarney from Limerick makes no sense. It must be at least twice as expensive as the bus and an hour longer.
we got the train for the comfort. it was a melting hot day and we said weād go down in a bit of style and have an auld sup on the train. ended up on a stinking hot bus with a shower of animals from West Limerick
Pairc Ui Chaoimh is some dump. The long walk out, the traffic, the stand seats designed assuming every adult is the size of Danny DeVito. Itās dangerous in the stands, teams running out of the tunnel and surrounded by supporters. Itās always fucking cold in that covered stand too, even if it is thirty degrees weather - itās like the Mackey Stand that way.
In saying that the view from the terrace there is magnificent. Was up there in 2001 when Big Brian Begley ran amok against Waterford. Think we were 10 or 11 points down early on that day but came back to win by three. Was in the stand in the same ground against Cork the match before and could barely get up to celebrate when Barry Foley mugged them off with the sideline ball winner. A lovely ground when there is a small/reasonable crowd but hate the place when itās packed.
In saying that we owe Cork a game so Iāve no problem entering the lions den to face them in their own backyard. Absolutely no pressure on Limerick, Iām looking forward to it. Written off again but that suits us.