Crazy Dublin Rents and House Prices

That’s not the argument tho … Most of us like Dublin … but we can also admit there’s not much to it as a city.

It has the amenities of a city and its irelands only one, so what you like is going to concerts, sporting events, restaurants and bars, and the airport. Theres a bit to like about the place, architecture etc. But not the inhabitants. Trust no one up there.

It’s a lot nearer the Wild Atlantic Way than Dublin. The fact there are few routes is due to lack of demand - not stymieing it. In your head, tourists would love to fly there but for some reason the airlines, in their commercial idiocy, don’t want to fly them there.

You’re on full tilt here - railing against Dublin etc etc etc. Yawn. You’re just another deluded and bitter small town man.

That’s about the size of it pal.

And we have dubliner number two who starts the name calling when their very average city gets questioned. If you want to see many more examples of this, watch the replies to when ewan starts questioning the financial doping in a few weeks.

I’ll try ladybird it for you. Dublin is the only sizable city in ireland, has the most serviced airport, and ireland is tiny. As you can drive across in two hours and your airline has a far better service to dublin it makes sense to see it all as it were. If ireland were the size of western Australia, if the option was to fly to dublin, or the west coast, but not both, dublin would be quickly forgotten about. Read any reviews, talk to tourists or look at their photos, theres maybe one picture of the kitschy tourist trap of temple bar, then twenty of the countryside especially the west coast. Thats what people come to see.

It beats the capital cities of most similarly sized countries.

It beats Brussels (complete irredeemable shithole), Sarajevo, Ljubljana, Bratislava etc. Similarly sized countries with nicer capital cities are Hungary, Scotland and Portugal. It’s probably neck and neck with Belgrade.

Tourists go fucking mad for Dublin, it’s a dream for them. Your average night out in Dublin is literally the most fun most of the poor cunts have ever had in their life. They get a bus tour to the cliffs of Moher if they’re lucky. They haven’t a fucking clue.

Dublin is one of only a handful of cities in the world where you’re guaranteed a great party every night of the week 365 days a year, no planning needed. And every other city like that is 10 times the size. We take that for granted.

Few deep breaths there pal. Its got plenty of alcohol and they are actively encouraged to drink to excess, the main tourist attraction is a brewery. They pay a steep price and drink heavily in places with other tourists. You can have a similar experience in vegas, new york, san francisco, Amsterdam, rio and countless other places.

Nearly all those places youve mentioned were communist dictatorships a few decades ago, tourism unheard of, give them a while to catch up.

Utter bollix.

Have you ever read about what Dev did at Shannon? Why were translatic flights only allowed into Shannon for so long?

Dublin is bigger than the other cities, that isn’t an international aberration. That is what happens in countries.

I don’t see what you mean on “balanced”. I’ve lived in several cities for extended periods of time and been to others. They all have their charms.

I am merely pointing out your biases here. You are relying on anecdotes and talking about Westside Dublin when going on about Dublin. Why not talk about St Denis in Paris then?

Would it because you’ve never been and you are only aware of Dublin’s less salubrious areas because you are far more familiar with it.

Dublin, Dublin, Dublin

Most of Moscow is pretty shit and I just don’t like it very much but when you’re standing on that bridge up by the top of the river, near one of Stalin’s big skyscrapers, and you look down the river and you can see into the Kremlin and you can see the various cathedrals, that’s fucking class. I think it was Turgenov who said you couldn’t understand Russia until you’ve seen that view.

Then you’ve only a short walk to the square with the 3 train stations, which is one of the most beautiful and impressive places in any city in the world.

I went to Russia liking the place and came back thinking it was a kip, my sister went there hating it and came back thinking it was her favourite country, I guess it depends on your experience.

You’re not honestly comparing dublin with paris!?

You can walk thorough the fantastic (your description) areas of dublin, trinity and the georgian rows in about what 12 or 13 minutes. What then, the liberties, nope, pearse street, no way, the northside, are you fucking joking me. Dont go on the boardwalks of the liffey either. The park if you can male it that far might be worth a look.so thats it, one mornings quick walk through, some overpriced fare in temple bar and that is it. And you think thats a fantastic place? Totally biased but too blind to see it

So just a handful of other cities worldwide, all of which are fucking massive. Seoul would be another one on that list.

Correct.

Theres many more cities you can drink alcohol excessively in. Thats the only thing you are admitting dublin has going for it. A laissez faire attitude to vomiting and sexual assault due to public drunkenness?

Deary me, read up on aviation policy in Ireland.

There are too many airports in Ireland. There was a decision made to spend over 120m on Cork Airport a few years ago, why? The market showed there wasn’t the demand.

Why was the Shannon stopover demanded for so many years?

Why does the taxpayer subsidize every traveler by €15 in the regional airports?

Thats irrelevant to the debate, keep trying to deflect if you cant address my other points.

Or else answer this, dublin and the wild Atlantic way are 1500 miles apart, which will tourists choose to visit?

Limerick, Limerick, Limerick,

You’re ladybirding fuck all to be honest. At no point have I argued that Dublin isn’t an average city. I think it’s got some good points and some bad ones but that’s beside the point. I was laughing at your “debating” whereby you were going off on some half-arsed ill-thought out rant about Dublin which is clearly something that has been brewing in you for many a year. But sure look it - it’s a bank holiday weekend - I’m glad that you feel better that you got to let it all out.

Dublin is box office. Lads seething on a bank holiday weekend.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.traveltrivia.com/most-visited-cities-in-europe/amp/

So you’re agreeing with my points completely and when you’ve nothing left a bit of name calling.

That was way too easy.