COTY 2018 Grand Final

Thatā€™s really not relevant.

Travellers have been discussed on here in contentious terms long before Peter Casey arrived on the scene. Thereā€™s no ā€œemboldeningā€ on here, that is pseudo social science BS.

In terms of what John Connors said that prompted the nomination (as far as the above talk goes), it was being an apologist for destruction of property. Really nothing to do with being a traveler.

No one here genuinely defends travellers??

Glas has for years, which is fine in itself, but came long before Peter Casey.

Itā€™s making up some milestone or change on here to deflect from the fact that Connors was nominated for being an idiot on social media.

Travellers have long been generalised in almost uniformly negative terms on this forum, and vilified in outright bigoted terms.

What Casey did was to bring that sort of outright bigotry into mainstream discourse.

When itā€™s brought into mainstream discourse, it ā€œlegitimisesā€ it.

Emboldening is not pseudo-science. Itā€™s not science at all. Itā€™s a statement of the bleedinā€™ obvious - unless youā€™re to dismiss the entire history of racist demagogues and the whipping up of racial bigotry in politics and how it translates into the emboldening of racists and bigots in everyday life.

Such as what happened in say, oh, 1930s Germany. Or Rwanda, or Syria, or Yugoslavia, Ukraine or the North of Ireland, or wherever youā€™re having yourself.

It would sort of be to dismiss the role of Hitler in why Krystallnacht was perpetrated.

Iā€™d wager that the majority of people voting for Connors here donā€™t even know what his views on many or any subjects are, they just see him as a prominent Traveller who is unashamedly opinionated, and vote accordingly.

Bigots have never liked prominent members of minority groups who are opinionated.

For the record, I think Connors has some crazy views and some questionable ones on different subjects.

Where he is absolutely correct is in the discrimination and hatred Travellers constantly have to deal with in their everyday lives - that a significant section of the settled population outright participate or approve of such bigotry, and that a larger section of the settled population tacitly accept it.

Casey, on the other hand, is an outright embarrassment to himself and to Ireland and really should be winning this contest by a landslide - in fact if this competition encompassed the whole decade, heā€™d be my nomination.

Itā€™s difficult to think of a more cuntish thing to do than to deliberately whip up racial bigotry for your own self-serving political ends.

What did casey say that was racist and or bigoted, he didnā€™t recognize their ethnicity, his own fairly ignorant opinion, what else though?

Youā€™ve just answered your own question.

Casey put himself forward for public office and got almost a quarter of the vote.

Connors mouths off on Twitter, calling, amongst other things, all Gardai ā€œscum.ā€

Thereā€™s only one cunt there and it ainā€™t successful businessman Peter Casey.

So thats it? He displayed his own ignorance? You think thats whipping up racist bigotry?

Thatā€™s an awful long post that again misses the point.

Glas stated that Connors is here because people are emboldened on here. There is a several thousand post thread and years of discussion on here to show people have had no issue in discussion of travellers in frank terms on here.

It is twaddle.

Onto the ā€œbigotedā€ thing. As far as Iā€™m aware he was nominated for this;

Connors evidenced clear stupidity and ignorance here. Similar to the way he will describe Guards as scum whilst railing against stereotyping of travellers, he is totally irrational.

The people of the area were pissed off at what was criminal damage of a local ammenity. Families and the elderly had to to go elsewhere to get a shop. Stuff like this drives away investment from these areas, perpetuating deprivation.

For the chaps like you on the reactionary left, you do the exact same thing in your desperate attempts at defending a ā€œminorityā€. Were you not just on here criticizing those who were defending the criminal damage in Roscommon? Pot, kettle, black.

Do you believe Hitlerā€™s public utterances played a role in the perpetration of Krystallnacht?

Were you hanging out on YouTube comment sections whilst taking your little break?

This the same John Connors who made his name portraying violent criminal travellers on screen?

Overlooked in the heats as name unrecognised. If Fagan had called him Flattyā€™s solicitor fella heā€™d have walked this.

Iā€™ll try and explain this to you in simple terms, as you donā€™t seem to understand any others.

Iā€™ll absolutely defend a minority, as generalised bigotry and vilification of a minority group is abhorrent, in no way legitimate, and to be fought at all costs.

Any reasonable person agrees with this.

Anti-Traveller bigotry is vile, abhorrent and racist and carries no legitimacy whatsoever.

Criticising particular people who engage in criminality such as those in Rosscommon who set fire to vehicles, assaulted people with baseball bats and killed a dog, is criticising criminality, or ā€œvilifyingā€ it, if you prefer.

This is entirely legitimate.

It isnā€™t vilifying an ethnic group or a minority group which is a minority on the basis of its non-chosen identity.

Answer the question instead of engaging in a pathetic attempt at deflection.

Do you believe Hitlerā€™s public utterances played a role in the perpetration of Kristallnacht?

Sigh, I see youā€™re still struggling even after your break.

Connors was nominated for defending looting and not apologizing for it.

Traveller chat has happened on here for years and will go on, Casey changes nothing on here.

Thereā€™s really nothing else to say.

Why canā€™t you answer a simple question?

Do you believe Hitlerā€™s public utterances played a role in the perpetration of Kristallnacht?

Travellers are bums. That is a generalisation that is mostly true.

@Tim_Riggins believes the concept of ā€œemboldeningā€ doesnā€™t exist.

Thatā€™s why he canā€™t answer a simple question about whether he believes Hitlerā€™s public utterances played any role at all in the perpetration of Kristallnacht.

If he answers ā€œyesā€, ie. that Hitlerā€™s public utterances did play a role in the perpetration of Kristallnacht - which to any reasonable person would be a statement of the bleedinā€™ obvious, he blows his own argument apart.

If he answers ā€œnoā€, he sort of comes across as a raving anti-semite and Nazi sympathiser.

Tim of course has form for the ā€œnoā€ argument. Itā€™s the one heā€™s being trying to maintain for the past two years while maintaining that Trump hasnā€™t emboldened racists.

A self-evidently laughable assertion.

And one which opens a whole load of questions about his sneaking regard for racism and fascism.

Lads any chance of a hamburger. Iā€™ll gladly pay you Tueeesday