Unfortunately I think Waterford have a habit of a calamity performance a yearâŠhopefully yesterday was it and they come out a different team the next day. The not having a third selector is a problem, for all of Danâs best intentions he isnât a selector or a tactical mastermind, Philip Murphy leaving the post didnât help at all imo
Iâd be worried about Austin Gleas on. He was very disinterested on Sunday and he reminded me very much of Dan when Justin took him off in 08 againât Clare.
The key to winning that dirty ball is fitness and hunger and you can definitely train for it. It is incredibly energy sapping but very rewarding if you can get the physical edge.
I remember doing drills for it years ago. It something that an intelligent hurler will recognise as a fundamental part of the game but youâd be surprised at the amount of fellas who laughed at us doing the drills claiming that imposing yourself physically over the ball, protecting the ball and holding off your man was a free. The same fellas would disappear when the game was in the melting pot as skilful and all as they might have been.
But you can play some brilliabt constraint led games with the rucks.
Like where is the ball going? Where is your support?
What are you going to do with no support?
Etc
I had a rough stab at a % from a couple of league games last year at time in rucks. Now granted i would say there are more in the league. However i think i came up with around 18-20 % of time in play was contested between 3 or more players largely on the ground.
So my argument for Cork oractising that was they were ignoring about 1/5th of the game.
This Cork team stinks of Ray Ryan and Sars imo, not the other lads. Good first touch, good use of the ball inside, good support play, emphasis on movement and touch - all Sars trademarks over the past decade.
Put Aussie full back. Heâll struggle to hit it wide from there.
Eoin Murphy and Fergal Hartley are selectors now.
I think it is fair to say that Fintan OâConnor was the real brains of the operation
Sars lacked steel.
They were generally better and faster than other teams and only hunger caught them a few years.
Myler is all over this team as well.
I would say its a nice mix.
But Keegan is clearly the biggest influence. On everyone, management as much as anyone
If he was heâs hiding it well in Kerry
DĂ© BĂșrca should go to full back with Gleeson at 6
@Fagan_ODowd - Phil Fanning putting the boot in, in the Waterford News and Star.
Elsewhere extensive post match insight from Coach Derek.
âOur game over the last two or three years has been based on having bodies in the middle of the fied, making sure that whenever Cork gained possession that they would run into someone. That was totally lacking today and it was more of a conventional approach. Thatâs the really disappointing thing. We actually planned for the opposite approach. We planned for a cluttered middle third and Cork got the freedom of the park to play the ball into a two man full forward lineâ.
âThe general perception in the run-up to the game was that we couldnât afford the space to Cork that had been afforded to them by Tipperary. Our plan on that was to pack the middle third but we didnât do that. We juts went away completely from what we had spoken about. Thatâs the nature of a team when youâre dealing with young people on a given occasion. That has to factored in as well; guys do their own thing and thatâs a learning point for all of usâ.
âQuite candidly the message was that we were lucky to be still in it. It was admirable the amount of grit we showed in the last ten minutes just before half time. I felt we were being sucked completely down the pitch by Corkâs depth so the message was to refocus on what we discussed in terms of our plan. We just didnât execute it at the start of the second half. Shane had a slight chance of a goal and when we got the goal, we thought we would kick on but I just thought we laced a bit of flow in general. Ger Loughnane referred to being constipated a few years ago and I thought it was a bit constipated and stop-startish. Cork opened up the space and we couldnât close it downâ.
Thatâs quite a revelation. Heâs explicitly saying the players ignored his instructions and the game plan developed by management and went out and did their own thing.
Its incredible stuff. Regional newspapers are great. Thatâs where you get the real inside track.
He should be handed his P45 & told to fuck off for himself.
The reporter?
Phil Fanning is the reporter whoâs father is former president of Gaa pat fanning and whoâs son paraic fanning is one of Davyâs selectors in Wexford
I didnât hear that one! But I am out of the country!
Who?
If thats really what he has said its mental. But it does happen.
If all true then all he has to do is say âi told ye soâ.
However good chance he has lost the dressing room there.
Maybe he ignored their desire to play club, to go more attacking or whatever.
Gleeson did play like a spoilt brat though.