An unfortunate series of events I experienced recently when I decided I was been absolutely rode by my current electric provider.
Switcher.ie was a great help in showing me that with my current usage BE Energy were the boys that would save me 450€ a year. A seamless transaction ensued and assurances were given that BE Energy would be in contact with further confirmation of my new contract. Sure I had the 450 near spent already. 2 weeks passed and not a peep out of my new boys. I’ll give em a buzz says I. “Never heard of you” says Eoin, them switcher lads aren’t great he says, always sending us the wrong info. Eoin said they were having “technical” difficulties and that he’d call me back in 10 mins. 2 days later without a call back from Eoin and rapidly approaching being without electricity I gave Eoin another call. Couldn’t call you back there for the last 2 days Mixer, we had a power cut. Told Eoin we’d leave it at that as he more than likely was going to save me multiples of the 450 as I was about to be disconnected and to be honest I’m not great with having spare cash around every month, I tend to make bad decisions with it.
We signed up.to switch business broadband from voda to eir on a call at 1030am last Thursday.
We received a text at 1105am to advise us that we had been switched.
A brief moment of surprise at the unexpected efficiency of eir turned to horror as it dawned that the useless cunts had turned off our existing service with voda without us having an eir modem.
The modem turned up two days later. We kept the basics going via hotspot on a couple of mobiles on Gomo (eir network of course).
The row over loss of service is ongoing.
It is hard to understand how they can be so bad in every area touching the customer
Why did ye switch with all the horror stories out there?
I switched to them as well a few years ago in a fit of spite after Sky made an absolute cunt out of something… Bad mistake… After taking some council on TFK I just cancelled the eir DD because they wouldn’t answer phones or letters to do it
Iv credit control ringing me a few times a week since… The minute you get into explaining the history they literally hang up the phone… An absolute joke
Sky are an awful lot of things, cunts being many of those, but their fibre broadband is good.
Because we could could get nowhere with voda on an upgrade. A mistake to engage with them
They must have spent well over the value of a few months dd in chasing you since
Owe them about 5 months now becuase they keep racking up the monthly bill even though I have a cancellation email from them from 2 months ago… I’d happily give them 50 quid now to settle it and fuck off but they won’t even get that far on the call
I know they will give it to a solr to follow next and they will ring me once and I will threaten com reg and tell them I have a file documenting all the comms and that will be it… File closed…
So stupid
I went back to them. Their service is good in general I think.
Do you reckon I’d get myself in a bit of bother with sky if I switched to their broadband running an iptv app?
Couldnt complain about them re their fibre broadband to be fair at all.
Speed is good and they came out within 24 hours after we moved house during the summer.
I might know a fella who has sky broadband and iptv… I asked him there he said no bother so far
I’m giving shit service to multiple clients.
Not as bad as Eir though.
Carolan explained there that the help desk people earn between 21 & 23k but get maternity benefit. Fuck me.
There are three sources of fibre broadband.
Virgin… Quality can vary with contention and distance but it is generally good, although rarely anywhere near the advertised levels
Siro … Wrapped on electric lines by the old ESB. Vodafone is a partner. Very good if you can get it…be careful about the entry point in the home though as it will be a completely new wire.
Eir fibre… Lots of resellers have this but it is the same backbone as eir sell themselves
The other sources are the old copper eircom network which can give 10-20 download typically and an appalling upload speed, wireless from imagine which is useful in rural areas, 4g/5g data on a simcard and a plethora of small wireless operators who have the nearest hill.
There are a few private commercial operations but they are limited in geography.
Have a good look at the availability maps and the rural broadband plans for your area before a decision
By the way they best way to get attention to a complaint is on boards.ie (I know) as these operations are very sensitive to criticism there.
Eg. Sky, virgin, the energy companies.
Imagine blaming Sligo was the best strategy you could come up with. Poor harmless misfortunes
Pricks sent me a bill( a minus 8 c) for close on 2 years , even though I owed nothing, left legally 2 years previously and went through hell to close the account, turned out that after being told that a courier would collect old modem ( never showed: told not to drop it into the eir shop in Wilton etc etc)
Turned out that the feckin clowns in CC didn’t know that couriers for eir only collected in the greater Dublin area , I fucking ask you? Monkeys in Fota island have more upstairs
I was served by the rudest, slowest, most ignorant and incompetent cashier ever today in the supermarket. Last time I use those self service things
Rang the GP for repeat prescription for Rascal They asked me to send on my request with a list of meds he needs. Told them I don’t have that info as chemist held on to the script. She said ask the chemist to send it on. I informed her that it was their practice that sent on the script originally so they should have that information themselves. She said that wasn’t practice procedure. After a bit of to’ing and fro’ing she said she’d get the manager to ring me back.
Same story with the manager, procedure is I have to send in the information. I explained I don’t have the info the need, the chemist do. She said ask the chemist to send it in. I told her you sent it to the chemist 6 months ago, there was a lot of unnecessary middle men involved.
Eventually my stubborness wore her out and she said just email in a written request without details. She then informed me that it had gone up €5 to €20 for a repeat prescription. I lolled and told her I admired the racket they had going on.
I had to get a repeat prescription there before Christmas. I rang up the doctors and asked for one, lady said she would have to ask the doctor before she could send one on in case a visit was required. She told me that she would ring back.
She did within a half hour, said that it was fine to send it out and asked me to confirm the pharmacy address. No issues, no need for written requests etc. Maybe the fact you were looking for it on behalf of your child was different?
She did charge €25 but that is the way it is now unfortunately.