Its all theatre lads, Boris hamming it up to last with talks of delays and lockdowns, then swoops in at the last minute with a full reopening. Ensuring hero status. No wonder the British ruled Ireland for 800 years with 2 lads with sticks in Dublin castle
Because simple fuckers lapped it up the last 8 times
If the Brits in Dublin Castle had thought of using the Spanish flu to whip up the same fear in 1919 the Cork lads would have shot Collins in the back two years earlier
Most states have either dropped all restrictions or are dropping them in the coming days, California which had the longest and strictest restrictions is June 15th.
Great to hear live life
Honorary Fellowship of RCSI bestowed on our unelected leader Tony H tonight.
Well deserved
The greatest Limerickman of all time up your bollix Wogan JP POC Kiely Mackey Cregan Thomas Brady Hannon etc
I was inside my local for the first time last night since March 2020, had been outside a few times they have outdoor seating like most places. Like going back in time, exact same crowd sitting at the bar, no social distancing, no masks except for the bar staff. Age range 30 - 70, full spectrum of rabid liberals to rabid Trumpsters, woke and unwoke, vaccinated and anti-vax. Thereās one lad around 70, a contractor still working away through it all never got vaccinated, doesnāt give a fuck. A liberal trying to convince me that Trump was about to march to the capitol in the next three months with a 7 million army armed to the teeth (I have a bet on that one with him), other lads convinced China has declared war on the west and this is only round one. Lads who still donāt believe thereās even a virus. We only have the one overt racist, unsurprisingly a cockney. Doesnāt say much but comes out with some nuggets, someone was talking about the Indian variant and he piped up āthose facking Indiansā.
Twas mighty, thereās nothing like being in your local with lads you can relax with and say what you like and nobody gets cancelled.
Brilliant a diverse mix of people actually engaging with each other and having the craicš
This sounds like hell to @Cheasty and @mikehunt.
Same in my local also, the people have moved on. You wonāt see it with zero covid headbangers that litter media though.
Itās quite the gap from banning travel and keeping the pubs closed to the scenes on the streets in Dublin last weekend. The two are not unrelated.
Iām not quite sure how āitās got nothing to do with anythingā other than you donāt like the content of the story. It certainly seems highly relevant to me. It would seem the UK Government has shelled out Ā£3bn on these tests.
There are about 100 different manufacturers of antigen tests, most of them have been tested or validated by EU states or the US. The Innova test has not been validated by any EU state or the US. No idea why the UK would be buying it when there are so many others on the market that have been validated.
Are the Corpos going back to office yet?
Slowly. Banks are leading the way, tech much slower. Thereās a fair bit of resistance as well from people who have got used to working from home and see no point going back to the office. About half of Google an Apple employees want mixed home and office and a quarter donāt want to go back at all. Interesting times.
A lot of people have moved across States as well.