Coronavirus - Here come the variants

They must be very careless getting it twice

Drove out through Clontarf along the coast road there about an hour ago. The genie is out of the bottle and it ainā€™t going back for a while Iā€™d say. Literally thousands of people in groups sitting out on the seafront.

Did you call the guards?

Fair play to them. Itā€™s a beautiful evening.

Thereā€™s a Garda station that looks out on the seafront in Clontarf. If they were interested they wouldnā€™t need me to call them.

The Guards are done with it, getting shafted on the vaccine rollout was the final straw for them.

Were laws being broken?

Donā€™t tell me you witnessed a crime and failed to report it?

I feel bad enough already.

Tonightā€™s figures were a boost. I was getting worried we were gonna be open earlier than thought but it looks like weā€™ll miss the summer as predicted.

Iā€™ve no idea if any laws were broken.

Iā€™d imagine itā€™s much more likely that they got a false positive the first time?

The takeaway pints are back in earnest in Dublin 4 this evening, passed at least 5 establishments serving out of a hatch, dozens sipping away outside. Champ told us to forget about the takeaway pints. Heā€™s not laughing now.

We are lucky to have such a level headed person to keep us safe from harm.

We need to get this right so we can go back to living empty lives.

Do you predict a roaring 20s or a ramping up of the online narcissism. Or both.

The CBS In Nayna is closed due to rampant covid

And the convent.

Where are people taking a piss? Iā€™ve heard that there was a huge, snaking queue for the Stephenā€™s Green Shopping Centre toilets last weekend. People, pint in each hand, queuing for a piss. Plenty of pubs/restaurants around that South William Street, Grafton Street, South Anne Street area serving takeaway food and drink. A lot of young types on social media decrying the lack of public toilets in the city centre and saying the council outsourced the responsibility to pubs.

This day last year we had 631 cases on April 22nd with 936 cases the following day. There were 39 deaths announced, with 25 deaths the following day and 214 deaths on April 24th recorded.

yet with no vaccine and no urgency on masks, the lockdown ended on May 18th and we had a summer relatively free with pubs and restaurants open in June.

Yet here we are, a year later and in constant lockdown and numbers decreasing, testing way up on what it was then and we are still in a word of gloom. Not having any date or known timeline of when things can resume just makes it worse. Kicking the can down the road without any proper road map of what will happen. Just ā€œthe next two weeks are criticalā€ bullshit over and over.

People are going to go buck ape when they are let loose. And then Nuala and Breda will say we shouldnt have left lockdown. If they had easing of restrictions over a constant time, the majority of people would be fine to keep their distance, do whatever they need to protect and have some common sense. Those who would go against that are those already doing it. But this way is a recipe for disaster for when they do ease up.

27 Likes

One of them was definitely sick the first time. And he had a positive test.