Crazy Dublin Rents and House Prices

If you invest in a GPS, or even just use Google Maps on your phone, you’ll save a hell of a lot in diesel

They only go there because they’re forced there because there’s an airport.

Now you’re comparing dublin to Amsterdam :smile:

No. Your points were complete horseshit and you’re coming across as a fool.

It was a theoretical question, i know it answers itself but im trying to help the dubliners increase their self awareness. Your replies basically amount to, ‘shurrup will ya, jus shurrup’

You agreed with my points, its in your post above, dublin is bang average. You just posted it!

No, I said at no point have I argued against it, which is what you accused me of when you were windmilling around - trying to land a punch on any straw man you could flail at.

I haven’t expanded in any detail on my views on Dublin. I’ve been too busy laughing at you.

Different argument … They come to Dublin for a booze up – how bad, we’ve all done it.

The argument initially as was about Dublin aesthetically - compared to other major cities.

Sorry it is not.

In your “debating” you have made assertions that people visit Dublin because it has a served airport.

You stated this was a deliberate government policy.

The reality is, however, that the Irish State has continually subsidized failing regional airports. These are not even regional airports that Ryanair will fly to in the south of France and kept alive because of that - they are subsidized by the Irish State.

Shannon Airport for years was bizarrely given a right on stopovers for any transatlantic flights. That wasn’t a mistake. Read up on what Dev tried to do with the Shannon region.

The State also poured money into Cork Airport. An airport built on a hill.

Dublin Airport was creaking for two decades before finally it was given a second terminal. That was much to the chagrin of politicans with “white elephant” regularly espoused. What has happened now though is a demonstration of what happens when Dublin is given the investment it warrants - it is one of the fastest growing airports in the world and a developing hub for Europe.

People gravitate towards the centre, that’s life, you’ve had your day of subsidies.

Another nothing post, you have literally said nothing the last few posts bar agreeing with my assertion. You’ve made no arguments and avoided mine asyou cnt debte them. Its kind of a waste of time replying to you

On another note - it’s always the threads that you least expect it that explode on a Friday. Someone posts a shit boring article about planning permissions and before you know it lads are flaking away at each other over multiple imagined slights. Superb.

People come for a whole host of reasons; to trace their family, to visit family, to drink etc.

The most popular tourists attraction is the Guinness Storehouse of course, and Jameson is popular too. But there is also Trinity and the Book of Kells, Kilmainham, the Immigration museum, the Cathedrals etc.

Dublin is grand.
No it’s not.
It is too.
It is not.

Leave em off, the more time they spend on here the safer we all are in the real World

The point you are still ignoring is that dublin airport is beside the only medium sized city in the country, due to centuries of british and then irish government policy of focusing all investment and funding into this city. Therefore theres far more airlines and options to fly into dublin.

Allied to this ireland is small so you can visit dublin (which due to centralization is the best serviced airport) and then drive west. Few if any tourists bar weekend stags and hens visit dublin and stay there for their trip to ireland. Its the landing point. Again ill ask for the third time, give tourists dublin, or the west coast, they can only pick one, what will it be?

Ok you went to Trinity, we get it

You laughed at Dublin because the Guinness Storehouse is the number one attraction when the Heineken Experience in Holland.

What do people associate with Amsterdam; Heineken, Canals, Weed, Tulips, Anne Frank. It’s a great spot and I’m happy to have Dublin on that tier.

No I didn’t, think I’ve made that pretty clear before. I’m a Roman Catholic.

Trinity has a fantastic campus though and is world renowned for that. I personally think it gives them an unjustified caché academically but that’s life.

UCD moving from the fantastic buildings they had at Earlsfort Terrace and Merrion Square was a shame but that’s life.

At least tim is making an argument, the other lad agreed its average and now cant see he’s arguing against himself by way of an ad hominem attack on me

Correct, I’ve often walked through a thronged Temple Bar and heard merry visitors arguing about the art work in the book of Kells or the rights and wrongs of executing the 1916 leaders…

@glenshane