Coronavirus - the deadly virus that no one dies from

How do you plan on sorting out privately run nursing homes from a public sector point of view mate?

Our Deaths rate is predominately down to Nursing Home fatalities, vast majority of which are privately owned. So, how are you planning on sorting that?

If the measure that counts is deaths - then surely you’ll understand the caution in reopening.

He was on earlier in the year giving out stink about 70 year olds being asked to cocoon etc.

It would seem the main issue that Charlie has is that he’s over 70 and he doesn’t really like the idea that he is more vulnerable.

Seems like we have a friend of the forum in government

Do you Corona virus distinguishes between public and private and that the government only has responsibility for one and not both?

You’re doing a great job sticking to the party line. FG being the first to break from NPHET recommendations is going to be a right conundrum for you.

His main issue this morning was the government’s failure to intervene in industries / settings with high COVID-19 risk, thus leading to a series of events where older people are being asked to get back under the bed.

I never said that.

Privately run Nursing Homes are where the deaths have been by & large. In every Country.

What are you proposing?

He is spot on.

Meat processing facilities need to sort out work practices immediately, simple as that.

If the confirmed case in AIBP in Cahir leads to more positive results then shit is going to hit the fan there. Think they have a workforce of over 600 people alone.

Absolutely. People going apeshit over a 20 second video from a sector where there hasn’t been a single case whilst this industry is responsible for about a 1000 cases recently.

The elephant in the room is that so many political journos end up as ministerial advisors ergo they are v reluctant to go and challenge the official line. Oh for Vinny B to be let loose at one of these pressers :popcorn:

Surely the predictive mechanisms in place not just in Ireland, but across the world, should be better in relation to this virus. We are constantly being told that ‘there is no way of predicting whats going to happen’.

This is a virus. Among the most basic form of life. Yes, there are challenges to dealing with it of course, but surely there must a relatively fixed means of behaviour which should allow us to predict where we will be as a society in three months time.

The army band being involved reminds of the “You’ve got AIDS” song from family guy

World we live in encourages defensive decision making. It’s simple behavioral science - little or no personal risk in following the experts advice. If you ignore expert advice and it blows up in your face then you are in trouble.

People want leadership. Absolutely. But the lads calling for government to ignore expert advice are same lads who are waiting to take a shot if it goes tits up.

The experts are only going to advise conservatively too. Why would they do any different. Self preservation.

Lads pointing at Europe doing this or doing that are doing it on basis of two line reports in media. A lot of European counties have had issues precisely because they opened borders to let people off on holiday. Now they have scuffles in German airports around tests.

My biggest gripe with this government is they seem to be making decisions based on anecdotes and low hanging fruit and not backing the systems they put in place to be robust enough to deal with the disease. Why build testing capacity and hospital capacity and then be afraid to use it. There is a lack of faith in their own measures and they are defaulting to not exposing their own processes and policies to any rigour.

We do reactive very well here but we don’t do proactive and don’t seem to plan or trust our ability to plan.

I posted an article a couple of days ago from the 538 website in the US (does a lot of statistical modelling) outlining why it’s so hard to generate an accurate predictive model for Covid. Essentially all the input variables are unclear and when combined with the time lag and exponential nature of the virus gives widely varying outputs.

Ye laughed when I told ye it was a medical dictatorship

Fairly naive from her to think that there would be no briefings/discussion before NPHET issues recommendations.

The difference being they haven’t agreed to the advice this time, so we haven’t been deluged by leaks and in the common good stories

Indeed.