Cork v Limerick Munster SHC Final 2014

You’d be surprised, Cork people bear all the hallmarks of Stockholm Syndrome in everything thing they do, we’ve seen that here already. Frank tells them to like it, they’ll like it.

Depends, legally or illegally?

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 964333, member: 363”]For a guarantee of the two or three munster finals immediately after the refurbishments are done, I’d say a deal could be worked out. Limerick would have to agree also to the next two meetings against Cork to be played down there as well.
Make the tae there Bridie and the lads will work it out so they will.[/QUOTE]
Would Cork then owe us two meetings in Limerick or do we play this game in Limerick in that scenario?

All the lads who wanted to so badly see their team play but couldn’t be bothered going to a semi final?

Cork would be mad to concede home advantage when they have a chance of a Munster title and then a shot at the All Ireland.

Who gives a fuck where it is on… i will be there and we will ate the cunts alive.

If Limerick win there’s free Olives for everyone who wears a Limerick jersey to the English Market.

This is an article from the Cork Examiner.

Uncertainty surrounds the venue of this year’s Munster senior hurling final, with the Provincial Council favouring Semple Stadium and the Cork GAA chiefs supporting Páirc Uí Chaoimh for the July 13 showdown.
Because Cork travelled to Limerick for last year’s provincial decider it had been widely assumed that Limerick would automatically come to Leeside for this year’s final as part of a home and away arrangement.

However disagreements about the venue arose on Sunday evening: Munster Council representatives, who met Cork officials in Thurles soon after Cork beat Clare, made a strong case for the decider to be moved to Thurles.

Munster Council CEO Simon Moroney said yesterday that the provincial competitions control committee had not yet fixed a venue: “We expect them to do so in the next week. There are issues to be considered, but we hope to have a decision by today week,” he said.

Moroney, would not elaborate on those issues: “No, I would prefer not to. The provincial CCC fixes the venues for all our games. Home and away agreements are not the sole determinant of venues for any GAA fixture.

“It will be considered, but it is not the sole factor. The provincial CCC fixes the venues for all games within parameters set out in rule.”

He conceded that Páirc Uí Chaoimh’s capacity was a consideration. “That would be a factor for games, including this game. I am not going to elaborate on the details of that. All factors will be taken into account before a final venue is decided. Home and away agreements are part of that but the key thing is that it is not the sole determinant.”

The assessment of reduced capacity in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, which is soon to close temporarily for major redevelopment, has been rejected out of hand, however, by Cork, where officials have stressed the capacity of the Leeside venue is 40,500. Cork have also pointed to their existing home-and-away agreement with Limerick, as seen last year in the Munster hurling final, and added that Cork hurling supporters had already made three trips to Thurles in five weeks (for the drawn game with Waterford, the replay with Waterford, and Sunday’s game against Clare).

These points were echoed yesterday by Cork chairman Bob Ryan, when asked about the potential for two Munster finals in PĂĄirc UĂ­ Chaoimh (should Cork and Kerry win their respective football semi-finals this weekend)

Mr Ryan said: “It’s only right and fitting. It’s been a superb venue for 40 years and it would be a superb end to its life now with, hopefully, two Munster finals.

“It’ll be the last Munster final there until something extraordinary happens because we have home and away arrangements with Limerick and Kerry.”

Limerick chairman Oliver Mann expressed his concerns yesterday about supporters missing out on the game due to reduced capacity, but acknowledged the agreement on venues with Cork: “At the end of the day we have a home and away agreement with Cork. Cork honoured that last year and so the Munster final is due to be played in Cork this year.

“That still has to be sanctioned by the Munster Council. I haven’t seen any confirmation of a venue yet.

“I presume what is exercising their mind (Munster Council) is that Páirc Uí Chaoimh can only hold, and I am not wholly sure on this figure, 34,000. There were 43,000 in Limerick last year.

“If the game was in Páirc Uí Chaoimh there are a lot of people who wouldn’t be able to go to the match. That is a matter for the Munster Council.

“If the game is fixed for Páirc Uí Chaoimh we would have no problem with that, but if the game is in Páirc Uí Chaoimh there will be Cork and Limerick people without tickets.

“There is a huge interest out there in the Munster championship. At the end of the day this is a Munster Council issue. Wherever the Munster Council fix this game for, we will be there and that will be the end of it.”

Mann insisted Limerick had not lobbied the Munster Council to move the game out of Cork: “No, we did not. We are happy to go wherever the game is played. The people I would feel sorry for are those who genuinely want to go to this match, but won’t be able to.

“If the game is in Thurles more people will have the opportunity to attend. I think there will be something like 13,000 more spaces if the game is in Thurles compared with Cork.

“If the game is in Páirc Uí Chaoimh we would be lucky to get somewhere around 11,000 tickets. I reckon we had 15,000 in Thurles the day we played Tipperary.

“If you go back to last year we surely had something like 25,000 Limerick supporters in the Gaelic Grounds for the Munster finals. In Cork and Limerick you have to of the two largest followings in the province.”

It is understood that the figure of 34,000 spectators for Páirc Uí Chaoimh’s capacity emanates from a review of GAA stadia some years ago, when it was proposed to reduce the Cork stadium’s capacity to that figure, but Cork County Board sources stressed yesterday that that figure does not reflect the actual stadium capacity of 40,500. The Munster minor hurling semi-finals are down for decision next week, and when the identities of the counties participating in the Munster final are known then tickets can be printed for the provincial decider: the identities of those minor counties will also impact on ticket allocations.

Horgan goals ‘poetic justice’, says Ryan

Cork chairman Bob Ryan has described Patrick Horgan’s two goals on Sunday as “poetic justice” after the introduction of the new rule interpretation for penalties and 20-metre frees.

Horgan had revealed his pleasure in scoring the brace, the first a 22m free followed by a second-half penalty, as he claimed it appeared the GAA were out to stop Cork and Anthony Nash.

Before the game, Ryan was heavily critical of new guidelines preventing penalties and 20m frees being struck past the 20m line. He took great delight in seeing Horgan fire home the penalty from before the 20m line.

“It was justice, poetic justice,” he said. “We were thrilled because we, this team, had a point to prove after the All-Ireland finals last year.

“He got them, the first one was a pure snapshot and caught everyone unawares. The second shot was a bullet but you would have expected the goalie to stop it, but he didn’t.

“I think management have improved the team introducing Damien Cahalane, Mark Ellis and Aidan Walsh. We’ve a very strong panel going forward.”

Ryan had previously indicated he would speak more freely about comments made about Cork by Ger Loughnane on The Sunday Game the weekend before last. The former Clare manager had claimed Cork had sought that Johnny Ryan not referee last year’s All-Ireland final replay. But now he wants to move on.

“I’m not going to seek retribution from Ger Loughnane. The whole thing is not worthy of being dragged on any longer, really. It’s been a debacle. We are delighted to win the match, very happy to be in a Munster final and looking forward to a big crowd in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.”

Š Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved

No, if it goes to Thurles, then ye owe Cork a home game, which would be the next one, then back to the rotation, which would be Cork again.
If the munster council want Thurles, then this is what Cork should insist upon in relation to the home/away arrangement.

Nice to see Bob Ryan sticking it to the begrudgers there.What rules will the Clare lad’s demand an amendment for now.:smiley:

Cork is handy to get in & out of if you park in the right spot. Anywhere down the Pier at Blackrock is grand & you can get onto the motorway handy thereafter. Bit of a walk to the field alright but that will only sober lads up a bit which is no harm.

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 964391, member: 363”]No, if it goes to Thurles, then ye owe Cork a home game, which would be the next one, then back to the rotation, which would be Cork again.
If the munster council want Thurles, then this is what Cork should insist upon in relation to the home/away arrangement.[/QUOTE]
That’s stupid and won’t happen. If a neutral venue is chosen by Munster Council we can return to the home and away arrangement whenever Cork get their pointless and unnecessary new stadium built. Otherwise we’ll play in Cork. We had no problem shitting all over Tipp in their own house and I don’t see why we should be afraid of going to Cork.

Bar the capacity issue I don’t think Limerick have any issue travelling to Cork.

When you say capacity issue, are ye worried ye will get home too early or what?

Perhaps @North County Corncrake could check the average national hurling league home attendance for the competing counties to determine if stadium capacity is a genuine issue.

Oh that’d be fun. Munster council give Cork the finger, fix game for Thurles, bitter cold war ensues.
If it’s in Thurles, expect at least two munster finals in a row to be played in their new gaff.
You’re probably right about the home/away arrangement. It would be fairly cheeky for them to isist on two meetings in a row down there but you’d never know with them lads. This could be Frankeens last great stroke.

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 964407, member: 363”]Oh that’d be fun. Munster council give Cork the finger, fix game for Thurles, bitter cold war ensues.
If it’s in Thurles, expect at least two munster finals in a row to be played in their new gaff.
You’re probably right about the home/away arrangement. It would be fairly cheeky for them to isist on two meetings in a row down there but you’d never know with them lads. This could be Frankeens last great stroke.[/QUOTE]
On the home and away, we could give them two in a row, providing we get the next two. It makes no sense to skew the home/away agreement so far that it doesn’t balance out. Munster Council could and should fix the game for Thurles. They could have the guarantee of a few neutral Munster finals for their new Páirc Uí Unnecessary once it’s built as a sop.

Can you imagine the whinging if they move it to Thurles? First the Nash rule and now they take our home final off us, wah wah wah. Delicious. :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 964333, member: 363”]For a guarantee of the two or three munster finals immediately after the refurbishments are done, I’d say a deal could be worked out. Limerick would have to agree also to the next two meetings against Cork to be played down there as well.
Make the tae there Bridie and the lads will work it out so they will.[/QUOTE]
Why the hell would someone well clamp that?:smiley:
Anyway you make a good case, but reading what the Cork CB are saying they are determined to have it played in Cork. History shows they are a determined lot. The players are also talking a lot about it.
I’ll stay with the Cork CB for now.

[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 964391, member: 363”]No, if it goes to Thurles, then ye owe Cork a home game, which would be the next one, then back to the rotation, which would be Cork again.
If the munster council want Thurles, then this is what Cork should insist upon in relation to the home/away arrangement.[/QUOTE]

Obviously Limerick aren’t going to agree to that. They’ll go to Cork instead.

This is similar to Na Piarsaigh having to toss for home advantage against the bridge in last year’s munster final. The Munster Council have ultimate say over the location of matches.

Out of curiosity, does anybody know how that toss goes. Is that a toss between Na Piarsaigh and Sixmilebridge, i.e. the next time they play it’s on in Limerick. Or is it a toss between Limerick and Clare, i.e. If say Kilmallock play Newmarket next year is that match in Limerick?

After minor finalists are decided during the week.

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 964347, member: 332”]It makes no sense to have 10k people who can’t see the match just out of spite.[/QUOTE]Its only 4ish less that last year.

It’s the health and safety boys that are the problem here, not the CCB or the Munster Council. How does a ground go from having a capacity of 43,000 one year to 34,000 the next, without any work being done to it?