Coronavirus - Here come the variants

Is there this kind of negative narrative around government/restrictions/nphet/vaccine roll out in Poland? Did I hear they are tightening restrictions rather than loosening?
Edit I see you mentioning the restrictions later. What is the public mood?

One of the main things the gobshites on Twitter have spun is a public health vs economy narrative. Outdoor activities should have been reopened by now, if they didnā€™t want alcohol then fine but get outdoors open. You take the sting out of that silly narrative by reopening outdoor visits and sports for mental health reasons.

Things like NPHETā€™s mobility index have to be put into context for the public. Itā€™s an indicator but the most important thing is how the public behave when they move. When they arenā€™t being treated like morons with lines about full car parks, the middle ground follows the advice.

If you are the Government, that has to be your April 5th message. That and schools having to remain open due to their societal importance. Even if we pursue a reopening that basically does nothing to reopen the economy, but just safe allowable interaction, Iā€™d be more contented. Bin off the nonsense that cases will drop much more due to restrictions, worry indexes and mobility indexes, itā€™ll be seasonality and vaccines that drive them lower. That will take some power away from NPHET as what we have currently is them mentioning things daily at press conferences that have little connection to the science of the spread of the virus but Big Brother monitoring. This keeps them relevant and allows the scare to continue over every little negative datapoint or anecdote.

The Government should be in a good position by the end of April IMO. 25%+ will have had their first dose at least with many more fully vaccinated. We will be coming into summer and the cases will drop regardless. But they need to take some control back from NPHET and the public health weirdos ASAP. Weā€™ll be running into Dame Lane July 2020 again with meltdowns over 4 cases and continued scare anecdotes over sisters getting Covid for going to a funeral otherwise. Thereā€™s a way to do that whilst not giving into the clowns online who think that reopening means giving into ā€œbig businessā€.

People are bored with lockdown and a lot are ignoring it. There isnā€™t the same mass hysteria in the media here. The news channels give it blanket coverage but a lot of people avoid it. The powers that be arenā€™t into scare mongering like at home. Or the experts. Much more factual. Itā€™s a long auld winter here and weā€™re not out of it yet so people are a bit fed up.

Good luck

Would you say the experience out there with the restrictions, the going in and out of lockdowns and the number of deaths etc would justify anything about the approach being taken by our authorities? Or would it do the opposite?

We are always thinking what we do here is a complete joke youā€™re the only fella whoā€™s actually on the ground in another EU country I think

Inspiring stuff

How much pressure are ICUs and hospitals under. Thatā€™s the only justification for lockdowns

Yeah becuase travel is non existent

Tifco is owned by a US fundā€¦ It used to be owned by a fella called Aidan Crowe but was taken over in the Anglo wind down Iā€™d say

Time will tell mate.

It sure willā€¦ The UK is banjaxed. Long term they will blame it on Covid maybe but Brexit has fucked them up royallyā€¦

Covid will have an even greater impact though I reckon. Weā€™ll see.

Interesting to see whoā€™s involved and what their connections are. Iā€™m very cynical whenever I hear of any goverment contract

They started with the Clontarf Castle and built up a nice portfolio of hotels. The Crowne Plazas were a grand standard and the Travelodges were dumps but you get what you pay for.

HSE ICT Covid costs :eyes: (2021)

I spent a productive hour once listening to some yank professor talking about data lakes on a webinar. Glad to see the HSE are on board.

3.7m on teaching Bridie in finance how to turn on the camera on Teams.

The waters of a HSE data lake could get murky indeed.

Iā€™m going to start utilising ā€œdata ingestionā€ effective immediately. I canā€™t believe Iā€™ve been just referring to ā€œdata importā€ all this time like some sort of pleb.

Iā€™d say the money being thrown around is unreal

If data import is data ingestion then data output must beā€¦scutter